|
Labor Management and Employment Law
Online Databases | Reference Materials | Subject Headings | Web Resources
Online Databases
Academic ASAP expanded
A companion to Academic Index, Academic ASAP Expanded is updated daily and may have entries and full text that is somewhat more current. It indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.
Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Article First
Updated daily, ArticleFirst covers contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Congressional Universe
Congressional Universe indexes and abstracts the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress from 1970, allows searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal.
It provides full text for almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. It covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing.
Coverage:1968 to present.
Criminal Justice Periodical Index
Criminal Justice Periodical Index provides cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals, plus complete abstracts for over 100 additional titles.
Coverage: 1981 to present.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. It includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
Coverage: 1861 to present.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database.
Florida Documents Index
Florida Documents Index identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida Public Documents Depository Program. FAU began systematically collecting Florida documents early in 1966 and has since been able to acquire a substantial number of state documents published prior to that date, as well as documents not distributed through the depository program.
Florida Historical Legal Document (LAW)
Florida Historical Legal Documents is a growing collection of primary source materials surveying changes in Florida law from the time it became a territory in 1822 through 1845, when Florida became a state. The collection includes the complete Florida Territorial Laws. Other materials offer supplementary information about the legal, political and social history of Florida before and after its Territorial period.
Florida Supreme Court Briefs & Opinions
The database provides Court Briefs and Opinions of the Florida Supreme Court.
Global Legal Information Network
Global Legal Information Network provides access to text on laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources from around the world. The database delivers the full text of documents in their original language, with summaries or abstracts in English.
GPO Monthly Catalog
GPO Monthly Catalog consists of records published by the GPO. It includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
Coverage: July 1976 to present.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books provides thorough indexing for over 570 journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. It covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.
Coverage: 1981 to present.
InfoTrac OneFile
InfoTrac OneFile covers humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics. It provides full-text of articles from nearly 3,000 journals and covers 1980 to present.
LegalTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 800 legal publications: major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and international legal journals. It also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. The database provides some full text.
Coverage: 1980 to present.
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources. It includes access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Its files are updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world.
Library of Congress Catalogs, THOMAS, and American Memory
Library of Congress provides access to its catalogs of books, journals, documents, maps, and other materials owned by the United States Library of Congress. THOMAS provides full text access to current bills under consideration in the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. American History provides access to the historical collections of the National Digital Library.
PAIS International
PAIS International includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories related to public affairs.
Coverage: 1972 to present.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts covers more than 450 journals in social work including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.
State Capital Universe
State Capital Universe provides access to Bills, Statues Constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, Policy & Issues, legislature membership and newspapers of record for all the states.
Statistical Universe
Statistical Universe allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.
Wilson OmniFile
Wilson OmniFile Full text Mega provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals. The topics covered include accounting, auditing, banking, computers, economics, environment, finance, foreign investment, international trade, public administration, real estate, taxation, and transportation.
[back to top]
Reference Materials
GENERAL REFERENCE BOOKS
REF HD4973 .A462
Area wage surveys. Selected metropolitan area.
U.S. Department of Labor.
REF HD4826 .U55
BLS handbook of methods.
U.S. Department of Labor
REF KFF331 .M372
Employment in Florida: a guide to employment laws, regulations, and practices.
Marino, Michael.
REF HD5724 .E448
Employment outlook, 1998-2008: Occupational change from an industry perspective.
U.S. Department of Labor
REF HF5382 .M37
Enhanced guide for occupational exploration: descriptions for the 2,800 most important jobs.
Maze, Marilyn.
REF HF5382 .F368
Enhanced occupational outlook handbook.
Farr, J. Michael.
REF KFF334 .F59
Florida and federal employment law manual.
American Chamber of Commerce
REF HD5725.F6 F56
Florida industry and occupational employment projections, 1995-2005: workforce development region 24, Charlotte, Collier, Glades, Hendry, and Lee Counties.
Florida Department of Labor and Employment Security.
REF HD8064 .H38
Handbook of U.S. labor statistics: employment, earnings, prices, productivity, and other labor data.
Jacobs, Eva E.
REF HD5723 .U54c
Occupational projections and training data.
U.S. Department of Labor
REF HF5382.5.U5 S594
Specialty occupational outlook. Trade & technical.
REF HD8064 .S73
Statistical handbook of working America.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
REF HD8081.A65 W54
Black labor in America, 1865-1983: a selected annotated bibliography.
Wilson, Joseph.
REF Z7164.L1 D78
Employment creation policies and strategies: an annotated bibliography.
Dryden, Laurel
REF PN4884 .H63
Immigrant labor press in North America, 1840s-1970s: an annotated bibliography.
Hoerder. Dick
REF HC110.E5 B87
Labor and the environment : an analysis of and annotated bibliography on workplace environmental quality in the United States.
Buttel, Frederick H.
DICTIONARIES
REF HD8073.A1 B56
Biographical dictionary of American labor.
Fink, Gary M.
REF KF3317 .A54
Labor, employment, and the law: a dictionary.
Anglim, Christopher Thomas.
REF HB2595 .O16
O*NET dictionary of occupational titles.
Farr, J. Michael
[back to top]
Suggested Subject Headings
| Collective bargaining--Government employees |
Labor contract--United States |
| Dispute resolution (Law) |
Labor laws and legislation |
| Employee-management relations in government |
Labor movement |
| Employees--Training |
Labor turnover |
| Employment forecasting |
Occupational training |
| Florida--Economic conditions |
Trade unions |
| Labor--United States-Statistics |
|
[back to top]
Web Resources
A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available at http://library.fgcu.edu/Subjects/general/evaluate.htm. This guide also includes a number of web sites on evaluating Internet Information.
Labor and Business History WWW Virtual Library
http://www.iisg.nl/~w3vl/
Labor and Employment Law Resources on the Web
http://www.llrx.com/features/laborlaw.htm
A must see. Created by Alyssa Rosen, Electronic Services and Reference librarian at the Stetson University College of Law, this web site serves as a getaway to a large number of comprehensive and individual labor and employment law related resources.
U.S Department of Labor
http://www.dol.gov/
Provides access to information on wages, worker's compensation, employment statistics, health plans & benefits, occupational safety (OSHA), career InfoNet, industries, business costs, demographics and other related labor materials.
US National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)
http://www.nlrb.gov/
The NLRB is an independent Federal agency created in 1935 to enforce the National Labor Relations Act. It provides information on labor rights, laws, weekly summaries on NLRB decisions in unfair labor practice and representation election cases, except for summary judgment cases and other labor-related materials.
Yahoo Gateway on Labor Resources
http://dir.yahoo.com/Government/U_S__Government/Executive_Branch/Departments_and_Agencies/Department_of_Labor/
[back to top] |