Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles
Research Guide for Resort and Hospitality Management
For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604
Reference Materials - In library use only
Dictionary of Travel, Tourism and Hospitality REF G155.A1 M397
International Dictionary of Hospitality Management REF TX905 .I57 2008
Plunkett's airline, hotel & travel industry almanac 2007 : the only comprehensive guide to travel and hospitality companies and trends REF
HE9803.A2 P58
Sport, Leisure, and Tourism Information Sources: A Guide for Researchers REF GV188 .S66
Travel industry world yearbook REF G155.A1 B54
Yearbook of tourism statistics. Annual
REF G149 .I73
E-Books
Developing Hospitality Properties and Facilities
Dictionary of Travel, Tourism and Hospitality
Hospitality Management Accounting
Improving Tourism and Hospitality Services
Online Databases
ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.
Academic OneFile
A comprehensive database with articles from over 8,000 academic journals, many in full-text.
Academic Search Complete
Indexing and abstracting of over 10,900 publications (!), more than 5,300 of which are full text.
Business Dateline
Search a unique resource focusing on local, company-specific material that gives business researchers access to hard-to-find local and regional business news and analysis. Comprehensive local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides information not typically found in the national news sources.
Emerald Fulltext
Search over 35,000 full text articles drawn from an international management portfolio, covering a spectrum of management disciplines, including strategy, leadership, marketing, and human resource management, as well as engineering, applied science, and technology titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the Encyclopedia of Food and Culture in this database.
General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
General Reference Center Gold
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images.
LexisNexis Academic
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Company News and Company financial information for public and private companies (includes reports from Hoovers, Disclosures) SEC filings News from over 25 industries Full Text federal, state and & International legal material.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.
Web Resources
Associations
American Hotel & Lodging Association
http://www.ahla.com/
Uniting 10,000 hospitality executives, AH&LA is the only national organization dedicated to serving the best interest of hoteliers on the front line, behind the scenes, and on Capitol Hill. Members are empowered with exclusive bottom line savings, educational resources, and networking opportunities with their expansive network of general managers, property owners, hotel suppliers, and other industry professionals.
American Resort Development Association
http://www.arda.org/
American Resort Development Association’s mission is to foster and promote the growth of the industry and to serve its members through education; public relations and communications; legislative advocacy; membership development; and ethics enforcement.
Ecoclub
http://ecoclub.com/
This organization promotes ecotourism with members in over 130 countries. It serves as a clearinghouse for ecotourism related information on jobs, events, publications, university courses, and finance sources.
Ecotourism Society
http://www.ecotourism.org/
An ecotourism organization with links to its membership information, training, newsletter and events.
Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals
http://www.hftp.org/content.cfm?pgid=100
HFTP is the global professional association for financial and technology personnel working in hotels, clubs, and other hospitality-related businesses. Founded in 1952, HFTP provides first-class educational events, networking, certifications and resources to over 4,800 members worldwide.
International Council on Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education
http://www.chrie.org/
The organization is a global advocate of hospitality and tourism education for schools, colleges, and universities offering programs in hotel and restaurant management, food service management and culinary arts.
International Hotel and Restaurant Association
http://www.ih-ra.com
The organization is a non-profit international trade association exclusively devoted to promoting and defending the interests of the hotel and restaurant industry worldwide.
Travel and Tourism Research Association (TTRA)
http://www.ttra.com
The premier international organization promoting the education and application of professional research in the travel and tourism industry.
Travel Industry Association of America (TIA)
http://www.tia.org/home.asp
Provides information, representation and leadership to the travel industry.
General Resources
Ecotourism
http://environmentdirectoryecotourism.com/
Directory to North American Ecotourism organizations, publications and biographies.
Ecotour.com
http://www.ecotour.org/
Provides links to information on a variety of eco-tour destinations.
Ecotourism Portal
http://www.ecotourism.cc/
An informative web site with links to Ecotourism news, events, travel ideas, Ecoshops, Eco books and products.
E-Hospitality.com
http://www.e-hospitality.com/content/homepage
Provides links to job search, consultant locator, trade publications, newsletter, products, buyers guide, market research reports, and other hospitality industry-related materials.
Hospitality Net
http://www.hospitalitynet.org/index.html
Provides industry news, financial news, market reports, job opportunities, industry links, and more.
Yahoo Guide on Ecotourism
http://dir.yahoo.com/Recreation/Travel/Ecotourism/
Provides a variety of links to Ecotourism-related materials.
Marketing
HotetMarketing.Com
http://www.hotelmarketing.com/
A weekly news source for hotel marketers with a focus on e-commerce and Internet marketing.
Hospitality Industry Guide from Yahoo
http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy/Business_to_Business/Hospitality_Industry/
Provides multiple links to industry-related materials.
Newsletters
Hotel Interactive
http://www.hotelinteractive.com/
Online hospitality-related news service.
Hotel News Resource
http://www.hotelnewsresource.com/headlines.htm
Online hospitality-related news service.
Hotel Online
http://www.hotel-online.com/Neo/News/
Online hospitality-related news service.
Resource Guides by other Libraries
Nestlé Library - Theses Database Online
http://www.nestlelib.cornell.edu/research/databases/theses/
The database is a collection of Ph.D., Master of Science (M.S.), and Master of Management in Hospitality (M.M.H.) theses written by graduate students in the School of Hotel Administration. Restricted access to full text of the theses but they can be ordered via Inter Library Loan (ILL).
PricewaterhouseCoopers Lodging Research
http://www.pwcglobal.com/Extweb/industry.nsf/docid/0CF14D2D3D7D882B85256AA2006E7A86
The site is dedicated exclusively to PricewaterhouseCoopers research on the lodging industry.
Statistics
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Office of Travel and Tourism Industries (OTTI)
http://www.tinet.ita.doc.gov/
Provides statistical information on inbound & outbound travel to and from the U.S., market analysis, and other travel/tourist-related materials
Supplies
Hospitality Index
http://www.hospitality-index.com/
This is a way for hospitality industry managers to find just what they want from the hospitality suppliers and manufacturers.
Hotel Supply Resource
http://www.hotelsupplyresource.com/HR-category-category-133.html
Resources for the hotel industry including suppliers, technology, real estate, finance, trade shows, and employment.
Revised 6/18/08