Library Services


Back to Social Work Main | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

 

Reference Materials

This is a brief guide, created especially for FGCU students and faculty, to print reference books for SOCIAL WORK AND HUMAN SERVICES in Florida Gulf Coast University’s Library . These books will help you to locate facts and background information, verify quick information or lead you to other sources. Newer editions of these books will replace previous ones as they are published. Most of these books are non-circulating and located in the Reference Section of the library.

To learn more about how library materials are arranged on the shelves, check the Library of Congress Classification Outline at http://lcweb.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/lcco.html

Almanacs

Ginsberg, Leon H. (1995). (2nd ed.). Social work almanac. Washington, DC: NASW Press.
Ref HV90 .G53

Bibliographies

Lilly, Terry Ann. (1997). Work-family research: an annotated bibliography. Greenwood Press.
Ref Z 7165.U5 W65 1997

Children

Section on Child Abuse and Neglect Education Committee. (1994). A guide to references and resources in child abuse and neglect. Section on Child Abuse and Neglect, American Academy of Pediatrics. Elk Grove Village, IL: The Section.
Ref HV6626.52 .G85 1994

(1993 -). Caring for kids with special needs. Princeton, NJ: Peterson's Guides.
REF HV863 .C35

(1998). State of America's children: a report from the Children's Defense Fund. Boston, MA: Beacon Press.
REF HV741 .S735 1998

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Barker, Robert L. (1995). (3rd ed.). The Social work dictionary. Washington, DC: NASW Press.
REF HV12 .B37 1995

Biggs, Donald A. (1994). Dictionary of counseling. Greenwood Press.: Westport, Conn.
REF BF637.C6 B444 1994

Edwards, Richard L. (1997). (19th ed.). Encyclopedia of social work: 1997 supplement. Washington, DC: National Association of Social Workers.
RES HV35 .S6

Magill, Frank N. (1994). (Vols. 1-5). Survey of social science Sociology series.. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press.
REF HM17 .S86 1994

National Association of Social Workers (1995). The Social work reference library [computer file]. Description:1 computer optical disc ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 guide.
REF HV12 .S62 1995

Directories

(1997 -). Child care directory of Collier County. Naples, FL: Naples Alliance for Children.
Ref HV864 .F6 C45

Child Welfare League of America (1986 -). Directory of member agencies. Washington, DC: Child Welfare League of America.
Ref HV741 .C5345c

District 8 Homeless Coalition. (1998/99 -). Directory of services for homeless persons. Fort Myers, FL:
Ref HV4506.F6 D57

Kipps, Harriet Clyde (1991). (3rd ed). Volunteerism: the directory of organizations, training, programs and publications. New Providence, NJ: R.R. Bowker.
Ref HN90.V64 V6

National Association of Social Workers (1993). NASW register of clinical social workers. Silver Spring, MD.
Ref HV89 .N223a

(1999-2000). National directory of nonprofit organizations. Rockville, MD: The Taft Group.
Ref AS29.5 .N38

Paul, Ellen (1995). (2nd ed.). The Adoption directory: the most comprehensive guide to family-building options including state statutes on adoption, public and private adoption agencies, adoption exchanges, foreign requirements and adoption agencies, independent adoption services, foster parenting, and support groups. New York: Gale Research.
Ref HV875.55 .A364

American Public Human Services Association (1999-2000). Public human services directory. Washington, DC:
Ref HV89 .A55

United Way of Lee County (1999). (5th ed.). Directory of human services. Ft. Myers, FL:
Ref HV98.F55 D57 1999

Employment

VGM Career Horizons (1995). Resumes for social service. Lincolnwood, IL: VGM Career Horizons.
Ref HV10.5 .V49

Funding and Grants

(1997 -). Complete guide to Florida foundations. Miami, FL: John L. Adams and the Florida Dept. of Community Affairs.
Ref HV98.F5 C66

(1990-1991). Corporate 500; The Directory of corporate philanthropy. San Francisco, CA: Public Management Institute.
Ref HV97.A3 C63

Estell, Kenneth (1997). (8th ed.). Fund raiser's guide to human service funding. New York, NY: Taft Group.
Ref HV89 .F848 1997

Eckstine, Richard M. (1998). (2nd ed.). Directory of social service grants: a reference directory identifying social service, child welfare, family service, and related grants available to nonprofit organizations. Loxahatchee, FL: Research Grant Guides, Inc..
Ref HV89 .D55 1998

(1996 -). The Foundation directory. New York: Foundation Center.
Ref AS911.A2 F65

Health

The University of South Florida, College of Public Health, Dept. of Health Policy & Management (1995). Collier County health status report. Tampa, FL: University of South Florida.
Ref RA407.4.F6 C65

(1997-2000). Comprehensive assessment for tracking community health (CATCH).. Tampa, FL: University of South Florida..
Ref RA427 .L44 LINK: http://www.lee-county.com/healthdept/CATCH2000/CATCHIntro.htm (latest electronic edition)

(1998 -). District Eight Health Plan, 1998-1999, 2000 -. Fort Myers, FL: The Council.
Ref RA447.F6 D57

Florida Hospital Association (1998). (12th ed). FHA eye on the market: healthcare in the sunshine state .... Orlando, FL: Florida Hospital Association.
Ref RA447 .F6 F43

(1997). Florida health data sourcebook. Miami, FL: Health Council of South Florida.
Ref RA447 .F6 F62 1997

(1993). Florida health care in perspective. Lawrence, KS: Morgan Quitno Corp.
Ref RA407.4.F6 F56

(1997). Southwest Florida, District 8 health data sourcebook 1997. Miami, FL: Health Council of South Florida.
Ref RA447 .F6 S68

Homelessness

Nordquist, Joan (1988). The Homeless in America: a bibliography. Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services.
Ref HV4505 .N67 1988

National Association Of Social Workers

National Association of Social Workers (1994). (5th ed.). Social work speaks: NASW policy statements. Washington, DC: NASW Press.
Ref HV88 .N118 2000

Older Adults

Kosberg, Jordan I. (1994). International handbook on services for the elderly. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
Ref HV1451 .I547

Krol, John (1994). Older Americans information directory: a guide to organizations, agencies, institutions, programs, publications, services, and other resources concerned with older Americans in the United States.. Detroit, MI: Gale Research.
Ref HV1450 .O43 1994

Santos, John F. and Verna R. Walker (1993). Elders at risk: abstracts of the psychological and behavioral literature on elder abuse, victimization, and suicide, 1967-1993. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Ref HV6250.4.A34 E55

Social Problems

Gall, Timothy L. and Daniel M. Lucas (1995). Statistics on alcohol, drug & tobacco use: a selection of statistical charts, graphs, and tables about alcohol, drug, and tobacco use from a variety of published sources with explanatory comments. Detroit, MI: Gale Research.
Ref HV5292 .S73

Harrison, Maureen and Steve Gilbert (1996). The rape reference: a resource for people at risk. San Diego, CA: Excellent Books.
Ref HV6561 .R43

Jaffe, Jerome H (1995). (Vols. 1-4). Encyclopedia of drugs and alcohol. New York: Macmillan Library Ref USA.
Ref HV5804 .E53 1995

O'Brien, Robert (1992). (2nd ed.). The encyclopedia of drug abuse. New York: Facts on File.
Ref HV5804 .E94

Social Programs

Greenberg, David. H. & Shroder, Mark (2004). (3rd. ed). Digest of Social Experiments. Washington, DC: Urban Institute Press.
REF HN59.2 .G74 2004

Statistics

Florida Department of Children and Families, Office of the Secretary, Refugee Programs Administration (1995). Florida's refugee programs annual report. Tallahassee, FL:
Ref HV640.4.F566 R482

Chadwick, B.A. & Heaton, T.B. (1999). (2nd ed.). Statistical handbook on the American family. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press.
Ref HQ536 .S727 1999

(1997 -). (Library has: Each Florida county). County Perspectives. Gainesville, FL: University of Florida, Bureau of Economic and Business Research, College of Business Administration.
Ref HA317.L44 L4 (Most Current Year in Reference)

Reddy, Marlita A., (1993-). (2nd ed). Statistical record of Hispanic Americans. Detroit: Gale Research.
GEN E184.S75 S74 1995

Smith, Jessie Carney and Carrell P. Horton (1997). Statistical record of black America. Detroit, MI: Gale Research.
Ref E185 .S73 1996