Reference Shelf - Directories
Directories
AmeriCom Long Distance Area Decoder
http://decoder.AmeriCom.com/
Look up area, city, and country codes for any location in the world, or enter a code to see what areas it covers.
Fone Finder
http://fonefinder.net/
Find the geographic location of any country code, area code, or prefix in the world. Also, search for the codes of cities and countries.
International Calling Codes Directory
http://www.the-acr.com/codes/cntrycd.htm
Find calling codes for countries and cities around the world.
Chamber of Commerce International Directory
http://clickcity.com/index2.htm
The international Chamber of Commerce & City-State-Province Directory. Search for Chamber of Commerce or Cities-States-Provinces around the world. It also includes hotlinks to their web sites and e-mail addresses.
Forbes.com Search
http://www.forbes.com
Scroll down on the main page to find a search tool which allows you to search for information on stocks, companies, funds, and important people in the business world.
World Business Directory
http://web.idirect.com/~tiger/exportdr.htm
This web site provides links to 8 world directories, 5 regional, and the remaining 52 are listed alphabetically by country, with 7 originating in the U.S.
European Business Directory
http://www.europages.com/
This web site contains a searchable database of 150,000 companies selected from 25 European countries.
University Home Pages
http://univ.cc/
A searchable database of Universities around the world with links to 7000 Universities in 178 countries. The listing of Institutions is based on the "World List of Universities 1997" published by the International Association of Universities (IAU).
American Universities
http://www.clas.ufl.edu/CLAS/american-universities.html
CollegeNet
http://www.collegenet.com
State of Florida Directory
http://411.myflorida.com
This web site provides local and Suncom phone numbers for all state agencies and personnel, county departments, and major municipal departments.
Florida City and County Links Directory
http://www.myflorida.com/includes/cities.html
List of links to the web sites of county and city governments in Florida.
Florida Government Information Locator
http://dlis.dos.state.fl.us/fgils/index.html
Government Information Exchange
http://www.info.gov
A searchable web site provides links to federal directory, yellow pages, state and local government, foreign government, international organizations, electronic shopping, etc.
United States Senators
http://www.senate.gov/
United States Representatives
http://clerk.house.gov/members/index.html
Member directory of the U.S. House of Representatives.
Consulates
http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/fco/
This web site provides listing of foreign consular offices located in the United States.(US Dept. of State)
Embassy World
http://www.embassyworld.com
A searchable database of embassies around the world.
Governments on the World Wide Web
http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en
This is a good web site for finding Asian, American, African, and European Government links on the web.
Directory of Online Resources for Information Literacy
http://bulldogs.tlu.edu/mdibble/doril/
Martindale Hubbell Directory and Attorney Locator
http://www.martindale.com
Search for an lawyer by name or search by firm, location of practice, and corporate employers.
Lawoffice.com Wests Legal Directory
http://www.lawoffice.com
Physician Select
http://www.ama-assn.org/aps/amahg.htm
Online Doctor Finder directory from the American Medical Association.
American Hospital Directory
http://ahd.com
The American Hospital Directory provides online comparative data for most hospitals. The database is built from Medicare claims data, cost reports, and other public use files obtained from the Health Care Financing Administration.
Idealist
http://www.idealist.org
This is an international directory that allows you to search for non-profit organizations according to location and category.
Guidestar
http://www.guidestar.org
A database of nonprofit organizations, particularly useful for finding financial information about nonprofits.
AT&T Directory
http://www.att.com/directory
Search AT&T's online directory to find phone numbers, addresses, maps and directions for businesses and people in the U.S.
BigBook.com
http://www.bigbook.com/
GTE Super Pages
http://yp.gte.net/
TalkingPhoneBook.com
http://www.etpb.com
Switchboard.com
http://www.switchboard.com
People and business directory.
Telephone Directories on the Web
http://www.infobel.com/teldir/teldir.asp?page=/eng
Telephone Directories on the Web is a detailed index of online phonebooks and one can find Yellow Pages, White Pages, business directories, e-mail addresses, and fax listings from around the world.
The Ultimate White Pages
http://www.theultimates.com/white
This web site provides search interfaces for several of the telephone directories on the web. It also includes a reverse directory search in which a phone number can be searched instead of a name.
Ultimate Directory
http://www.infospace.com
This website provides links to search people, govt. offices, fax numbers, and reverse lookup.
Big Yellow
http://www.bigyellow.com
Worldwide Yellow Pages
http://www.worldwideyellowpages.com/
A good site for links to yellow page directories for more than 100 countries. The directories are listed alphabetically by country name.
Zip Codes Lookup
http://www.usps.gov/ncsc/ziplookup/lookupmenu.htm
[back to top] |