Library Services


Reference Shelf - Biographical Sources

 

Biographies by Subject

Artists' Biographies

Union List of Artists Names Online
http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/vocabularies/ulan/
Searchable database of artists' biographical information. From the Getty Research Institute.

Masters of Photography
http://masters-of-photography.com/S/steichen/steichen.html
Provides brief biographical information about a wide range of photographers.

Authors' Biographies

Meet the Writers
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/writers/writer.asp?userid=2W97YNK9EH&cds2Pid=1302&cid=702142
Brief biographies, interviews, and more about hundreds of contemporary authors.

Floridians

The Top 50 Most Important Floridians in the 20th Century
http://www.theledger.com/static/top50/
The Ledger online reviews biographies about Floridian ranging from Marjorie Stoneman Douglas to Don Shula.

Government Leaders' Biographies

Biographical directory of US Congress 1774 – Present
http://bioguide.congress.gov/biosearch/biosearch.asp
Biographical information about members of the U.S. Congress.

Biographies of the Founding Fathers, Signers Article of Confederation and US Constitution
http://www.colonialhall.com/biography.php

Biographies of the United States Supreme Court Justices
http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0101281.html

Presidents of the United States
http://www.ipl.org/div/potus/

Florida State Supreme Court Justices Biographies
http://www.flcourts.org/pubinfo/sct.html#justices
Biographies of the current Chief Justice and Justices of the Florida State Supreme Court.

U.S. Representatives from Florida
http://www.house.gov/
Biographies are available from the Member's homepages, which can be accessed using the "Representatives' Web Sites" pull-down menu in the upper-center portion of the screen. The web site also allows searching a particular local representative by entering the zip code and state information. The United States Congressional Southwest Florida districts are the 12th, 13th, 14th and 16th.

U.S. Senators Representing Florida
http://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm?State=FL

Biographies of Current Florida State Senators
http://www.flsenate.gov/Legislators/index.cfm?Members=By+County&Tab=legislators&Submenu=1
Florida state senator's personal web pages include the biographical information. The State Senators Southwest Florida Districts are the 24th-26th, 29th and 35th.

Biography of the current State Attorney for Southwest Florida
http://sao.cjis20.org/stateatty.html

Biographies of current Charlotte County Commissioners
http://www.charlottecountyfl.com/commissioners/

Biographies of current Collier County Commissioners
http://www.co.collier.fl.us/bcc/index.htm
Clicking on the official's name brings up the biographical information.

Biographies of current City of Marco Island City Council Members
http://www.cityofmarcoisland.com/Public_Documents/MarcoIslandFL_Council/council
Clicking on the official's name brings up the biographical information.

Biographies of current Lee County Commissioners
http://www.lee-county.com/meetcommissioner.htm
Clicking on the official's name brings up the biographical information.

City of Cape Coral Mayor & City Councilmen
http://www.capecoral.net/citycl/

Mayor of Fort Myers
http://www.cityftmyers.com/departments/mayorsOffice.htm

City Council of Fort Myers
http://www.cityftmyers.com/citycouncil/council.htm

Fort Myers Beach Town Council
http://www.ci.fort-myers-beach.fl.us/council/index.html

Mayor and City Council of Naples
http://council.naplesgov.com/

Florida State House of Representatives
http://www.myfloridahouse.com/Legislators.aspx

Inventors' Biographies

National Inventors Hall of Fame
http://www.invent.org/hall_of_fame/1_0_0_hall_of_fame.asp


Nobel Laureates' Biographies

Nobel Prize Internet Archive
http://www.almaz.com/nobel/alpha.html

Nobel Prizes
http://www.nobel.org
Annual awards for achievements in physics, medicine, chemistry, literature, economics, and peace.

Women's Biographies

Biographies of Women Mathematicians
http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/women.htm

Female Nobel Prize Laureates
http://www.almaz.com/nobel/women.html

4000 Years of Women in Science
http://www.astr.ua.edu/4000WS/4000WS.html

Minerva's Machine: Women and Computing
http://www.acm.org/minerva/

Women in Congress
http://bioguide.congress.gov/congresswomen/state.asp

The Ninety-Nines: Women in Aviation History
http://www.ninety-nines.org/bios.html

Distinguished Women of Past and Present
http://www.distinguishedwomen.com/

 

General Biographies

Biography.com
http://www.biography.com/index.html
The site provides search for more than 20,000 personalities. In addition, one can find links to the Biography of the day, Biography of the millennium, top biographies of the week, Bio-feedback, Shop Biography, and Biography Magazine.

Biographical Dictionary
http://www.s9.com/biography/
Facts and figures on more than 27,000 people. The dictionary can be searched by names, birth years, death years, positions held, professions, literary and artistic works, miscellaneous achievements, and other keywords.

Selective Biographies of World Rulers
http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0775265.html

 

[back to top]