Library Services

  RefWorks | All Science Guides

 

Suggested Resources for the topic: Evolution

Your Subject Librarian is: Danielle Rosenthal

 
Reference Books - In Library Use Only

 

The Cambridge Dictionary of human biology and evolution
Author: Mai, Larry L.
REF QP34.5 .M24 2005

Darwin's fishes : an encyclopedia of ichthyology, ecology, and evolution
Author: Pauly, D. (Daniel)
REF QL614.7 .P38 2004

The Facts on File dictionary of evolutionary biology
REFQH360.2 .F27 2004

Animal behavior desk reference ; a dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution
Author: Barrows, Edward M.
REF QL750.3 .B37 2001

Encyclopedia of human evolution and prehistory.
REF GN281 .E53 2000

A dictionary of ecology, evolution, and systematics
Author: Lincoln, Roger J.
REF QH540.4 .L56 1998

 

List of Electronic Full Text Scholarly Journals - access on campus or with Eagle ID # from E-Journals

American journal of bioethics
Annual review of ecology, evolution, and systematics
Bioethics
Biogeochemistry
Biogeosciences
Biology & philosophy
BMC evolutionary biology
Development genes and evolution
Developing world bioethics
Eubios journal of Asian and international bioethics
Evolution
Evolution & development
Evolution and human behavior
Geobiology
Infection, genetics and evolution
Journal of evolutionary biology
Journal of mammalian evolution
Journal of molecular evolution 
Kennedy Institute of Ethics journal
Molecular phylogenetics and evolution
Organisms diversity & evolution
Origins of life and evolution of the biosphere
Problemi di bioetica  
Trends in ecology & evolution

Online Databases - access on campus or with Eagle ID #.

CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) - select "Natural Sciences" in the Subject Area drop down.

AccessScience - Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, over 2,100 science biographies, news stories from Science News, and McGraw-Hill science editors' selected websites for further research.

Science Direct - This Elsevier Science Journals Database is the electronic full text version of approximately 650 of Elsevier's traditional research journals.

Scientific American - Scientific American Archive Online contains the entire editorial content of Scientific American with all special issues from January 1993 through to the present.

 
Websites-public
Tree of Life - a collaborative effort of biologists from around the world. On more than 4000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history (phylogeny), and characteristics.
BiologyBrowser - produced by Thomson Scientific, a free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community.
NCBI Taxonomy Browser - The NCBI taxonomy database contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence. Can be used to look up common or scientific name.
Universal Biological Indexer and Organizer (uBio) - uses names and taxonomic intelligence to manage information about organisms. Can be usde to look up common or scientific name.
PBS Evolution Project - This is a content-rich, interactive Web site with streaming imagery, animations, simulations, dynamic timelines, conversations with experts, current news bulletins, and extensive links to evolution-related learning resources worldwide.

EurekAlert!- Chock full of ALL kinds of information and resources. Created by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Scirus - Science-specific search engine. Retrieves documents as well as websites.