Library Services


Public Policy

Online Databases | Reference Materials | Subject Headings | Web Resources

 

Online Databases

Academic ASAP expanded
A companion to Academic Index, Academic ASAP Expanded is updated daily and may have entries and full text that is somewhat more current. It indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.

Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Article First
Updated daily, ArticleFirst covers contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Congressional Universe
Congressional Universe indexes and abstracts the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress from 1970, allows searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal.
It provides full text for almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. It covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing.
Coverage:1968 to present.

Criminal Justice Periodical Index
Criminal Justice Periodical Index provides cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals, plus complete abstracts for over 100 additional titles.
Coverage: 1981 to present.

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. It includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
Coverage: 1861 to present.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database.

Florida Documents Index
Florida Documents Index identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida Public Documents Depository Program. FAU began systematically collecting Florida documents early in 1966 and has since been able to acquire a substantial number of state documents published prior to that date, as well as documents not distributed through the depository program.

Florida Historical Legal Document (LAW)
Florida Historical Legal Documents is a growing collection of primary source materials surveying changes in Florida law from the time it became a territory in 1822 through 1845, when Florida became a state. The collection includes the complete Florida Territorial Laws. Other materials offer supplementary information about the legal, political and social history of Florida before and after its Territorial period.

Florida Supreme Court Briefs & Opinions
The database provides Court Briefs and Opinions of the Florida Supreme Court.

Global Legal Information Network
Global Legal Information Network provides access to text on laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources from around the world. The database delivers the full text of documents in their original language, with summaries or abstracts in English.

GPO Monthly Catalog
GPO Monthly Catalog consists of records published by the GPO. It includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
Coverage: July 1976 to present.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books provides thorough indexing for over 570 journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. It covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.
Coverage: 1981 to present.

InfoTrac OneFile
InfoTrac OneFile covers humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics. It provides full-text of articles from nearly 3,000 journals and covers 1980 to present.

LegalTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 800 legal publications: major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and international legal journals. It also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. The database provides some full text.
Coverage: 1980 to present.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources. It includes access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Its files are updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world.

Library of Congress Catalogs, THOMAS, and American Memory
Library of Congress provides access to its catalogs of books, journals, documents, maps, and other materials owned by the United States Library of Congress. THOMAS provides full text access to current bills under consideration in the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. American History provides access to the historical collections of the National Digital Library.

PAIS International
PAIS International includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories related to public affairs.
Coverage: 1972 to present.

Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts covers more than 450 journals in social work including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.

State Capital Universe
State Capital Universe provides access to Bills, Statues Constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, Policy & Issues, legislature membership and newspapers of record for all the states.

Statistical Universe
Statistical Universe allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.

Wilson OmniFile
Wilson OmniFile Full text Mega provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals. The topics covered include accounting, auditing, banking, computers, economics, environment, finance, foreign investment, international trade, public administration, real estate, taxation, and transportation.


[back to top]

 

 

Reference Materials

GENERAL REFERENCE BOOKS

REF HJ2460.O5 T392
Taxes as instruments of public policy.
Sproule-Jones, Mark

DICTIONARIES

REF H97 .K78
The public policy dictionary
Kruschke, Earle R and Byron M. Jackson.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

REF JK468.P64 J33
Encyclopedia of American public policy.
Jackson, Byron M.

REF H97 .E6
Encyclopedia of policy studies.
Nagel, Stuart.

REF JF501 .E53
Encyclopedia of the American legislative system: studies of the principal structures, processes, and policies of Congress and the state legislatures since the colonial era.
Silbey, Joel

REF H97 .I574
International encyclopedia of public policy and administration.
Shafritz, Jay.

 

 

[back to top]

 

 

Suggested Subject Headings

Abortion--United States Housing subsidies
Aged--Government policy Human experimentation--Law and legislation
AIDS (Disease)--Government policy Human services--Planning
Climate policy Old age assistance--United States
Drug abuse--Government policy Pesticides--Government policy
Drug and narcotic control Pharmaceutical policy
Employment Public law
Energy conservation Public policy
Energy development Public policy--Evaluation
Energy policy Public policy (Law)
Environmental monitoring--methods Public utilities--Energy conservation
Environmental policy Public welfare--Law and legislation
Environmental protection Right to die--Law and legislation
Genetic engineering Social service
Health services for the aged United States--Department of Energy
Housing policy Urban policy

 

 

[back to top]

 

 

Web Resources

MEGA SITES ON POLICY RESOURCES

American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
http://www.aei.org/
AEI research covers economics and trade; social welfare; government tax, spending, regulatory, and legal policies; U.S. politics; international affairs; and U.S. defense and foreign policies. The site provides access to AEI publications, areas of research, annual reports and other Public Policy related materials.

National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education
http://www.highereducation.org/
The National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education promotes public policies that enhance Americans' opportunities to pursue and achieve high-quality education and training beyond high school. The site provides access to relate news, publications and extensive links to Education and Policy resources.

Public Policy Web Sites - San Diego University
http://infodome.sdsu.edu/research/guides/gov/polweb.shtml
Provides links to Public Policy web sites.

Public Policy Web site from Yahoo
http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/political_science/public_policy/
Includes links to policies such as Agricultural, Climate, Drugs, Education, Electronic Commerce, Firearms, Health Care, Language, Science & technology, Space, US Foreign Policy and Public Policy information

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
http://www.cbpp.org/
Provides information on a variety of Government Public Policy programs including welfare and housing.

ENERGY POLICIES

Energy Policy -- NW Energy Coalition
http://www.nwenergy.org/policy/
Provides information and links promoting policies for clean and affordable energy.

Yahoo Gateway to Energy Policies
http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Energy/Policy/

Nuclear Energy Institute
http://www.nei.org/index.asp?catnum=1&catid=2
Provides information on issues & policies concerning nuclear energy, waste disposal and other related materials.

ENVIRONMENT POLICES

Yahoo Gateway to Environment Policies
http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Environment_and_Nature/Environment_and_Development_Policies/

HEALTH POLICIES HIV/AIDS Public Policy

http://www.sfaf.org/aboutaids/links/links_policy.html
Provides a wide variety of information and links to HIV/AIDS-related materials.

HOUSING POLICIES

Housing Information Gateway
http://www.colorado.edu/plan/housing-info/
This site serves as a gateway, providing information on and links to housing resources on the Internet. It is an elaboration of The Encyclopedia of Housing which offers essays on issues ranging from Abandonment to Zoning.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
http://www.hud.gov/

SUBSTANCE ABUSE POLICIES

National Institute on Drug Abuse
http://www.nida.nih.gov/

National Association of State Alcohol/Drug Abuse Directors
http://www.nasadad.org/
Includes public policy updates, publication summaries, and lists of their members.

Substance Abuse Organizations from Yahoo
http://dir.yahoo.com/Health/Diseases_and_Conditions/Substance_Abuse/Organizations/

Substance Abuse- Mega Site from Yahoo
http://dir.yahoo.com/Health/Diseases_and_Conditions/Substance_Abuse/
A gateway to large number of Substance Abuse related web sites. Includes links to Alcoholism, harm reduction, Organization, Institutes, Prevention, Testing, Programs, and Drug Testing Services.

 

 

[back to top]