Library Services


Reference Shelf - Quotations

Quotations

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
http://www.bartleby.com/quotations/
This site contains a searchable database of over 87,000 quotations, including John Bartlett's famous collection of familiar quotations.

Quotations
http://www.theotherpages.org/quote.html
Currently containing over 24,000 entries in 30 collections, this website boasts that it is one of the oldest and largest text collections on the web.

Quotations Archive
http://www.aphids.com/quotes/index.shtml
The Quotations Archive is a comprehensive, searchable database of general purpose quotations.

Quotation Center
http://www.cybernation.com/victory/quotations/directory.html
This website is a great collection of more than 13,000 quotes "to inspire, empower, and motivate you." The quotations are divided loosely into topics, and within a topic, quotes are arranged by author.

Quotation Page
http://www.starlingtech.com/quotes
This site presents links to quotation of the day/week, quotation book reviews, random quotes, motivational quotes of the day, quotation search, and links to many more quotation sites.

Phrase Finder
http://www.phrases.org.uk/
This is a large database containing the meanings and origins of English language phrases and sayings. You may conduct a keyword search or view all of the entries starting with a certain letter.

Aviation and Space Quotes
http://www.skygod.com/quotes/
An award-winning site for great aviation quotes.

Mark Twain Quotations
http://www.twainquotes.com
This page contains quotations by Mark Twain organized by subject, full-text newspaper articles, magazine articles, and links to other Twain sites. One can also conduct a keyword search.

Mathematical Quotations Server
http://math.furman.edu/~mwoodard/mqs/mquot.shtml
This page consists of a collection of mathematical quotations culled from many sources. One can also conduct a keyword search through the quotation database.

Movie Quotes on the IMDB
http://www.us.imdb.com/Sections/Quotes/
Part of the International Movie Database, this page is a starting point to search for movie quotes. One can browse by movie title or do a keyword search. The IMDB also contains a wealth of other information about movies.

King James Bible
http://www.hti.umich.edu/k/kjv/
Search the King James version of the Bible. Conduct single word and phrase search, citation search, Boolean or proximity searches.or browse the books of the Bible.

A Short Dictionary of Scientific Quotations
http://www.naturalscience.com/dsqhome.html
his page consists of a collection of scientific quotations from many sources. They are listed alphabetically by author. No keyword searching.

 

[back to top]