Library Services

Learning Goals Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

 

Research Guide for Goal 1: Aesthetic Sensibility


Online Databases

Art Abstracts
A dependable, comprehensive, and authoritative information source about the world of the arts from architecture to video. Covers 222 leading art publications from around the world and serves as a comprehensive record of art reproductions that appear in the indexed publications.

Arts and Humanities Search
The online equivalent of ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Provides complete access to articles from more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles in over 5,000 social science and science journals.

ARTstore
The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data and tools to actively use those images.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Contains records describing articles in over 1,000 architectural periodicals in the fields of architecture and related disciplines.

AMICO (Art and Museum Images)
Over 65,000 works of art from over 30 leading museums. Works from major European, American, and Canadian artists are included in the Library. Works range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, ancient art, Native American and Inuit art, ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, Japanese and Chinese works, and so much more.

Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.

Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period.The Index describes the entire journal contents - articles, art notes, illustrattions, stories, poems, and advertisements - and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales , decorations, and collecting. The file includes 27,000 records.

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to full-text biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.

MLA Bibliography
Modern Language Association (MLA) International bibliography provides access to more the 1.5 million bibliographic citations from 1963 to the present om academic disciplines such as : language, literature, folklore, linguistics, and film.

Ringling Collection
The Ringling Collection is comprised of cabinet cards, postcards and photographs of 19th Century American and British actors and actresses. The Collection is useful for studying depictions of clothing, hair styles, and other indicators of the period's social mores and attitudes.

Expanded Academic ASAP
ndexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Abstracts are included for some articles. Provides access to ASCII full text of some articles.

Wilson Omni File
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.

Online Journals

American craft. ISSN (0194-8008) Journal of singing. ISSN (1086-7732)
American literature. ISSN (0002-9831) New criterion (New York, N.Y.). ISSN (0734-0222)
American poetry review. ISSN (0360-3709) Opera quarterly. ISSN (0736-0053)
American theatre. ISSN (8750-3255) Poetry (Chicago). ISSN (0032-2032)
Aperture (Millerton, N.Y.). ISSN (0003-6420) Reading & writing. ISSN (0922-4777)
Christianity & literature. ISSN (0148-3331) Sculpture (Washington, D.C.). ISSN (0889-728X)
Callaloo. ISSN (0161-2492) Shoot (New York, N.Y.). ISSN (1074-5297)
Contemporary literature. ISSN (0010-7484) Studio photography & design. ISSN (1097-1181)
Dance magazine. ISSN (0011-6009) Writing (Highland Park, Ill.). ISSN (0279-7208)
Journal of modern literature. ISSN (0022-281X)  

 

 

Web Resources

Art

Metropolitan Museum of Art (N.Y.)
http://www.metmuseum.org/
Features works of art, art history timeline, information on special exihibitions, etc.

Philharmonic Center of the Arts - Naples
http://www.thephil.org/index2.html
Web site for the Naples Philharmonic Orchestra and Naples Museum of Art. Features calendars of events, programs, learning opportunities.

Museum of Art – Fort Lauderdale
http://www.moafl.org/home.htm
The Museum features an ever-changing menu of exhibitions, along with an ambitious education program offering art classes in a variety of media and subjects for all ages and skill levels, and weekly special events ranging from jazz concerts to lectures to yoga lessons.

Dance

Cyberdance – Ballet and Modern Dance on the Net
http://www.cyberdance.org/
CyberDance is an extensive internet dance database containing thousands of links to classical ballet and modern dance resources on the Internet.

Literature

Bartleby.com Great Books Online
http://www.bartleby.com/
Includes thousands of full-text poems, novels, plays, essays, and other works in the public domain, as well as close to 100,000 quotations.

Literature.org - The Online Literature Library
http://www.literature.org/
On this site you will find the full and unabridged texts of classic works of English literature.

Music

Essentials of Music
http://www.essentialsofmusic.com/
Whether you're a casual listener or a serious music student, here's the site for basic information about classical music. Created in cooperation with W.W. Norton & Company, it's built around Essential Classics, the series specially designed to introduce you to the best music of every period. All through the site you'll find almost 200 excerpts from Essential Classics.

American Jazz Heritage
http://www.si.edu/ajazzh/
Presented by the Smithsonian Institution, this site offers a look at jazz through audio clips, photos, publications, descriptions of exhibits, and links to other sites.

EMPLIVE.org – Experience Music Project
http://www.emplive.org/
Site of the Experience Music Project (EMP), a Seattle, Washington music museum that "combin[es] interactive and interpretive exhibits to tell the story of ... American popular music." Includes information on museum exhibits, events, programs, and featured artists; interviews; resources for musicians; and more.

Poetry

Poetry Portal
http://www.poetry-portal.com/
Comprehensive and informative collection of links about poetry online, events, courses, styles, and publishing. The site also covers "ezines, poetry sites, audio poetry, literary appreciation, criticism and reviews, poetry courses, workshops, conferences, book and trade news, literary chit-chat and trade news, plus sources to improve your own writing and get it published."

Poets.org
http://www.poets.org/
Site of the American Academy of Poets. The Academy is a nonprofit organization with a mission to support American poets at all stages of their careers and to foster the appreciation of contemporary poetry. Search for poets and poetry, hear poems in the "Listening Booth," and locate information about National Poetry Month, celebrated every April. Includes news; an index of major poetry publishers, periodicals, and distributors; an events calendar; and tip sheets on setting up programs, events, and classes.

Anthology of the World’s Greatest Love Poetry
http://www.spokenpoetry.co.uk/
Spoken poetry, poetry of the heart, tragic love poems, epic love poems, lovers poems, the nature of love, the power of love, Christian love and spirituality, the deep emotions of life and death, love poems and poetic prose about lovers, partners, children, parents, pets; spiritual poetry about life and death, missing and caring; heaven.

 

[back to top]