Library Services

Learning Goals Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

 

Research Guide for Goal 9: Community Awareness and Involvement


Online Databases

CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. CQ Researcher addresses a wide range of topics including legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology. Coverage is from 1991 to the present.

Consumers Index

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
CJPI on ProQuest® provides cover-to-cover (full text) access for 45 criminal justice journals frequently consulted by professionals, plus complete abstracts for over 150 additional titles. Publications in CJPI focus primarily on practical issues in crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, police issues, and courtroom procedures, but users will find a number of highly respected theoretical journals as well.

Ecology Abstracts
Ecologists will find in this journal the essence of current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms.

EIS: Digests of Environ. Impact Statements
The federal government issues hundreds of environmental impact statements each year - and this one resource provides detailed abstracts of all of those statements, also indexing them for easy reference.

FactSearch
Based on the printed publication, A Matter of Fact. The information comes from over 300 publications--including newspapers, periodicals, the congressional hearings.

Florida Environments Online (FEOL)
The core of Florida Environments Online database consists of eight merged research bibliographies including 1) Florida Ecosystems 2) Florida Ornithology, 3) Fishes of Florida, 4) Florida Herpetology, 5) Florida Geology, 6) Bibliography of Literature Useful to the Study of Florida Plants - and the Herbarium Library of Books and Reprints, 7) Florida FreshWater Bibliography, and 8) Florida Agricultural History.

LexisNexis Academic
Extensive coverage of U.S. and world news articles covering social, economic, environmental, government, sports, the arts, people, health and science issues and events from international, U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts. Has business, legal, and medical collections of periodicals, also. Searchable full text federal, state & international legal materials: Federal code, U.S. Constitution & court rules, Federal regulations, agency opinions & US Attorney General Opinions, federal and state case law and legal articles. Coverage: the last twenty years.

PAIS International
Materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains bibliographic citations, many of which include abstracts. Includes references to conference proceedings, economic issues, government documents, political issues, public affairs, social issues, statistical directories, etc.

Proquest Newspapers
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Coverage of several major U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Christian Science Monitor.

Social Work Abstracts
Covers more than 450 journals in social work including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Includes the National Association of Social Workers' Register of Clinical Social Workers. Indexing and abstracts from 1977 to date.

Wilson Omni File
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,750 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,500.

[back to top]

Web Resources

101 Ideas for Combining Service and Learning
http://www.fiu.edu/~time4chg/Library/ideas.html
Florida International University offers list of suggestions for fulfilling service learning obligations through projects related to your discipline of study.

Americorp – a program of the Corporation for National Service
http://www.americorps.org/
AmeriCorps is a network of local, state, and national service programs that connects more than 70,000 Americans each year in intensive service to meet our country’s critical needs in education, public safety, health, and the environment. AmeriCorps members serve with more than 3,000 nonprofits, public agencies, and faith-based and community organizations. throughout America Site provides information on programs, training and service opportunities.

City Year, Inc.
http://www.cityyear.org/
An Americorps member organization, City Year unites young people of all backgrounds, ages 17-24, for a demanding year of community service and leadership development in 16 U.S communities and Johannesburg, South Africa. City Year has been built on the belief that one person can make a difference, and with the vision that one day service will be a common expectation - and a real opportunity - for citizens all around the world.

FGCU Service Learning
http://www.fgcu.edu/connect/
Service learning facilitates an appreciation for the interconnectedness of individuals, the communities in which they live, and the resources required to sustain both. This web site provides FGCU students will all relevant information about service learning requirements and opportunities.

FGCU – Office of Student Activities
http://studentservices.fgcu.edu/Studentlife/
The Office of Student Activities supports programs which encourage a sense of community and concept of total student development. It is committed to providing an environment conducive to personal, cultural, social, ethical, emotional, recreational, spiritual and organizational development through co-curricular involvement.

Florida Campus Compact
http://www.floridacompact.org/
Campus Compact, a national organization that promotes learning through service that develops students' citizenship skills and values, encourages collaborative partnerships between campuses and communities and assists faculty who seek to integrate public and community engagement into their teaching and research Florida Campus Compact is a part of a growing number of higher education institutions in Florida, comprised of State Universities, Community Colleges and Independent Colleges and Universities FCC works with these campuses to integrate service with academic study and provide a collegial experience for inter-campus and community collaborations.

International Partnership for Service-Learning and Leadership
http://www.ipsl.org/organization/organization.html
The International Partnership for Service-Learning and Leadership, founded in 1982, is a not-for-profit educational organization incorporated in New York State serving students, colleges, universities, service agencies and related organizations around the world by fostering programs that link volunteer service to the community and academic study.

Peace Corps
http://www.peacecorps.gov/
Collaborating with local community members, American volunteers from all walks of life work in areas like education, youth outreach and community development, the environment, and information technology. Serving in 72 countries around the world. Site provides history of the organization, updates on projects and programs and information on how to apply for service.

 

 

[back to top]