|
Grants and Funding Resources
Online Databases | Reference Materials | Subject Headings | Web Resources
Online Databases
Academic ASAP expanded
A companion to Academic Index, Academic ASAP Expanded is updated daily and may have entries and full text that is somewhat more current. It indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.
Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Article First
Updated daily, ArticleFirst covers contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Congressional Universe
Congressional Universe indexes and abstracts the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress from 1970, allows searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal.
It provides full text for almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. It covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing.
Coverage:1968 to present.
Criminal Justice Periodical Index
Criminal Justice Periodical Index provides cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals, plus complete abstracts for over 100 additional titles.
Coverage: 1981 to present.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. It includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
Coverage: 1861 to present.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database.
Florida Documents Index
Florida Documents Index identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida Public Documents Depository Program. FAU began systematically collecting Florida documents early in 1966 and has since been able to acquire a substantial number of state documents published prior to that date, as well as documents not distributed through the depository program.
Florida Historical Legal Document (LAW)
Florida Historical Legal Documents is a growing collection of primary source materials surveying changes in Florida law from the time it became a territory in 1822 through 1845, when Florida became a state. The collection includes the complete Florida Territorial Laws. Other materials offer supplementary information about the legal, political and social history of Florida before and after its Territorial period.
Florida Supreme Court Briefs & Opinions
The database provides Court Briefs and Opinions of the Florida Supreme Court.
Global Legal Information Network
Global Legal Information Network provides access to text on laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources from around the world. The database delivers the full text of documents in their original language, with summaries or abstracts in English.
GPO Monthly Catalog
GPO Monthly Catalog consists of records published by the GPO. It includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
Coverage: July 1976 to present.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books provides thorough indexing for over 570 journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. It covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.
Coverage: 1981 to present.
InfoTrac OneFile
InfoTrac OneFile covers humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics. It provides full-text of articles from nearly 3,000 journals and covers 1980 to present.
LegalTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 800 legal publications: major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and international legal journals. It also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. The database provides some full text.
Coverage: 1980 to present.
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources. It includes access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Its files are updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world.
Library of Congress Catalogs, THOMAS, and American Memory
Library of Congress provides access to its catalogs of books, journals, documents, maps, and other materials owned by the United States Library of Congress. THOMAS provides full text access to current bills under consideration in the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. American History provides access to the historical collections of the National Digital Library.
PAIS International
PAIS International includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories related to public affairs.
Coverage: 1972 to present.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts covers more than 450 journals in social work including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.
State Capital Universe
State Capital Universe provides access to Bills, Statues Constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, Policy & Issues, legislature membership and newspapers of record for all the states.
Statistical Universe
Statistical Universe allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.
Wilson OmniFile
Wilson OmniFile Full text Mega provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals. The topics covered include accounting, auditing, banking, computers, economics, environment, finance, foreign investment, international trade, public administration, real estate, taxation, and transportation.
[back to top]
Reference Materials
Directory for research grants / LB2338 .D57
Florida State grants programs Miami, FL: J.L. Adams. Passannante, F. S. / REF HJ11 .F618
Foundation Center's guide to proposal writing. Geever, J. C. / REF HG177.5U6 G44
The Foundation directory / REF AS911.A2 F65
How foundations work: What grant seekers need to know about the many faces of foundations. McIlnay, D. P. / REF HV41.9.U5 M35
"How to" grants manual: Successful grant seeking techniques for obtaining public and private grants.
Bauer, D. G. / REF HG177 .B38
National guide to funding in higher education. Rich, E. H. / REF LB2336.N38
Peterson's grants for graduate and postdoctoral study / REF LB2338 .P47
Proposal planning and writing.
Miner, L. E. / REF HG177.5.U6 M56
Research funding guidebook: Getting it, managing it, & renewing it.
Ries, J. B. / REF HG177 .R533
Teacher's guide to winning grants. Bauer, D. G / REF LC243.A1 B37
[back to top]
Suggested Subject Headings
| Block Grants |
Grantsmanship |
| Fund Raising |
Grantsmanship for Human Grants |
| International Grants |
Research Grants In Aid |
| Proposal Writing for Grants Resources |
|
[back to top]
Web Resources
STARTING POINTS
The Society of Research Administrator's Grants
http://www.srainternational.org/cws/sra/resource.htm
A research grant seeker's heaven, SRA's GrantsWeb provides links to various government, foundation, and private funding resource.
Sponsored Programs Information Network(SPIN):
http://spin2000.infoed.org/new_spin/spinmain.asp
Contains comprehensive information on thousands of funding projects. SPIN can locate funding for the following: research and development, international projects, fellowships, academic programs, exchange programs, travel, endowments, equipment, outreach, and special delivery projects.
ASSOCIATIONS AND CORPORATIONS
Grants and Scholarships Index from the American Library Association:
http://www.ala.org/work/awards/grtscidx.html
Carnegie Corporation of New York:
http://www.carnegie.org/index.html
The corporation accepts requests for funding at all times of the year. Funding is directed towards the development of the liberal arts curriculum, and, more specifically, towards the integration of liberal arts and professional training.
FOUNDATIONS
Challenge Grant for Women's Studies through The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation
http://www.woodrow.org/womens-studies/
The Woodrow Wilson Dissertation Grants in Women's Studies encourage original and significant research about women that crosses disciplinary, regional, or cultural boundaries.
Council on Foundations
http://www.cof.org/
This site provides information about research, publications, Conferences, and workshops. The following links are available at this site:
- Community Foundations
- Corporate Foundations
- Giving Programs
- Family and Public Foundations
- International Grant makers
The Foundation Center
http://foundationcenter.org/
This searchable database serves as a gateway to philanthropy on the web. The mission of the Foundation Center is to foster public understanding of the foundation field by collecting, organizing, analyzing, and disseminating information on foundations, corporate giving, and related subjects. The site is divided into three sections:
Grant maker Info: Grant maker Information directory comprises of the following three:
- It provides links to more than 1,500 grant maker Web sites.
- You can also find highlights and excerpts from the Center's research on foundation giving.
- A range of informational materials produced by individual foundations and hosted by the "Foundation Folder" program.
The Online Library answers questions about foundations and nonprofit resources, instructs you in the funding research process, and helps you with effective utilization of their publications and services.
The Marketplace provides information on Foundation Center publications, electronic resources, training courses, and seminars available for purchase.
Foundations.org
http://www.foundations.org/
This site is a directory of charitable grant makers. You can browse the directory, choose a foundation, or search from the organization's homepage. Fundraising software and products are also available.
The National Science Foundation (NSF) Grants & Awards
http://www.nsf.gov/funding/research_edu_community.jsp
The NSF funds research and education in science and engineering, through grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements. The Foundation accounts for about 20 percent of federal support to academic institutions for basic research.
FUNDING WEB SITES-FEDERAL
Commerce Business Daily
http://cbdnet.access.gpo.gov
GrantsNet
http://www.hhs.gov/grantsnet/
GrantsNet is a tool for finding and exchanging information about the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and selected other Federal grant programs. It is part of the much-publicized national movement toward providing government resources to the general public in a more accessible and meaningful manner.
National Institute of Health
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/index.cfm.
Information on NIH grants and fellowship programs.
Non Profit Charitable Organization
http://nonprofit.about.com/careers/nonprofit/?once=true&
FUNDING WEB SITES-FLORIDA Florida Information Resource Network
http://www.firn.edu/
Florida Administrative Weekly
http://faw.dos.state.fl.us/weeklypdf/Issues.htm
My Florida.com
http://www.myflorida.com/
FUNDING WEB SITES-PRIVATE Community of Science Funding Opportunities
http://fundingopps.cos.com/.
This web site provides a comprehensive source of funding information available on the Web, with more than 20,500 awards from around the world.
Illinois Research Information Service (IRIS)
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/iris/
IRIS is a unit of the University of Illinois Library at Urbana-Champaign. The IRIS office compiles the IRIS Database of funding opportunities. The office also maintains a library of publications (informational brochures, application guidelines, and annual reports) from over 2,000 funding agencies. IRIS is not a free service. It is a fee-based service available to Colleges and universities for an annual subscription fee. For more information you can click on IRIS Trial Period and Subscription Policy.
GRANT/PROPOSAL WRITING
CPMCNet
http://cpmcnet.columbia.edu/research/writing.htm.
A guide on writing grant proposals along with writing tips and application forms.
Grantstech.com
http://www.grantstech.com/articles/touchdown.html.
A guide to funding resources, grants writing tools and articles on grant writing.
Strategy
http://www.montclair.edu/pages/orsp/strategy.htm.
This site covers strategies in the proposal-writing process.
LITERARY GRANTS
Laubach Literacy Grants:
http://www.laubach.org/
Laubach Literacy is a world leader in giving grants to community-based literacy programs throughout the world. Grants are given annually through the following initiatives:
PUBLICATIONS
The Chronicle of Philanthropy
http://philanthropy.com/
Featuring grant related conferences, seminars and workshops. The journal also includes current issues, funding announcements and a "Guide to Grants."
The Commerce Business Daily
http://www.ld.com/cbd.html
This site lists notices of proposed government procurement actions, contract awards, sales of government property, and other procurement information.
Philanthropy Journal Online
http://gort.ucsd.edu/newjour/p/msg02367.html
This non-profit publication provides news and numerous topics, such as "Fundraising, Foundations, Corporate Giving," etc.
[back to top] |