Reference Materials
Aitchison, Jean (2003). A glossary of language and mind. New York: Oxford University Press.
REF P37 .A374 2003
Amato, Carol J. (2002). The world's easiest guide to using th APA: a user-friendly manual for formatting research papers according to the American Psychological Association style guide. Corona, CA: Stargazer Pub. Co.
REF BF76.7 .A52 2002
Booher, Diana Daniels (2003). Speak with confidence: powerful presentations that inform, inspire, and persuade. New York; London: McGraw-Hill.
Electronic Collection (search for title in Library catalog and click on link to view)
Burt, Angela (2002). (2nd ed.). The A to Z of correct English. Oxford: How to Books.
Electronic Collection (search for title in Library catalog and click on link to view)
Gardiner, Robert (1997). From talking drums to the Internet: an encyclopedia of communications technology. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO.
REF P96.T42 G374 1997
Gibaldi, Joseph (2003). (6th ed.). MLA handbook for writers of research papers. New York: Modern Language Association of America.
REF LB2369 .G53 2003
Hacker, Diana (2003). (5th ed.). A writer's reference. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's.
REF PE1408 .H2778 2003
Hirsch, Jr. E.D. (Ed.) (2002). (3rd ed.). The new dictionary of cultural literacy. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co.
REF E169.1 .H614 2002
Khan-Panni, Phillip (2002). Stand and deliver: leave them stirred, not shaken. Oxford: Communicators.
Electronic Collection (search for title in Library catalog and click on link to view)
King, Sporty (2001). Public Speaking. Aspatore.
Electronic Collection (search for title in Library catalog and click on link to view)
Leeds, Dorothy (2003). PowerSpeak: engage, inspire, and stimulate your audience. Franklin Lakes, NJ: Career Press.
Electronic Collection (search for title in Library catalog and click on link to view)
Meany, John (2003). On that point!: an introduction to parliamentary debate. New York: International Debate Education Association.
Electronic Collection (search for title in Library catalog and click on link to view)
Peters, Pam (2004). The Cambridge guide to English Usage. Cambridge; NY: Cambridge University Press.
REF PE1464 .P47 2004
Schement, Jorge Reina (Ed.) (2002). Encyclopedia of Communication and information. New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
REF P87.5 .E53 2002
Seglin, Jeffrey L. (2002). (3rd ed.). The AMA handbook of business letters. New York: AMACOM.
REF HF5726 .S42 2002
Shilling, Lilless McPherson and Linda K. Fuller (1997). Dictionary of quotations in communications. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
REF P90 .D488 1997
[back to top]
Online Databases
Education Full Text
Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for research. Coverage includes 87 journals not covered by ERIC's CIJE. High quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1983. Full text of articles from journals as far back as 1996.
Essay and General Literature
This database offers access to nearly 65,000 essays contained in some 5,300 anthologies and collections. Some 300 single and multi-author collections are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serials. Essay & General Literature Index covers a wide range of specialties: Archaeology ; Architecture ; Art ; Children's Literature ; Classical Studies ; Drama ; Economics ; Fiction ; Film ; Folklore ; History ; Linguistics ; Music ; Poetry ; Political Science ; Psychology ; Religion ; Women's Studies.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology. Abstracts are included for some articles as well as selective full-text.
Humanities Abstracts
Long regarded as the ideal single reference for periodical information in the diverse subject area of the humanities, Humanities Abstracts is a wonderful complement to the monographic resources.
InfoTrac OneFile
Includes full-text articles from over 4,900 journals. Indexes total of over 8,500 titles; 2,500+ are refereed. Covers virtually all academic disciplines. From 1980 forward; updated daily.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Literature Resource Center
Includes Contemporary Authors; Dictionary of Literary Biography; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select; Scribner's Writers Series and Twaynes World, US and English authors. Great resource for biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses.
MLA Bibliography
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides access to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations from 1963 to the present in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, and film.
ProQuest Education Journals
Includes over 650 journals indexed and abstracted; 400 in fulltext. Standard and professional education journals. Also includes AIDS education, human development, child abuse, and developmental psychology. Indexing by keyword, author, and journal browse. For some publications, full-text coverage date from 1991 or 1992; full-image coverage, from 1988; and Text+Graphics, from 1996.
Wilson Omni File
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,750 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,500.
[back to top]
Electronic Journals
College composition and communication.
(0010-096X) |
PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America.
(0030-8129) |
Communication quarterly.
(0146-3373) |
Reading & writing.
(0922-4777) |
English language and linguistics.
(1360-6743) |
Sign language studies.
(0302-1475) |
Intercultural communication.
(Open Access Journal) |
Speech communication.
(0167-6393) |
Issues in writing.
(0897-0696) |
Visual communication (London, England).
(1470-3572) |
Journal of basic writing.
(0147-1635) |
Vital speeches of the day.
(0042-742X) |
Language Arts.
(0360-917) |
Written communication.
(0741-0883) |
Language and communication.
(0271-5309) |
Writing (Highland Park, IL).
(0279-7208) |
[back to top]
American Communication Association
http://www.uark.edu/~aca/acastudiescenter.html
The American Communication Association (ACA) is a not-for-profit organization headquarted at the University of Arkansas… created to promote academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication.
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
http://www.americanrhetoric.com/speechbank.htm
THE ONLINE SPEECH BANK is an index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. There are currently [457] active links in this site area. Links are arranged alphabetically by first name and checked for errors at least once every two weeks.
American Sign Language Browser
http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/aslweb/
Michigan State University's ASL Browser web site, an online American Sign Language (ASL) browser where you can look up video of thousands of ASL signs and learn interesting things about them.
Communications Studies Resources
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/
A directory of web resources related to media, culture ethnicity and mass communication, compiled by University of Iowa Communications Studies Department.
Environmental Communication Network
http://www.esf.edu/ecn/
The Environmental Communication Network is a network of scholars and activists concerned with communication issues related to environmental affairs.
Galludet University
http://www.gallaudet.edu/
Web site for acclaimed university offering undergraduate and graduate programs for deaf, hard of hearing and hearing students.
InfoPlease.com
http://www.infoplease.com/homework/
Free reference web site offering a Homework section designed to assist students in developing effective writing, researching, speaking, listening and studying skills.
National Communication Association
http://www.natcom.org/nca/Template2.asp
NCA is a scholarly society and as such works to enhance the research, teaching, and service produced by its members on topics of both intellectual and social significance. Staff at the NCA National Office follow trends in national research, teaching, and service priorities. It both relays those opportunities to its members and represents the academic discipline of communication in those national efforts.
Public Relations Society of America
http://www.prsa.org/
PRSA is the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals. PRSA’s primary objectives are to advance the standards of the public relations profession and to provide members with professional development opportunities through continuing education programs, information exchange forums and research projects conducted on the national and local levels.
Religious Communication Association (RCA)
http://www.americanrhetoric.com/rca/index.html
The RCA is an academic society founded in 1973 by people interested in the study of all aspects of public religious communication. It is nonsectarian, striving to provide a setting in which persons of various faiths, or no faith, can study the problems of communication and religion. As an interfaith scholarly and professional organization, RCA seeks to promote honest, respectful and profound dialogue which reflects the diversity of religious beliefs, subject matter concerns, methodologies, and professions of its members.
Southern States Communication Association
http://ssca.net/
Our purpose is to promote the study, criticism, research, teaching, and application of the artistic, humanistic, and scientific principles of communication. SSCA, a not-for-profit organization, exists for educational, scientific, and literary purposes only.
Toastmasters International
http://www.toastmasters.org/
Toastmasters International helps men and women learn the arts of speaking, listening and thinking – vital skills that promote self-actualization, enhance leadership, foster human understanding, and contribute to the betterment of mankind. Through its member Clubs, the organization strives to help people throughout the world improve their communication and leadership skills.