Library Services


Research Guide for Spanish Language and Literature

Table of Contents

Spanish grammar book cover

eBook available through NetLibrary

Subject Librarian

If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:

Rachel Cooke,
Librarian
Fine and Performing Arts, Languages and Literature, Communication, and Humanities
Phone: 239-590-7606
Email: rcooke@fgcu.edu


Online Databases

Major Full-Text Databases (For Basic Research)

Academic Onefile
Includes over 8,000 academic journals (over 5,300 peer-reviewed), the majority in full-text.

Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Book Review Digest
Retrieve book summaries, bibliographic data, full-text reviews, review excerpts, or basic citations. Entries currently encompass some 1,200,000 reviews covering more than half a million books.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.

JSTOR
Full text of 100+ core research journals in many subject areas.

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.

netLibrary
NetLibrary offers reference, scholarly, and professional electronice books (e-books). Many classic literary works are available full text.

Omnifile
Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.

Proquest Research Library
Includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Specialized Databases

America: History and Life
America: History & Life - covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present.

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of materials in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

ArticleFirst
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
The Biography and Genealogy Master Index is a comprehensive index to more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in over 3400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Biography Index
Biography Index cites biographical articles appearing in any of more than 3,000 periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases, plus select other titles. What's more, some 2,000 current books of individual and collective biography are cited each year, as well as biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.

Chicano Database
The most comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database or Chicano reference. CDB identifies, in one place, all types of material about Chicanos and provides uniform subject access to this constantly growing body of literature. In 1992 CDB expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. CQ Researcher addresses a wide range of topics including legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology.

Essay and General Literature
This unique reference offers precise access to nearly 65,000 essays contained in some 5,300 anthologies and collections -- a wealth of information that might be otherwise hidden away in your library. Some 300 single and multi-author collections are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serials. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film.

Ethnic Newswatch Complete
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories.

Florida Heritage Collection
The Florida Heritage Collection is an ongoing cooperative SUS project to digitize and provide web access to materials broadly representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences. Significant materials have been selected from libraries, archives and special collections departments of the SUS institutions. Thematic areas in this growing collection include Native American and minority populations, exploration and development, tourism, the natural environment, and local and regional interests.

FRANCIS
Contains records from more than 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.

Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (Eureka/RLG)
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings published worldwide.

Historical Abstracts (WHA)
Historical Abstracts - Abstracts and indexes literature covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history,the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450 - present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.

History Resource Center: US
The History Resource Center: U.S. is an integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of teh study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.

MLA Bibliography
Modern Langauge Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides access to more that 1.5 million bibliographic citations form 1963 to the present in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, and film.

Psychological Study of the Arts (PSA)
Psychological Study of the Arts explores literary questions using psychology, often psychoanalytic psychology. Access full-text materials on-line.

Readers Guide Abstracts
Readers' Guide Full Text, Mega Edition offers current events coverage, curriculum support, and quality periodicals research for students, educators, and library patrons. Searchable full text of articles from journals as far back as 1994.

Russian Acad. of Sciences Bibliographies
A unique and rich new source of information for students and specialists in Slavic studies and social sciences about materials published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe.

WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with over 48 million bibliographic records representing over 400 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

[back to top]

 

Reference Materials

Latin American Literature

Argentine novel: an annotated bibliography / REF PQ7697 .L53 1997
Bibliographic guide to Chicana and Latina narrative / GEN PS153.M4 L46 2003
Biographical dictionary of Hispanic literature in the United States : the literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Hispanic writers / REF PQ7420.2 .K3 1989
Cambridge history of Latin American literature / REF PQ7081.A1 C35 1996
Chilean novel: a critical study of secondary sources and a bibliography / REF PQ7997 .R66 1995
Companion to Spanish-American literature / GEN PQ7081 .H353 1999
Dictionary of Mexican literature / REF PQ7106 .D53 1992
Dictionary of twentieth-century Cuban literature / REF PQ7378 .D53 1990
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature / REF PQ7081.A1 E56 1997
Great foreign language writers / REF PN524 .G74 1984
Hispanic literature criticism / REF PQ7081.A1 H573 1994
Latin American writers on gay and lesbian themes: a bio-critical sourcebook / GEN PQ7081.3 .F62 1994
Latin American writers / REFPQ7081.A1 L37 1989
Latina and Latino voices in literature: lives and works / GEN PS153.H56 D39 2003
Masterpieces of Latino literature / REF PQ7081.A1 M29 1994
Modern Latin-American fiction writers. First and second series / REF PQ7082.N7 M55 1992
U.S. Latino literature: a critical guide for students and teachers / GEN PS153.H56 U7 2000

Spanish Language & Grammar

Directo al grano: a complete reference manual for Spanish grammar / GEN PC4112 .G83 2000
History of the Spanish language / GEN PC4101 .P46 2002
La lengua que heredamos : curso de espanol para bilingues / REF PC4112 .M26 1996
Manual de pronunciacion espanola / REF PC4136 .N4 1991
New reference grammar of modern Spanish / REF PC4112 .B88 1994
Spanish language today / GEN PC4087 .S84 1999
Spanish second language acquisition: state of the science / GEN PC4127.8 .S63 2003
Writer's reference guide to Spanish / REF PC4410 .F68 1999

Spanish Literature

Castilian writers, 1400-1500 / REF PN451 .D54 v. 286
Dictionary of Spanish literature / REF PQ6006 .N4
Feminist encyclopedia of Spanish literature / REF PQ6055 .F46 2002
Guide to reference works for the study of the Spanish language and literature and Spanish American literature / REF Z2695.A2 W66 1997
Modern Spanish and Portuguese literatures / REF PQ6072 .M57 1988
New history of Spanish writing, 1939 to the 1990s / GEN PQ6072 .N49 2000
Oxford companion to Spanish literature / REF PQ6006 .O95
Oxford companion to Spanish literature [in Spanish] / REF PQ6006 .O9518 1984
Spanish American women writers: a bio-bibliographical source book / REF PQ7081 .S63 1990
Spanish literature. 1700 to the present / GEN PQ6072 .S735 2001
Spanish women writers: a bio-bibliographical source book / REF PQ6055 .S63 1993

Spanish-English Dictionaries

American heritage Spanish dictionary: Spanish/English, Inglés/Español / REF PC4640 .A47 2001
Collins Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionary: unabridged / REF PC4640 .S595 1997
Diccionario Cuyás inglés-español, español-inglés = Cuyás dictionary English-Spanish, Spanish-English / GEN PC4640 .C8 1999
Dictionary of Latin American Spanish phrases and expressions / REF PC4822 .H36 2002
Gran diccionario espanol-ingles = English-Spanish dictionary / REF PC4628 .G38 1993
Merriam-Webster's Spanish-English dictionary / REF PC4640 .M47 1998
Oxford starter Spanish dictionary / GEN PC4640 .O95 2003
Pocket Oxford Spanish dictionary: Spanish-English/English-Spanish = El diccionario Oxford compact:: Español-Inglés/Inglés-Español / GEN PC4640 .P63 2000
Random House Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionary / REF PC4640 .R32 1995
Street Spanish slang dictionary & thesaurus / REF PC4961 .B875 1999
University of Chicago Spanish dictionary: Spanish-English, English-Spanish / REF PC4640 .U5 2002


Spanish-Spanish Dictionaries

Diccionario de la lengua espanola (Real Academia Espanola) / REF PC4625 .A3 1995
Diccionario ideologico de la lengua espanola: desde la idea la palabra, desde la palabra a la idea / REF PC4625 .C37 1992
El pequeno Larousse ilustrado, 1997: en color / REF PC4625 .P47
Vox: diccionario general ilustrado de la lengua espanola / REF PC4625 .V69 1994


 

 

[back to top]

 

Journals

Abaco: estudios sobre literatura española.
PER PQ6001 .A23
Afro-Hispanic review: publication of the Afro-Hispanic Institute.
PER PQ7081.A1 A36
Américas.
PER F1401 .A57
Caribbean studies.
PER F2161 .C29
Críticas: an English speaker's guide to the latest Spanish language titles.
PER Z1035.A1 C75
Hispania.
PER PC4001 .H7
Hispanic American historical review.
PER F1401 .H66
Hispanófila.
PER PQ6001 .H55
Imagine.
PER PS591.M49 I48
Latin American literary review.
PER PQ7081.A1 L35
MLN.
PER PB1 .M6
Puerto del sol.
PER PS580 .P83

Studies in second language acquisition.
PER P118 .S83

 

 

[back to top]

 

Web Resources

General Resources

Diccionarios.com
http://www.diccionarios.com/index.phtml?redirect=true
Online English-Spanish Spanish-English dictionary, as well as Castilian-Catalan Catalan-Castilian.

HispanicOnline.com
http://www.hispaniconline.com/

Latin American Network Information Center
http://lanic.utexas.edu/

Internet Resources for Latin America
http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/bord/laguia/

Centro Virtual Cervantes
http://cvc.cervantes.es/portada.htm

Si Spain
http://www.sispain.org/

La Prensa Latina en Internet
http://www.latinworld.com/special/kiosco.html

Homework Help

Spanish Language Homework Help from About.com
http://spanish.about.com/cs/homeworkhelp/

Quia Spanish
http://www.quia.com/dir/spanish/
Online games and activities for learning Spanish.

Spanish Language & Literature

Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/hispanic/

Spanish Language and Literature at About.com
http://spanish.about.com/

Resources for Spanish Language and Literature
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/central/span.html

Iberian Language and Literature Web
http://www.library.yale.edu/wess/iberianlanglit.html

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
http://www.cervantesvirtual.com/
Extensive digital library of literature in Spanish.

[back to top]