Library Services

 

Astronomy Research Guide

Subject Librarian: Danielle Rosenthal

 
Online Databases
AccessScience - Select "Astronomy & Space Science" from the pull-down menu, or enter a keyword search.
Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, over 2,100 science biographies, news stories from Science News, and McGraw-Hill science editors' selected websites for further research.
Kluwer (SpringerLink) Journals Online - Full text of 600+ of Kluwer's research journals (most since 1997) covering a wide range of scientific disciplines full text.
Science Direct - Full text of approximately 650 of Elsevier's traditional research journals.
Scientific American Online - Contains the entire editorial content of Scientific American with all special issues from January 1993 through to the present.
 
Dictionaries

Mitton, Jacqueline (2001). Cambridge dictionary of astronomy. U.K.; N.Y.: Cambridge University Press. 
REF QB14 .M55 2001

J.L. Heilbron (2005). The Oxford guide to the history of physics and astronomy. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press. 
REF QC7 .O94 2005

Ian Ridpath (2003). A dictionary of astronomy. Oxford ; New York,: Oxford University Press. 
REF QB14 .D52 2003

Encyclopedias

Lankford, John (1997). History of astronomy : an encyclopedia. New York: Garland Pub. 
REF QB15 .H624 1997

Hetherington, Norriss S. (1993). Encyclopedia of cosmology : historical, philosophical, and scientific foundations of modern cosmology. New York: Garland Pub. 
REF QB980.5 .E53 1993

Angelo, Joseph A. (2006). Encyclopedia of space and astronomy. New York, NY: Facts On File. 
REF QB136 .A55 2006

Paul Murdin & Margaret Penston. (2004). The Firefly encyclopedia of astronomy. Buffalo, N.Y.: Firefly Books. 
REF QB14 .F575 2004

Field Guides & Handbooks

Angelo, Joseph A. (2002). The Facts on File space and astronomy handbook. New York: Facts on File. 
REF QB43.3 .A44 2002

Inglis, Mike (2001). Field guide to the deep sky objects. London ; New York: Springer. 
REF QB64 .I54 2001

Pasachoff, Jay M. (2000). (4th ed). A field guide to the stars and planets. Boston: Houghton Mifflin. 
REF QB64 .P37 2000

Ridpath, Ian (2001). (3rd ed.). Stars and planets. Princeton, N.J: Princeton University Press. 
REF QB64 .R52 2001

Karkoschka, Erich (1999). (2nd ed.). The observer's sky atlas : with 50 star charts covering the entire sky. New York: Springer. 
REF QB65 .K3713 1999

Questions? Contact:

Danielle Rosenthal | 239-590-7633 | drosenth@fgcu.edu | Room 219 Library West

last updated: December 4, 2007