Library Services

Back to Social Work Main | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

Web Resources

The following web sites have been carefully selected for providing reliable information. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources. A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available, this guide also includes a number of web sites on evaluating Internet Information.

Cultural Diversity

National Center for Cultural Competence
http://www.georgetown.edu/research/gucdc/nccc/nccc7.html.
Promoting Cultural Diversity and Cultural Competency has an online “Self-Assessment Checklist for Personnel Providing Services and Supports to Children with Special Health Needs and their Families, ” and provides useful Web links on cultural competence, as well as the searchable “Cultural and Linguistic Competence Resource Database” of resource materials.

Evidence-based Mental Health

Implementation Research: A Synthesis of the Literature
http://nirn.fmhi.usf.edu/resources/publications/Monograph/
Full text of a 120 page monograph published by the National Implementation Reearch Network. The book serves as a guide to planning and implementing evidence based mental health programs.

Evidence-based Practices: An Implementation Guide for Community based Substance Abuse Treatment Agencies. 2003
http://nirn.fmhi.usf.edu/resources/detail.cfm?resourceID=98
A 34 page handbook in full-text discussing issues related to implementing evidence based programs and practices. Published by the Iowa Practice Improvement Collaborative.

Housing

Paycheck to Paycheck; 2005 Findings.
http://www.nhc.org/chp/p2p/
The National Housing Conference, Center for Housing Policy study on wages for 60 occupations relative to housing costs in 200 U.S. metropolitan areas. Data is in a searchable database.

Jobs

Social Work and Social Services Jobs Database
http://gwbweb.wustl.edu/jobs/index.html
Sponsored by the George Warren Brown School of Social Work, includes links to job openings in most states, including Florida.

Meta sites for Social Work and Human Services

World Wide Web Resources for Social Workers
http://www.nyu.edu/socialwork/wwwrsw/
Sponsored by New York University’s School of Social Work, has over 35,000 links and is updated daily. Extensive links to US government agencies’ websites and online documents; most relevant state agencies; many online journals and newsletters.

Social Work and Social Services Web Sites
http://gwbweb.wustl.edu/websites.html
Social Work and Social Services Web Sites are lists maintained by the G.W. Brown School of Social Work at Washington University in St. Louis. Extensive links on many topics from abuse and violence, gerontology and aging,

Social Work Café
http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/4862/
Think of this site as the marketplace for ideas. Exchange information through the Complete Social Worker research project, debate special topics on the SWC Message Board or in the International Social Work Chat Room. Rally aid to your situation on the Community Bulletin Board.

Online Journals

SWAN
http://www.sc.edu/swan/media.html
Links to online journals related to social work and human services.

CTOnline (Counseling Today)
http://www.counseling.org/ctonline/
“The online news source for professional counselors.”

Organizations

Florida

Florida Commission On Mental Health and Substance Abuse
http://www.fmhi.usf.edu/fcmhsa/index.html
Created in 1999 by House Bill 2003 for the purpose of conducting a systematic review of the overall management of the state's mental health and substance abuse system.

MyFlorida.com
http://fcn.state.fl.us/myflorida/home.html
Searchable website for citizens of Florida. Includes information and links to Florida state agencies, e.g.: Department of Children & Families, Dept. of Corrections, Dept. of Elder Affairs, Dept. of Juvenile Justice, Dept. of Veterans Affairs, etc. Includes searchable archive of Executive Orders

Online Sunshine
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Welcome/index.cfm
Official, searchable site of the Florida Legislature, with online full-text of bills and related documents from the current legislative session.

Local

County ordinances. Municipal Code Corporation
http://www.municode.com/aboutUs/
Provides an "online library", a searchable database of county and city ordinances, including Florida counties.

Lee County, FL. Dept. of Human Services.
http://www.lee-county.com/humanservices.asp

Mental Health Court of Broward County, Fl
http://www.browarddefender.com/mcourt.htm
A model court to handle misdemeanor cases involving individuals with mental illness or brain disorders, so as to quickly resolve such cases and to divert the individuals into appropriate treatment programs instead of the criminal justice system. There is a similar court in King County, Washington.

Naples Alliance for Children. Resource Directory
http://www.napleschild.org/
The NAFC website organizes child and family services, and early-childhood and school-age programs in Collier County, Florida. The Resource Directory comprises 75 pages of family support services and agencies, with location and contact information for each one. Website provides links to NAFC programs: Early Childhood Education Advocacy, Success by 6, free workshops and materials for Positive Guidance and Discipline.

Professional Organizations

National Association of Social Workers
http://www.naswdc.org/
The largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world. Site includes the NASW Code of Ethics and statements of professional standards.

American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy
http://www.aamft.org/
AAMFT is the professional association for the field of marriage and family therapy.

American Public Human Services Association
http://www.aphsa.org/default.htm
“A nonprofit, bipartisan organization of individuals and agencies concerned with human services. Members include all state and many territorial human service agencies, more than 1,200 local agencies, and 4000 individuals who work in or otherwise have an interest in human service programs. APHSA educates members of Congress, the media, and the broader public on what is happening in the states around welfare, child welfare, health care reform, and other issues involving families and the elderly. Site provides links to each U.S. state’s social service or human service agency. APHSA is also an umbrella for the National Council of State Human Service Administrators and the National Council of Local Human Service Administrators.”

Clinical Social Work Federation
http://www.cswf.org/welcome.html
"A confederation of 31 state societies for clinical social work. State societies are formed as voluntary associations for the purpose of promoting the highest standards of professional education and clinical practice. Each society is active with legislative advocacy and lobbying efforts for adequate and appropriate mental health services and coverage at their state and national levels of government." Florida’s state society was inactive as of March 2001; the CSWF accepts individual members.

International Federation of Social Workers
http://www.ifsw.org/
Global organization striving for social justice, human rights and social development through the development of social work, best practices and international cooperation between social workers and their professional organizations. Site includes 11 policy statements and a new, broader definition of social work.

Latino Social Workers Organization (LSWO)
http://www.lswo.org

Latino Social Workers Organization (Florida chapter)
http://www.lswo.org/LSWO_Affilliates/LSWO_Florida/lswo_florida.html

National Association of Black Social Workers
http://www.nabsw.org/

National Association of Puerto Rican/Hispanic Social Workers (NAPRHSW)
http://www.naprhsw.bizland.com

National Organization of Forensic Social Work
http://www.nofsw.org
Established to provide for the advancement of education in the field of forensic social work through: training programs, forums, panels and lectures, annual conferences,a newsletter, networking opportunities, and political action.

Society for Social Work Leadership in Health Care
http://www.sswlhc.org/index.asp
An association of 1300 members dedicated to promoting the universal availability, accessibility, coordination, and effectiveness of health care that addresses the psychosocial components of health and illness. Site provides text of Standards of Care for Domestic Violence, Child Abuse & Neglect, and Elder Abuse & Neglect; and a tip sheet for community advocacy.

Related Organizations - Professional

American Counseling Association
http://www.counseling.org/
Site includes ACA Code of Ethics, Standards of Practice, and Ethical Standards for Internet Online Counseling.

American Psychological Association
http://www.apa.org

American Public Health Association
http://www.apha.org

American Sociological Association
http://www.asanet.org

Related Organizations – Advocacy and Research

Association for Community Organizing and Social Administration
http://www.acosa.org/index1.htm
A membership organization for community organizers, planners, activists, administrators, policy practice specialists, students, and professors. ACOSA members represent a variety of disciplines and professional fields which strive to strengthen community organization and social administration in social work practice and education.

Association for the Advancement of Social Work with Groups, Inc
http://www.aaswg.org/
An international organization providing advocacy and action in support of group work practice, education, research, and publication. Includes text of Standards for Social Work Practice with Groups and links to group work resources.

Child Welfare League of America
http://www.cwla.org/
CWLA is an association of more than 1,100 public and private nonprofit agencies that assist over 3.5 million abused and neglected children and their families each year with a wide range of services. Site includes a wealth of child advocacy information, e.g. the CWLA Legislative agendas, National Fact Sheet 2000 on child abuse, neglect and other status indicators.

Inter-University Consortium for International Social Development.
http://www.iucisd.org/
IUCISD is an organization of practitioners, scholars and students in the human services, It was started in the 1970's by a group of social work educators to respond to pressing human concerns from an international, interdisciplinary perspective.

National Alliance on Mental Illness
http://www.nami.org/
NAMI is a nonprofit, grassroots, self-help, support and advocacy organization of consumers, families, and friends of people with severe mental illnesses, such as schizophrenia, major depression, bipolar disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and anxiety disorders. Its foci are support, education, advocacy, and research.

National Association of State Medicaid Directors
http://medicaid.aphsa.org/
“NASMD is a bipartisan, professional, nonprofit organization of representatives of state Medicaid agencies (including the District of Columbia and the territories. … The primary purposes of NASMD are to serve as a focal point of communication between the states and the federal government and to provide an information network among the states on issues pertinent to the Medicaid program.”

National Coalition for the Homeless
http://www.nationalhomeless.org/
A national advocacy network of homeless persons, activists, service providers, and others committed to ending homelessness through public education, policy advocacy, grassroots organizing, and technical assistance.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
http://www.hud.gov/homeless/index.cfm
Information on services and housing options for the homeless. Site is directed to both homeless persons and service providers.

National Mental Health Association
http://www.nmha.org
‘(NMHA) is the country's oldest and largest nonprofit organization addressing all aspects of mental health and mental illness. With more than 340 affiliates nationwide, NMHA works to improve the mental health of all Americans, especially the 54 million individuals with mental disorders, through advocacy, education, research and service.’ Site is an excellent resource for educational materials.

Reference Sources Online

Children and Youth

Child Abuse Prevention Network
http://child-abuse.com/
Includes information and many links about child abuse; a free online book, Travels in the trench: Between child welfare theory and practice; information & link to Survivor and Victims Empowered.

ChildStats
http://www.childstats.gov/
Provides easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. Reports of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics include America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, the annual Federal monitoring report on the status of the Nation's children, and Nurturing Fatherhood.

CWLA National Data Analysis System
http://ndas.cwla.org/
NDAS is the most comprehensive collection of child welfare data available, comprising the states’ information regarding child welfare issues. Includes tables and text, “State Summaries,” and links to the states’ child welfare agencies and related internet sites.

National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
http://www.ndacan.cornell.edu/
Searchable datasets from national surveys and other research on child maltreatment; valuable for secondary analyses.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
http://www.childwelfare.gov/index.cfm
Formerly the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse, Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. "Publications search" provides indexing for the agency's publications; "Library Search" indexes more publications, and supersedes the former Child Abuse and Neglect database.

Death and Dying

Association for Death Education and Counseling
http://www.adec.org/
A multi-disciplinary professional organization dedicated to promoting excellence in death education, bereavement counseling, and care of the dying. Based on theory and quality research, ADEC provides information, support, and resources. to its multicultural membership and the public. Site includes catalog of learning materials, extensive links.

Growth House
http://www.growthhouse.org/
international gateway to resources for life-threatening illness and end of life care, providing information and search engine for issues such as death with dignity, hospice, palliative care, bereavement, thanatology resources, natal and infant loss, helping children with grief and serious illness..

National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization
http://www.nhpco.org/
NHPCO is the largest nonprofit membership organization representing hospice and palliative care programs and professionals in the United States. Site provides research information and statistics, information on the Children's International Project on Palliative/Hospice Services, a directory of hospice programs, and links to other grief related organizations and literature.

National Hospice Foundation
http://www.hospiceinfo.org/
A research and educational affiliate of the NHPCO, the Foundation’s site provides three consumer brochures on hospice, and information on the three-year Public Engagement Campaign for Hospice Care.

Ethics

Center for Bioethics
http://www.med.upenn.edu/bioethics/
LINKS to issues: abortion, AIDS, Bioethics, health

Ethics - Nursing Ethics Network (NEN)
http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/son/ethics/nen.html
LINKS to purposes and functions of NEN, advisory board, on-line inquiries & ethics research reports.

Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
http://www.scu.edu/Ethics/homepage.shtml
LINKS to Nursing ethics topics, dialogue, publications, ethical links…

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL)
http://www.georgetown.edu/research/nrcbl/
LINKS to Bibliographic Resources, Library Resources, BIOETHICSLINE, and other Internet sites.

Florida

MyFlorida.com
http://fcn.state.fl.us/myflorida/home.html
Searchable website for citizens of Florida. Includes information and links to Florida state agencies, e.g.: Department of Children & Families, Dept. of Corrections, Dept. of Elder Affairs, Dept. of Juvenile Justice, Dept. of Veterans Affairs, etc. Includes searchable archive of Executive Orders

Online Sunshine
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Welcome/index.cfm
Official, searchable site of the Florida Legislature, with online full-text of bills and related documents from the current legislative session.

Gerontology

Elder abuse sites
http://www.aoa.dhhs.gov/aoa/webres/abuse.htm
LINKS to national, state and international programs and resources on elder abuse...

ElderWeb
http://www.elderweb.com/
Online Eldercare Sourcebook.

Geronet at UCLA
http://www.geronet.med.ucla.edu/index.htm
LINKS to research and other resources on aging and gerontology.

Gerontology - Aging and Mental Health (USF site)
http://www.fmhi.usf.edu/amh/statement.html
LINKS to research, education, publications other internet sites, & Journal of Mental Health and Aging.

Gerontology Manual
http://otpt.ups.edu/Gerontological_Resources/Gerontology_Manual/home.html
LINKS to geriatric demographics, disability statistics, poverty, life expectancy, theories of aging, dementia, memory loss, confusion, disorientation, nutrition…

Geroweb at the Institute of Gerontology of Wayne State University.
http://www.iog.wayne.edu/IOGlinks.html
Searchable collection of links for gerontology, geriatrics, the process of aging, services for the elderly, or the concerns of senior citizens in general.

National Aging Information Center of the U.S. Administration on Aging
http://www.aoa.dhhs.gov/NAIC/Notes/default.htm
Aging Internet Information Notes cover more than 60 aging topics. Each “Note” begins with a brief description of the subject area, followed by web pages with hyperlinks organized by public interest subtopic or intended audience. An effort is made to include sites with information useful to consumers, policy planners, program development staff, state service providers, professionals working with older adults, students, teachers and researchers, media and business.

Online Statistical Data on the Aging organized by the Administration on Aging
http://www.aoa.dhhs.gov/aoa/STATS/statlink.html
Hyperlinks to online documents and data sources.

Health

Health Advocacy Bulletin
http://www.slc.edu/~health/index.htm
The graduate program in Health Advocacy at Sarah Lawrence College, prepares professionals as “patient representatives and administrators, on ethics committees and medical policy boards, at hospitals and consumer health agencies, helping to find innovative ways to improve the delivery of health services.” Site provides text of their Bulletin, and many links to health advocacy organizations.

HealthWeb
http://healthweb.org/subjABC.html
SEARCH & LINKS to evaluated information resources on a wide variety of broad & specific medical topics.

Medical Dictionary
http://www.MedicineNet.com/Art.asp?li=MNI&ag=Y&ArticleKey=518
Medical terms in simple language.

Medicine Net
http://www.MedicineNet.com/hp.asp?li=MNI
LINKS to Diseases & treatments - tests & procedures, pharmacy/drugs - RX & OTC, medical dictionary, first aid/emergencies, Poison Control Centers, medical news archives, Health Fact Archives.

Merriam Webster Medical Dictionary
http://www.intelihealth.com/IH/ihtIH?t=9276&p=~br,IHW|~st,408|~r,WSIHW000|~b,*|

Psychiatry and Neurology, a glossary of terms in the field
http://www.abess.com/glossary.html

Telemedicine Glossary
http://www.hscsyr.edu/~telemed/glossary.html
Abbreviations, definitions and other links

Mental Health

MedWeb ; Mental Health, Psychiatry, Psychology
http://www.medweb.emory.edu/MedWeb/
MedWeb is a keyword searchable meta site of biomedical and health related web sites maintained by the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library at Emory University. MedWeb's primary audience is the academic and research community.

Mental Health: A Report of the Surgeon General. 1999.
http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/mentalhealth/home.html
A report of almost 500 pages that asserts that mental illness is a critical public health problem that must be addressed by the Nation.

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
http://www.nimh.nih.gov/
NIMH, “the leading federal agency for research on mental and behavioral disorders.” NIMH sets priorities for the nation’s federally sponsored research agenda, and awards grants and contracts for biomedical research on the mind, brain and behavior. The site provides the full picture of federal research processes and efforts regarding mental health. It provides directory information for the Institute, employment opportunities, and organizational detail. Important documents, mostly in PDF, on the re-organization and priorities of NIMH programs, funding opportunities, and information for grant applicants are found through in the Research section. Included is the Surgeon General’s Report on Mental Health, and National Advisory Mental Health Council reports. “Health Information” covers signs and symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments for the most prevalent mental disorders. Included are free educational materials, some in Spanish. Under “highlights” and special reports, valuable papers are in full-text, such as on antidepressants for children and male depression. Informative sections on children, older adults, and suicide prevention have useful documents and links.

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP). U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/
A database of voluntarily contributed interventions for the prevention and treatment of substance abuse and mental disorders. While not an authoritative list, it provides examples of programs, describing goals, target population, outcomes, related publications, materials and websites. The database is searchable via topical area, age of target population. rural/urban locale, etc.