Library Services


Reference Shelf - Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias by Subject

Computer Science

SYMANTEC
http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/vinfodb.html
Online encyclopedia of past and current computer viruses. The site offers the most up-to-date information on recent threats.

Geography

Altapedia Online
http://www.altapedia.com
This website contains full color physical and political map as well as key facts and statistics on countries of the world.

Law and Economics

Cyberlaw Encyclopedia
http://www.gahtan.com/cyberlaw/
Law information related to Internet commerce, contracts, copyright, censorship, and computer technology.

Encyclopedia of Law and Economics
http://encyclo.findlaw.com/
(University of Ghent)

Medicine/ Health

Dr. Koop.com
http://www.drkoop.com/ency/index.htm
Browse the Health Encyclopedia for references of symptoms, treatments, and conditions.

MEDLINEplus
http://medlineplus.gov/
Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on about 500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.

Rush Medical Encyclopedia
http://www.rush.edu/worldbook/
Search by symptom, topic, age-related health problems, first-aid, etc.


Mythology

Encyclopedia Mythica
http://www.pantheon.org/
An encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and legend.

Philosophy

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/
Index to philosophers and philosophical terms.

Standford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://plato.standford.edu/
Online encyclopedia of Philosophy and philosophers entered and kept up to date by and expert or group of experts in the field.

Physics

Physics Encyclopedia
http://www.members.tripod.com/~IgorIvanov/physics/
Provides an extensive list of physics topics.

Physics Encyclopedia
http://www.nevis.columbia.edu/~phypharm/Encyclopedia.html
Provides links to information on physics.

Religion

Catholic Encyclopedia
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/
Provides authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action, and doctrine.

Hindu Mythology
http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/asia/hindu/
Encylopedia/glossary of Hindu mythology.

Judaism 101
http://www.jewfaq.org
An online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices, and customs.

Shi'ite Encyclopedia
http://al-islam1.org/encyclopedia/newindex.html

Templenet Encyclopedia
http://www.templenet.com/encylo.html
Index by religion. This online site provides information on the temple heritage of India, classified by religion, their diverse architectural styles, festival traditions and worship protocols.

Science

AccessScience
http://www.accessscience.com/
Includes the McGraw-Hill Enyclopedia of Science & Technology, the Dictionary of Scientific Technical Terms, over 2,100 science biographies, news stories from Science News, and McGraw-Hill science editors' selected websites for further research.

Encyclopedia of Plants
http://www.botany.com/
Provides information regarding the general descriptions of plants, various methods of cultivation, soil and temperature requirements, means of propagation, and different varieties and hybrids.

Environmental Contaminants Encyclopedia
http://www.nature.nps.gov/hazardssafety/toxic/
Provides general information about the 118 elements, compounds, and products listed in Entries, Filenames. It is also a quick reference in helping one decide whether or not concentrations are above toxic levels, which might cause impacts upon living things.

Sports

Online Baseball Encyclopedia
http://baseball1.com/database/
Major League career statistics.

SIRC
http://www.sportquest.com
Provides information for all sports (noncommerical, adventure, amateur) and the Olympics.


General Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica

An online version of the current edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica is available through the library's website (http://www.library.fgcu.com). Go to the Journal Ariticles and Databases page, search for database "Encyclopedia Britannica", then click "Connect Now". This service includes access to the entire text of the Encyclopedia Britannica as well as a number of other resources.

Encyclopedia.com
http://encyclopedia.com/
Encyclopedia.com is the internet's free encyclopedia. More than 1400 articles from the Concise Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia have been assembled at this site for providing free, useful, and quick information.

Infoplease.com
http://www.infoplease.com/
Online version of the popular almanac which can be browsed by topic or searched. Also includes the Random house Webster's College Dictionary and Columbia Encyclopedia.

Micro Reference
http://www2.cs.uh.edu/~clifton/micro.a.html
Alphabetical index to a list of encylopedic information on a wide variety of subjects.

Microsoft Encarta Concise Encyclopedia
http://encarta.msn.com/artcenter_/browse.html
This is a free concise encylopedia from Microsoft that contains 16,000 articles and more than 2,200 photos, illustrations, map, charts, and tables. An advanced search option is available on this site.

 

 

[back to top]