|
Reference Shelf - Geographic Sources
Maps and Atlases
Altapedia Online
http://www.altapedia.com/
This web site contains full color physical and political maps as well as key facts and statistics about countries of the world.
CIA Maps and Publications
http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/mapspub/
Provides access to a long list of maps covering the world,regions, and countries.
Maps.com
http://www.maps.com
Online world maps, topographical maps, weather maps, online directories to anywhere in the US.
Newsbank
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/
Newsbank Infoweb is a unique source of primary web-based information. Along with business and global news, it provides a searchable index of colorful maps from all over the world. Click on the Maps button on the main page to access maps.
Oddens' bookmark
http://oddens.geog.uu.nl/index.html
Links to over 11,300 online maps.
Outline Maps
http://www.eduplace.com/ss/ssmaps/
Provides a selection of outline maps for countries, regions, and the world. Great for classroom use.
PCL Map Collection
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html
This website is a collection of online maps in general and special category. One can also find historical, city, and state maps here. (University of Texas).
Yale University Map Collection
http://www.library.yale.edu/MapColl/index.html
Yale University's library has the largest collection of maps in Connecticut and one of the largest university collections in the United States. Its collections are geographically comprehensive and consist of over 200,000 map sheets, 3,000 atlases, and 900 reference books. The collection also houses approximately 15,000 rare (pre-1850) sheet maps. This site does not include all of the library's maps but does include a good selection from in Antiquarian and Historical City maps.
City Map Site
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/Libs/PCL/Map_collection/map_sites/cities_sites.html
This site provides links to a wide variety of maps: city, state, country, and historical maps. (University of Texas at Austin)
Expedia
http://maps.expedia.com/pub/agent.dll?qscr=over&fmap=1
Provides detailed street maps of the United States and road maps of Canada, Mexico, and Europe. Also has topographic maps of areas around the globe
Maps On Us
http://www.mapsonus.com/
Bodleian Library Map Room- UK
http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk/guides/maps/maproom.htm
Provides access to a wide variety of online maps, ancient and modern.
David Rumsey Collection
http://www.davidrumsey.com/
Access to 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials.
Florida Historical Maps
http://www.floridasmart.com/subjects/geog/fl_hist.htm
Historical Maps from Early America
http://earlyamerica.com/earlyamerica/maps/
Historical Maps of the United States
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/Libs/PCL/Map_collection/map_sites/hist_sites.html#US
Historical Maps of the U.S. Cities
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/Libs/PCL/Map_collection/map_sites/historic_us_cities.html
Maps of National Historic Sites
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/national_parks.html
New York State Historical Maps
http://www.sunysb.edu/libmap/nymaps.htm
Area maps dating back pre-Colonial New York and New England history.
UF Map & Imagery Library
http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/maps/MAPANTIQUE.HTML
Online access to Florida, Latin America, Africa, and Holy Land historical maps.
Rare Map Collection at the Hargrett Library
http://www.libs.uga.edu/darchive/hargrett/maps/maps.html
The Hargrett Rare Books and Manuscripts Library maintains a collection of about 800 historical maps spanning nearly 500 years, from the sixteenth century through to the early twentieth century. The collection focuses on the development of the United States from Colonial America to present day.
Earth and Moon Viewer
http://www.fourmilab.ch/earthview/vplanet.html
This site is a great resource for clickable satellite maps of the Earth and the Moon. You can select views of Earth from the Moon or from the Sun, locate specific craters on the Moon by name, zoom in and out, and select different types of displays including topographic maps, weather maps and cloud maps.
Maps of the Solar System
http://maps.jpl.nasa.gov/
Solar system surface map database.
USGS Maps and Aerial Photo Images Online
http://mapping.usgs.gov/partners/viewonline.html
Online access to USGS digital aerial photographs, topographic maps, orthographic maps, aero charts, and nautical charts.
Climate Data
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/ol/climate/climatedata.html
Surface data- graphs, hourly, daily, and monthly data for Fort Myers, Jacksonville, Key West, Orlando and many other Florida cities.
NOAA Weather Page
http://www.esdim.noaa.gov/weather_page.html
Links to NOAA weather information and worldwide links.
Reading Weather Maps
http://bec.brookline.mec.edu/science/Cynthia%20San%20Francisco/home1.htm
Provides information on how to interpret weather-related information.
Weather Maps
http://www.weather.com/weather/maps/
Sanborn Maps- Florida
http://palmm.fcla.edu/sanborn/index.html
The Sanborn® Fire Insurance Company Maps of Florida comprise a collection of more than 300 bibliographic units in more than 3,000 map sheets. The maps were mainly designed to help fire insurance agents determine the degree of damage to a property and show accurate information to help them determine risks and establish premiums. They showed the size (including color-coding), shape and construction of buildings (brick, adobe, frame, etc), dwellings (including hotels and churches), and other structures such as bridges, docks and barns. Along with fire stations, you could also find water facilities, sprinklers, hydrants, cisterns, and alarm boxes as well as firewalls, windows, doors, elevators and chimneys and roof types. The maps included street names, property boundaries and lot lines, and house and block numbers. Other information such as the latest census figures, prevailing winds; railroad lines and Indian reservations and topography were included. Today, the maps are an invaluable guide to inner-city history, land use, and historic preservation. This collection of public domain maps was digitized from the printed maps held in the collections of the Smathers Libraries ' Map & Imagery Library, on the campus of the University of Florida (Gainesville, FL).
Color Landform Atlas of the United States
http://fermi.jhuapl.edu/states/states.html
Provides access to landform maps of all the states.
Green Map System
http://www.greenmap.com
The Green Map System will help you locate eco-friendly information and businesses from museums to grocers to renewable resources. Each map contribution came from different people with diverse backgrounds ranging from city dwellers to experts from all around the world.
Geography Network
http://www.geographynetwork.com/
The Geography Network is managed and maintained by ESRI, the world leader in the geographic information system (GIS) industry. Through the Geography Network, you can access many types of geographic content including dynamic maps, downloadable data, and more advanced Web services.
Library of Congress: Map Collections 1500-2004
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html
This site includes military maps, environmental maps and maps that record evolution of American cities. Search by keywords or browse the sections.
Map Machine
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/resources/ngo/maps/
This website was created by the National Geographic Society and it offers maps, flags, facts, and profiles for the countries of the world and the U.S. states.
Maps and Atlases on the Internet
http://www.library.ubc.ca/poli/refmaps.html
This website was created by the University of Columbia and has links to general, historical, and political maps and atlases on the internet.
[back to top] |