Library Services

Back to Social Work Main | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

Online Databases

This is a selected list of most relevant databases for this discipline. Use these databases to identify and locate journal articles about the topics you are researching. They are accessed via the Online Databases page by searching the database title in the search box.

If you are a FGCU student or Faculty/Staff member

You can use these resources from anywhere in the world via the Internet. Off-campus access requires your Eagle ID #.

Note: the Library is unable to provide here the direct links to some databases. If unable to connect to a database from off-campus, please go to the Library homepage http://library.fgcu.edu , select "Online Databases", and type in your FGCU 14 digit ID number when it is requested. After this authentication, FGCU students and faculty will then be forwarded to a page to enter the first few letters of the database's title.

 

Social Work

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly with approximately 1500 records, ASSIA contains over 300,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is provided from 1987 to the present." Found through CSA under the category "Social Sciences Databases."

Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include: Community development, crisis intervention, evaluation research, the family and social welfare, gerontology, policy planning, forecasting, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, support groups/networks, violence, abuse, neglect. Indexing and abstracts-- 1980 to date. --Upon connection to CSA select Social Sciences.

Social Work Abstracts
Covers more than 450 journals in social work including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Includes the National Association of Social Workers' Register of Clinical Social Workers. Indexing and abstracts from 1977 to date.

SocINDEX with Full Text
A large social sciences database covering not only journals in sociology, but also over 130 social work journals. Indexes, abstracts and provides full-text of many of the social work journals and includes some books and conference papers.

Psychology

PILOTS

A bibliographic database indexing literature on posttraumatic stress disorder. Covers: "the assessment, description, prevention, or treatment of any psychiatric disorder, especially dissociative identity disorder (formerly called multiple personality disorder), other dissociative disorders, or borderline personality disorder, associated etiologically or epidemiologically with exposure to a traumatic event, or to an event experienced as traumatic by the population under discussion, the preparation or provision of mental health services to a traumatized population or a population at risk of experiencing traumatic events [and] issues of professional ethics, scientific methodology, or public policy relating to traumatized populations." 1871 to date. Found through CSA under the category "Social Sciences Databases. "

ProQuest Psychology Journals

Nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields, all in full text and searchable by keyword, author, title, or issue number.

PsycINFO
Covers scholarly literature in these subject areas and more: experimental psychology (human, animal, and comparative), psychosexual behavior, educational psychology, applied psychology, and sports psychology. Includes original research and journal article citations, literature reviews, reports of surveys, case studies, theoretical discussions, bibliographies, and descriptions of tests and apparatus. Indexed materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages. Most records have abstracts. Coverage from 1887 to date.

Other Social Science Databases

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Select "Library Search." Maintained by the National Clearinghouse for Child Abuse and Neglect, this database contains over 32,000 records on child abuse and neglect and child welfare issues, searchable by using keywords, authors' names, and publication year. Retrieves citations and abstracts of articles, books, and documents.

ERIC
Provides citations to journal articles, unpublished materials, books, government documents, conference proceedings, and theses/dissertations in the broad field of education. Includes child-related literature, and reports from ERIC clearinghouses on adult, career and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; counseling and disabilities. The database is divided into journal citations (EJ) and document citations (ED). FGCU owns the complete ED collection in microfiche. Some-full text ED documents from 1990 are linked from the database. Accessed Databases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Social Trends and Indicators USA, 2003, can be searched separately, as a publication in the Social Science category."Provides detailed statistics on social issues paired with expert analyses of the statistics. Statistics are gathered from respected sources, including the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of the Census, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and the Social Security Administration; data is also gathered from the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and stock exchanges. Additional features include appendices presenting highly detailed historical data series and a cumulative index."

Health & Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI assists researchers...to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. Provided are citations to journals articles, monographs and reference sources about each instrument, often including citations to the actual tests. Accessed via OVID under the library's Journal Articles & Databases page.

PAIS International
Indexes sources on public affairs, law, and social sciences. Provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Indexing and abstracts only. 1972 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text
Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Indexing 1983 to date. Includes some full-text articles.

Sociological Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts of research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Major areas of coverage include: community development; culture and social structure; demography and human biology; evaluation research; family and social welfare; management and complex organizations; methodology and research technology social psychology and group interaction; studies in violence and power; welfare services; and women's studies. Indexes from 1963 to the present.

U.S. Census Bureau
SEARCH for population statistics on childcare, health status, household economics, housing, income, poverty, etc. Full text reports and tables.

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete

Offers full text coverage in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

CQ Public Affairs Collection
"Provides in-depth reports on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, non-profit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas. Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, such as Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation." May be searched simultaneously with CQ Researcher by choosing the CQ Electronic Library.

CQ Researcher
"Provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. CQ Researcher addresses a wide range of topics including legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology. Coverage is from 1991 to the present." Emphasis is on U.S. legislation. May be searched simultaneously with CQ Public Affairs by choosing the CQ Electronic Library.

Expanded Academic ASAP
General, multidisciplinary database, providing citations, abstracts and some full text articles from academic and popular journals.

GPO Monthly Catalog
Indexes documents published by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976. Includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.

LexisNexis Academic
Lexis-Nexis Universe provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources. Lexis-Nexis Universe provides access to, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Their files are updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world. Many of the journals and news sources are full-text.

Lexis-Nexis Congressional
Provides "access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress. In addition to the indexing and abstracting of the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress from 1970, Congressional Universe provides the tools for: searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal. Congressional Universe has full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward. "

LexisNexis Statistical
Large index to statistical sources from U.S. federal and state governments, some private industries and international organizations. Includes “power tables,” which can be searched separately for quick retrieval of health statistics. Provides abstracts and selected full-text and hyperlinks to many US Documents. Check the FGCU online catalog and reference staff about the availability of the documents identified, if a hyperlink is not provided.

State Capitol Universe
Provides access to bills, laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, legislature membership and newspapers of record for all the states.

Westlaw Campus a web-based legal research tool for law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals.