Online databases listed here are the most specific for this discipline. More than 300 databases are available to FGCU affiliates from the Online Databases page. To determine if a particular journal issue is available online, see the E-Journals portal.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts covers issues related to health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Indexes and abstracts over 650 journals from 16 different countries, including UK and US from 1987 to present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
JSTOR indexes and provides full text of back issues of 13 major sociology journals, some dating back to 1927.
Social Sciences Full Text contains periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Indexes over 625 periodicals of which 215 are in full text.
Sociological Abstracts Indexes 2600+ publications in sociology and related disciplines from 1952.
SocINDEX with Full Text features a sociology-specific thesaurus and contains full text articles from 344 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.
[Top of Page]
Additional databases useful for topics in the broad discipline of Sociology
Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost) is the world’s largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
Academic One (Gale)
contains peer-reviewed, manyfull-text articles in the areas of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature from over 8000 academic journals.
LexisNexis Academic covers U.S. and world news and events from international, U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts and contains business, legal, and medical journal collection. Includes the following federal, state & international legal materials: Federal code, U.S. Constitution & court rules, Federal regulations, agency opinions & US Attorney General Opinions, federal and state case law and legal articles. Coverage: the last twenty years.
LexisNexis Statistical indexes statistical sources from U.S. federal and state governments, private industries and international organizations. Provides abstracts and selected full-text and hyperlinks to many US Documents.
OmniFile (WilsonWeb) – Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social SciencesFullText, and Wilson Business Full Text.
Proquest Research Library indexes approximately 3,870 titles—over 2,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Access World News (Newsbank) Comprehensive full-text news resource consisting of more than 500 regional, national and international newspaper and newswire sources. Contains numerous Florida newspapers and includes the News Press and the Naples Daily News from 1999 to present.
Related Databases
ATLA Religion Database indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion and features articles written in 36 languages. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and numerous language groups are included.
Chicano Database is“ a comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.”
Contemporary Womens Issues contains articles from interdisciplinary scholarly journals, and other publications on global women's issues related to sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights.
Ethnic Newswatch Complete is a full-text collection of news, cultural and historical topics from over 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Has an English and a Spanish version. Covers 1990 to date.
GenderWatch contains "a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure." Some items back to 1970.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Indexes scholarly journals and other publications in criminology and related disciplines.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an educational resource that also indexes published and unpublished sources on many psychological topics, including learning, motivation, educational psychology, personality, etc. Many ERIC documents are available online from 1993 to the present.
Philosopher Index “provides indexing and abstracts from books and more than 550 journals in philosophy from 1940 to the present. Areas covered include ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysical logic, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.”
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychology Association, covers scholarly literature in the broad discipline of psychology from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages. It includes original research and journal article citations, literature reviews, reports of surveys, case studies, theoretical discussions, bibliographies, and descriptions of tests and apparatus. Coverage is from 1887 to date.
ProQuest Medical Library provides full-text articles for more than 200 key medical titles. Offers coverage of all the major healthcare specialties, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, and others.
PubMed is the premier medical database of the National Library of Medicine. It contains some citations from MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE from 1966 to date.
ProQuest Psychology Journals indexes more than 575 journals in psychology and related fields, over 485 arein full text. Coverage begins in 1971 for some titles.
ProQuest Religion contains comprehensive collection of journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies. Coverage: 1986 - present
PsycARTICLES is a full-text database of 55 psychology journals from the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. It contains all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from these journals. Coverage for some titles begins as early as 1985.
Books & E-Books
netLibrary offers over 22,000 reference scholarly, and professional electronic books Contains several Psychology reference books such as Handbook of Psychology.
WorldCat The world's most comprehensive library catalog. Lists over 56 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Represents over 400 languages and covers information from 4,000 years of knowledge.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Contains major reference works and includes Countries and Their Cultures, Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook 2004, Dictionary of American History, Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, Encyclopedia of Education , Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America, Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide, Major Acts of Congress, Social Trends and Indicators USA, West's Encyclopedia of American Law, World Press Encyclopedia, Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.
[Top of Page]
ReThe Library uses LC classification to organize materials. Here is a brief outline of sections pertaining to Sociology. Many books that pertain to sociology will be found in the H section of the library. For example,
HM - General Sociology
HN - Social History, Problems, and Reform
HQ - Family, Marriage, Women
HS - Societies and Clubs
HT - Cities, Communities, Races
HV - Social Service, Welfare, Criminology
HX - Socialism, Communism, Utopias, Anarchism etc.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS (SPECIALIZED)
American Decades / Ref E169.12 .A419 1994 Also Online
The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology / Ref HM251 .B476 1995
Encyclopedia of anthropology. Ref GN11 .E63 2006
Encyclopedia of children and childhood: in history and society /Ref HQ767.84 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of education and human development /Ref LB15 .E473 2005
Encyclopedia of multiculturalism / Ref E184.A1 E58 1994
Encyclopedia of sociology / Ref HM425 .E5 2000
Encyclopedia of social theory / Ref HM425 .E46 2006
Encyclopedia of violence, peace & conflict / Ref HM291 .E625 1999
Encyclopedia of women and gender / Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001
Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America Detroit:Gale Group. Ref E 184.A1 G15 1999
International Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Education. Ref LC 191 .I49
International encyclopedia of marriage and the family / Ref HQ9 .E52 2002
International encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences / Ref H 41 .I58 2001
Oxford illustrated encyclopedia of peoples and cultures / Ref GN 11.O94 1992
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy / Ref B51 .R68 1998
The social science encyclopedia / Ref H 41 .S63 1999
Survey of social science. Sociology series (Magill) Ref HM17 .S86 1994
E-Reference Books
American decades highlights events from the 20th Century
Child development
Cities of the world : a compilation of current information on cultural, geographical, and political conditions in the countries and cities of six continents, based on the Department of State's "Post reports"c2002.
Countries and their cultures / 2001
Countries of the world and their leaders yearbook 2004
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history: the Black experience in the Americas / 2nd 2006
Encyclopedia of Black studies / Sage Publications, c2005.
Encyclopedia of education / 2nd ed. c2003.
Encyclopedia of food and culture / Scribner, c2003.
Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America / 2nd ed. Gale Group, c2000.
Encyclopedia of human geography/ Sage Publications, c2006.
Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology/ SAGE Publications, c2006.
Encyclopedia of philosophy / 2nd ed. Macmillan Reference USA, c2006.
Encyclopedia of world poverty /Sage Publications, c2006.
Environmental issues: essential primary sources / Thomson Gale, c2006.
Family in society: essential primary sources / Thomson Gale, c2006.
Gender issues and sexuality: essential primary sources / Thomson Gale, c2007.
Government, politics, and protest: essential primary sources / Thomson Gale, 2006.
Human and civil rights: essential primary sources / Thomson Gale, c2006.
Immigration and multiculturalism: essential primary sources / Thomson Gale, c2006.
Notable Black American men. Book II/ Thomson Gale, c2007.
St. James encyclopedia of popular culture
Social policy: essential primary sources / Thomson Gale, c2006.
Social trends & indicators USA 2003.
Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations /2004 11th ed. Gale Group, c2004.
SOCIOLOGY OF RELIGION E-BOOKS
Encyclopedia of American religions / 7th ed. Gale, c2003.
Encyclopedia of religion / Macmillan Reference USA, 2005.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world / Pearson Education, 2004.
New Catholic encyclopedia / 2nd ed. Gale, c2003.
DICTIONARIES
The Penguin dictionary of sociology / Ref HM 17 .A23 1994
Dictionary of the social sciences / Ref H 41 .D53 2002
The Blackwell dictionary of sociology: a user’s guide to sociological language / Ref HM 425 .J64 2000
A dictionary of sociology / Ref HM 17 .C66
A world of ideas: a dictionary of important theories, concepts, beliefs, and thinkers / Ref B 41 .R64 1999
The dictionary of critical social sciences / Ref H 41 .Y68 1999
HANDBOOKS
Kipfer, Barbara Ann. (1998).The order of things: how everything in the world is organized—into hierarchies, structures, & pecking orders. New York:Random House. Ref AG 105 .K57
STATISTICS
Dictionary of statistics & methodology: a non-technical guide for the social sciences / Ref HA 17 .V64
Guides to Sociology Research and Writing
Annual Review of Sociology -- Online in numerous sources (from 1950 – present in Academic Search Premier)
Displaying your findings: a practical guide for creating figures, posters and presentations General BF76.8 .N53 2003
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001 & Ref Desk
Concise rules of APA style Ask at Reference Desk BF76.7.C66 2005
ASA (American Sociological Association) Style Guide (2nd ed.). Ref HM 73 .A54
Sociology: a guide to reference and information sources. Ref HM 51 .A29
Social science reference sources : a practical guide.Westport, Conn:Greenwood Press. Ref H61 .L5
Writing with style: APA style for social work. Ref HM586 .S98 2000
The following web sites have been carefully selected for providing reliable information. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources. A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available.
METASITES
Social Sciences Information Gateway
A free Internet resource from the UK provides a wealth of information on sociology, including special topics and populations (gender, the family, elderly, etc.; sport, religion, medicine, etc.). Includes descriptions and online papers on major schools and theories of sociology.
SocioSite
One of the most comprehensive sites for sociology, maintained at the University of Amsterdam, provides hundreds of links fewer than 168 subtopics. Covers over 80 noted sociologists, listing important works and providing some documents in full-text. Also provides links to many data archives, sociology departments, research centers, and professional organizations.
SocioWeb
An independent website with links to many resources for sociology, maintained by Mark Blair.
INEQUALITY AND POVERTY
Changing America: Indicators of Social and Economic Well-being by Race and Hispanic Origin
http://www.access.gpo.gov/eop/ca/index.html
This chart book documents current differences in well-being by race and Hispanic origin and describes how such differences have evolved over the past several decades. Prepared by the U.S. Council of Economic Advisors in September 1998.
Institute for Research on Poverty
http://www.ssc.wisc.edu/irp/
A national research center on the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States, housed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Sponsors and disseminates original research through publications conferences and workshops. Online full-text publications include its newsletter, Focus, Discussion Papers of ongoing research and Special Reports.
ORGANIZATIONS
Association for Humanist Sociology
http://www.humanistsoc.org/
An organization that grew from disenchantment with mainstream sociology, AHS' website maintains a listserv devoted to humanist values. The association is concerned with issues of "real life" problems: peace, equality, and social justice.
American Sociological Association
http://www.asanet.org/
The American Sociological Association (ASA), founded in 1905, is the association for sociologists and academics in the scientific discipline. Included are the association's Code of Ethics, descriptions and links to major social surveys including the General Social Survey, the National Survey of Families and Households, the National Nursing Home Survey, etc.; and to agencies and sources providing social statistics.
Eastern Sociological Association
http://www.essnet.org/
The Eastern Sociological Society is a regional nonprofit organization for sociological scholarship and instruction. The ESS sponsors a professional journal (Sociological Forum) and their website has web links in addition to society and employment information.
International Sociological Association
http://www.ucm.es/info/isa/
A non-profit association for scientific purposes, te ISA was founded in 1949 under the auspices of UNESCO to promote exchange, education, and research concerning sociology. Site contains a rank-ordered list of the world's most influential sociology books.
Mid-South Sociological Association
http://www.midsouthsoc.org/
A regional, membership association for sociological interests. Site includes interesting links under categories such as social issues, family, and child development.
National Association of Social Workers
http://www.naswdc.org/
The largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world. Site includes the NASW Code of Ethics and statements of professional standards.
National Council for the Social Studies
http://www.socialstudies.org/
"NCSS serves as an umbrella organization for elementary, secondary, and college teachers of history, geography, economics, political science, sociology, psychology, anthropology, and law-related education. Provides information on social studies curriculum materials for K-12 and higher education, " and comprehensive lists of notable social studies books for young people.
National Science Foundation’s Sociology Program
http://www.nsf.gov/funding/pgm_summ.jsp?pims_id=5369&org=SES&from=home
Information on grants and awards for research in “human social organization, demography, and processes of individual and institutional change. Includes abstracts of ongoing grant-supported research and some full-text reports, describing programs and grants, in the Online Document System.
Pacific Sociological Association
http://www.csus.edu/psa/
A regional professional association of sociologists for the western region of the United States and Canada.: publishes a newsletter, The Pacific Sociologist, and a journal, Sociological Perspectives. A special issue of the journal, the Academy Under Siege, is available in full-text.
Rural Sociological Society
http://ruralsociology.org/
The Rural Sociological Society is a professional social science association concerns the quality of rural life, communities and the environment. It publishes the journals, Rural Sociologist and Rural Sociology. A section of the website for students describes rural sociology and discusses careers and graduate work in the subdiscipline.
Society for Applied Sociology
http://www.appliedsoc.org/
Provides a forum for sociologists and others interested in applying sociological knowledge. Enhances understanding of the interrelationship between sociological knowledge and sociological practice. Site includes links to resources for methods in evaluation and social research.
Southern Sociological Society
http://www.msstate.edu/org/sss/
The Society, a membership organization with a student rate, publishes Southern Sociologist (the society newsletter) and Social Forces.A recent issue of the newsletter is provided in full-text.
Southwestern Sociological Association
http://www.cas.ucf.edu/soc_anthro/SSA/
The Association publishes the peer-reviewed Social Sciences Quarterly. Site contains association information only.
Sociologists for Women in Society
http://socwomen.org/
An organization of almost 1000 social scientists fostering social equality for women.
RACIAL, ETHNIC AND CULTURAL STUDIES
African American Odyssey
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/aohome.html
Part of the Library of Congress’ American Memory Project, this browsable online exhibition portrays the Library’s vast collections on African American History, providing excerpts of over 240 items in the collection. Organized into nine sections, the site is an important resource for students’ and scholars’ research, illustrating and documenting African American history from the slave trade to the Civil Rights era.
National Association for Ethnic Studies, Inc.
http://www.ethnicstudies.org/
NAES is a membership organization to promote scholarship and activities about ethnic studies. Their site includes a section of links to Internet resources useful for ethnic studies including academic programs and research centers.
Race and Ethnicity Pages
http://www.trinity.edu/~mkearl/race.html
Part of M. Kearl’s Sociological Tour through Cyberspace, this section provides a useful overview of the concept of racial or ethnic minority in the United States, followed by links to historical documents, public sites and academic resources on racial integration and racial stereotypes. Valuable resources and links about African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, Native Americans, and Arab Americans are incorporated.
Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture
http://www.nypl.org/research/sc/sc.html
The Schomberg Center is a national research center for the study of peoples of African descent across the world. One of the research libraries of the New York Public Library system, the collections comprise the premier source for African studies. In addition to descriptions of the various collections, the website provides some digital collections: African American Women Writers of the Nineteenth Century, Images of African Americans from the 19th Century, and a Bibliography of Afro-Cuban Culture; and three online exhibitions. Also included are descriptions of specialized databases and Internet resources.
STATISTICS SOURCES
ChildStats
http://www.childstats.gov/
Provides easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. Reports of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics include America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, the annual Federal monitoring report on the status of the Nation's children, and Nurturing Fatherhood.
CWLA National Data Analysis System
http://ndas.cwla.org/
NDAS, by the Child Welfare League of America, is the most comprehensive collection of child welfare data available, comprising the states’ information regarding child welfare issues. Includes tables and text, “State Summaries,” and links to the states’ child welfare agencies and related internet sites
FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov/
Provides indexing and access to statistics of 70 U.S. federal agencies. Arranged in 400 topical areas for browsing, and contains a keyword search feature.
General Social Survey
http://www.soc.qc.edu/QC_Software/GSS.html
The GSS (General Social Survey) is large personal interview survey of U.S. households conducted by the National Opinion Research Center (NORC), usually annually. The first survey was done in 1972 with more than 38,000 respondents since 1972, answering over 3,260 different questions. The data sets are designed to be used by general users. This site includes an index to the topics surveyed, and downloadable zip files of each year’s survey.
LexisNexis Statistical (FGCU only) indexes statistical sources from U.S. federal and state governments, private industries and international organizations. Includes “power tables,” which can be searched separately for quick retrieval of health statistics. Provides abstracts and selected full-text and hyperlinks to may US Documents.
U.S. Census Bureau
Contains census information and access to “State & County Quick Facts”; American FactFinder, with tables and maps for all geographic regions to the block level data; Summary File data 1 and 2; ranking and comparison information to the 1990 census, etc. Includes a free, pdf version of the Statistical Abstract of the United States.
WOMEN’S AND GENDER STUDIES
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
http://www.distinguishedwomen.com/
An individually created site, this has biographies of both famous and little-known women who have made cultural or societal contributions. Includes a name and subject indexes.
Feminist Theory Website
http://www.cddc.vt.edu/feminism/
Has as its goal to provide “research materials and information for students, activists, and scholars interested in women's conditions and struggles around the world.” Organized into fields within feminism, national and ethnic feminisms, and individual feminists, the site is maintained at Virginia Technical University’s Center for Digital Discourse and Culture.
Gender, Race and Ethnicity in Media
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/GenderMedia/
Provides links to many resources on Feminist media, as well as to African Americans and Asian Americans in media.
Women’s Speeches and Gifts of Speech
http://gos.sbc.edu/
Maintained at Sweetbriar College, this useful site indexes and provides text of mostly unpublished, notable speeches by women, usually contemporary women. It does begin with Elizabeth Cady Stanton’s 1848 speech “Declaration of Sentiments and Resolutions “. Most of the texts were obtained from the speakers themselves. Speeches can be searched by speaker name or browsed by year. Female Nobel laureates’ acceptance speeches are being added. Site also has a list of the Top 100 American speeches, by both genders, as judged by leading scholars. Tests of those 100 given by women will be added to this site, such as Barbara Jordan’s keynote speech at the Democratic Convention in 1976.
Women's Studies: A Resource Guide
http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/grd/resguides/women/
An extensive resource guide prepared by the New York Public Library, listing not only books and materials in the New York Public Library, but subject specific periodicals and a comprehensive
[Top of Page]