Library Services

Learning Goals Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

 

Research Guide for Goal 3: Ecological Perspective


Subject Headings

Air pollution Environmental justice
Atmosphere Environmental policy
Ecology Environmental protection—Citizen participation
Ecology--Dictionaries Environmental responsibility
Ecology -- Florida Household ecology
Ecology -- Government policy—United States Human ecology
Ecology in art Marine resources
Ecology in literature Natural areas-- Florida
Ecology -- Moral and ethical aspects Natural areas-- Interpretive programs
Ecology -- Periodicals Nature conservation
Ecology -- Political aspects Ocean
Ecology -- Religious aspects – Christianity Outdoor life--encyclopedias
Ecology -- Research – Methodology Reclamation of land
Ecology -- Social aspects – North America Restoration ecology
Ecology – Study and Teaching – United States Soil conservation
Ecosystems Sustainable development
Endangered ecosystems United States Environmental Protection Agency
Endangered species Water conservation-- environmental aspects
Energy conservation Water conservation-- law and legislation- Florida
Environmental education Wildfires

 

 

[back to top]

 

Reference Materials

Dictionaries

Dictionary of environmental science. New York: McGraw-Hill.
REF GE10 .M378 2003

Ryan, Mark A. (Ed.) (2003). The Clean Water Act Handbook. Chicago, IL: Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources, American Bar Association.
REF KF3790 .C545 2003

Directories

Smith, Darren L. and Penny J. Hoffman (Eds.) (2004). (4th ed.). Parks Directory of the United States. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics.
REF E160 .S65 2004

Encyclopedias

Douglas, Ian; Richard Hugget, and Mike Robinson (Eds.) (1996). Companion encyclopedia of geography: the environment and humankind. London; New York: Routledge.
REF G116 .C645 1996

Goudie, Andrew S. (Ed. in chief) (2002). Encyclopedia of global change: environmental change and human society. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press.
REF GE149 .E47 2002

Grizmek's animal life encyclopedia, (2nd ed.). 2002. Detroit, MI: Gale.
REF Ql7 .G7813 2003

Krech, Shepard III, J.R. McNeill and Carolyn Merchant (Eds. (2004). Encyclopedia of World Environmental history. New York: Routledge.
REF GF10 .E63 2004

Handbooks

Koren, Herman and Michael Bisesi (2003). (4th ed.). Handbook of environmental health. Boca Raton, FL: Lewis Publishers.
REF RA565 .K67 2003

Post, Stephen G. (1999). Bioethics for students: how do we know what's right?: issues in medicine, animal rights, and the environment. New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
REF R724 .B4825 1999

Reading, Richard P. and Brian Miller (Eds.) (2000). Endangered animals: a reference guide to conflicting issues. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
REF QL82 .E55 2000

World resources 2000-2001: people and ecosystems , the fraying web of life (2000). Washington, DC: World Resources Institute.
REF RA565 .W67 2000

Indexes

Matthews, John A. (Ed.) (2001). The encyclopaedic dictionary of environmental change. London: Arnold; New York: Oxford University Press.
REF GE10 .E534 2001

Prescott-Allen, Robert (2001). The wellbeing of nations: a country-by-country index of quality of life and the environment. Washington, DC: Island Press.
REF GE140 .P74 2001

Roberts, Jerry (1999). Rain forest bibliography: an annotated guide on over 1600 nonfiction books about Central and South American Jungles. Jefferson, NC: McFarland.
REF QH86 .R63 1999

Thompson, Roger and J. Scott Bryson (Eds.) (2003). Twentieth-century American nature writers: prose. Detroit, MI: Gale Group.
REF PN451 .D54 v.275

[back to top]

 

 

Online Databases

AccessScience
Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, over 2,100 science biographies, news stories from Science News, and McGraw-Hill science editors' selected websites for further research.

Agricultural & Environmental Biotech Abs.
The journal covers agricultural products involving both plants and animals, new applications across the food industry, and wide-ranging environmental developments.

Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
Because of increasing global concern over the consequences of marine and aquatic pollution, a separate volume addressing this subject was added to the ASFA series. ASFA 3 is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems, including biologists, oceanographers, limnologists, environmental engineers and scientists, industrial engineers, waste managers, corporate regulatory affairs managers, and government officials.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
The premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS).

EIS: Digests of Environ. Impact Statements
The federal government issues hundreds of environmental impact statements each year - and this one resource provides detailed abstracts of all of those statements, also indexing them for easy reference. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Mgmt.
The database deals with issues arising from the conflict between the ever-increasing population of the Earth and the Earth's limited environmental and natural resources. …Explores human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals.

General Science Full Text
Designed specifically for students and non-specialists, This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information. Covers a full range of topics: Astronomy ; Atmospheric Science ; Biology ; Botany ; Chemistry ; Conservation ; Earth Science ; Environment ; Food & Nutrition ; Genetics ; Health & Medicine ; Mathematics ; Microbiology ; Oceanography ; Physics ; Physiology ; Zoology.

Pollution Abstracts
This database provides fast access to the environmental information necessary to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations more effectively. Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource.

Science Direct
The Elsevier Science Journals Database is the electronic full text version of approximately 650 of Elsevier's traditional research journals. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines. The journals published by Elsevier Science are among the most authoritative in their respective subject areas.

TOXLINE
TOXLINE on this service offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

[back to top]

Journals

Agriculture, ecosystems & environment.
(0167-8809)
Environmental pollution.
(0269-7491)
Air/water pollution report (1998).
(1098-8041)
Ethics and the environment.
(1085-6633)
Applied Ecology and Environmental Research.
(1589-1623)
Florida environmental compliance update.
(1064-1874)
Archives of environmental health.
(0003-9896)
Global environmental politics.
(1526-3800)
Boston College environmental affairs law review.
(0190-7034)
International journal of environmental health research.
(0960-3123)
Clean water report.
(0009-8620)
Journal of soil and water conservation.
(0022-4561)
Environmental action.
(0013-922X)
Marine pollution bulletin.
(0025-326X)
Environmental and ecological statistics.
(1352-8505)
Natural resources & environment.
(0882-3812)
Environmental economics and policy studies.
(1432-847X)
Population and environment.
(0199-0039)
Environmental health perspectives.
(0091-6765)
Urban ecosystems.
(1083-8155)
Environmental management and health.
(0956-6163)
Water, air, and soil pollution.
(0049-6979)

 

 

[back to top]

 

Web Resources

Envirofacts Data Warehouse- Evironmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/enviro/index_java.html
Single source pointer to environmental issues & data: superfund data, safe drinking water, toxic release inventory, water discharge permits, air releases and more.

National Library for the Environment- National Council for Science and the Environment
http://www.ncseonline.org/NLE
A universal, single-point entry to environmental information and data on enviromental issues.

National Wetlands Research Center- U.S. Geological Survey, Dept. of the Interior
http://www.nwrc.usgs.gov/
News, research, publications, data, educational materials and more.

South Florida Water Management District
http://www.swfwmd.state.fl.us/search/
The mission of the Southwest Florida Water Management District is to manage the water and water-related resources within its boundaries. Central to the mission is maintaining the balance between the water needs of current and future users while protecting and maintaining the natural systems that provide the District with its existing and future water supply.

Greenpeace
http://www.greenpeace.org/international
Greenpeace is a non-profit environmental activist organisation, with a presence in 40 countries across Europe, the Americas, Asia and the Pacific. They have focused their efforts on "worldwide threats to our planet's biodiversity and environment" such as, climate change, the forests, oceans and genetic engineering. Web site offers information, news reports on environmental issues.

Walden Woods Project
http://www.walden.org.index.htm
The Walden Woods Project preserves the land, literature and legacy of Henry David Thoreau to foster an ethic of environmental stewardship and social responsibility. The Project acheives this mission through the integration of conservation, education and research. Web site offers programs, sponsored events and information publicizing conservation efforts.

National Park Service- Grand Canyon
http://www.nps.gov/grca/
Official web site. Provides visitor information as well as geology, ecological status, wildlife presence, and conservation information.

The Earth Institute, Columbia University
http://www.earthinstitute.columbia.edu/
The Institute addresses complex issues facing the planet and its inhabitants, with particular focus on sustainable development and the needs of the world's poor. Provides reports and research information on subjects such as food ecology and nutrition, and climate and society.

 

 

[back to top]