Library Services


Learning Goals Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

 

Research Guide for Goal 5: Ethical Responsibility


The following are sample subject headings that may be used in searching the online library catalog for books, or searching online research databases for articles. These subject terms may also be used in keywords searches.

Subject Headings

Business ethics Ethics-- Study and teaching
Ethics ancient Ethics-- United States-- Case Studies
Ethics clinical Ethics-- United States-- History
Ethics evolutionary Law and ethics
Ethics-- Government policy-- United States Police ethics
Ethics--Great Britain--History Political Ethics
Ethics in literature Professional ethics
Ethics institutional Religion and ethics
Ethics-- Latin America Social sciences and ethics
Ethics medical Work ethic
Ethics-- Methodology Values
Ethics-- Periodicals  

 

Reference Materials

Codes and Standards

AICPA professional Standards.
REF HF5667 .A43

American Occupational Therapy Association. Commission on Standards and Ethics. (1996). 1996 Occupational therapy code of ethics: reference guide. Bethesda, MD: American Occupational Therapy Association.
Ref RM735 .A655 1996

Gorlin, Rena A. (1999). (4th ed.). Codes of professional responsibility: ethic standards in business, health, and law. Washington, DC: Bureau of National Affairs.
REF BJ1725 .c57

Scott, Janie B. (Ed.) (2003). Reference guide to the Occupational Therapy code of ethics. Bethesda, MD: American Occupational Therapy Association.
REF RM735.4 .r44 2003

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Ahia, C. Emmanuel (2003). Legal and ethical dictionary for mental health professionals. Lanham, MD: University Press of America.
REF KF3828 .A934 2003

Becker, Lawrence C. and Charlotte B. Becker (Eds.) (2001). (2nd ed.). Encyclopedia of ethics. New York: Routledge.
REF BJ63 .E45 2001

Encyclopedia of applied ethics. San Diego, CA: Academic Press.
REF BJ63 .E44 1998

Hester, Joseph P. (1996). Encyclopedia of values and ethics. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO.
REF BJ63 .H47 1996

Post, Stephen G. (Ed.) (2004). (3rd ed.). Encyclopedia of bioethics. New York: Macmillan Reference USA: Thomson Gale.
REF QH332 .E52 2004

Werhane, Patricia H. and R. Edward Freeman (Eds.) (1998). The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of business ethics. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Business.
REF HF5387 .B55 1998

Other Reference Works

(2001). (10th ed.). Graphic Artists Guild Handbook: pricing and ethical guidelines. New York: The Guild.
REF NC1001.6 .G7 2001

Jonsen, Albert R., Robert M. Veatch, and LeRoy Walters (Eds.) (1998). Source book in bioethics. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Press.
REF R724 .S599 1998

Kapp, Marshall B. (1995). Key words in ethics, law, and aging: a guide to contemporary usage. New York: Springer Pub. Co..
REF HQ1061 .K3525 1995

Post, Stephen G. (Ed.) (1999). Bioethics for students: how do we know what's right?: issues in medicine, animal rights, and the environment. New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
REF R724 .B4825 1999

 

[back to top]

 

Online Databases

The following are a few suggested online research databases most likely to have full-text articles, book reviews, and citations for books and articles on the subject of ethics. Select "Online Databases" from the Library Home Page to see a full list of research databases.

ATLA Religion Database
A comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry projects from ATLA's print indexes.

Academic Search Complete
This research database includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc

Social Sciences Full Text
Access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. A resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the lastest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. High quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1983.

OmniFile Full Text Mega (Wilson Web)
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content- indexing, abstracts, and full-text from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.

[back to top]

Online Journals

Business Ethics Quarterly.
ISSN (1052-150X)
Journal of Business Ethics.
ISSN (0167-4544)
Criminal Justice Ethics.
ISSN (0731-129X)
Journal of Ethics.
ISSN (1382-4554)
Ethical Theory and Moral Practice.
ISSN (1386-2820)
Journal of Information Ethics.
ISSN (1061-9321)
Ethics.
ISSN (0014-1704)
Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics.
ISSN (1073-1105)
Ethics & International Affairs.
ISSN (0892-6794)
Journal of Medical Ethics.
ISSN (0306-6800)
Ethics and Information Technology.
ISSN (1388-1957)
Journal of Moral Education.
ISSN (0305-7240)
Ethics and the Environment.
ISSN (1085-6633)
Journal of Power and Ethics.
ISSN (1523-973X)
Georgetown Journal of Legal Ethics.
ISSN (1041-5548)
Journal of Religious Ethics.
ISSN (0384-9694)
Global Virtue Ethics Review.
ISSN (1523-9756)
Notre Dame Journal of Law, Ethics & Public Policy.
ISSN (0883-3648)
International Journal of Politics and Ethics.
ISSN (1535-4776)
Nursing Ethics.
ISSN (0969-7330)
Journal of Agricultural & Environmental Ethics.
ISSN (1187-7863)
 

 

 

[back to top]

 

Web Resources

American Philosophical Association
http://www.apa.udel.edu/apa/index.html
The American Philosophical Association is the main professional organization for philosophers in the United States. Founded in 1900, its mission is to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosphers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.

Duke University- Kenan Institute for Ethics
http://kenan.ethics.duke.edu
A University-wide initiative that supports the study and teaching of ethics and promotes moral reflection and commitment in personal, professional, community, and civic life. "Our work is guided by the conviction that universities have a responsibility to prepare students for lives of personal integrity and reflective citizenship by nurturing their capacities for critical thinking, compassion, courage, and their concern for justice."

Ethics Updates
http://ethics.sandiego.edu/index.html
Edited by Lawrence M. Hinman, University of San Diego, is designed to be used primarily by instructors and their students. It is intended to provide updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.

Ethicsweb
http://www.ethicsweb.ca/
A collection of ethics related web sites, run by philosopher-ethicist Chris McDonald. Although each of the various Ethicsweb sites differ, all strive to present high-quality ethics related resources on a particular site. The site derives from Canada but has international focus.

Harvard University- Center for Ethics
http://www.ethics.harvard.edu
The Edmond J. Safra Foundation Center for Ethics encourages teaching and research about ethical issues in public and professional life; helps meet the growing need for teachers and scholars who address questions of moral choice in business, education, government, law, medicine, and public policy; brings together those with competence in philosophical thought and those with experience in professional education; and promotes a perspective on ethics informed by both theory and practice.

Institute for Global Ethics
http://www.globalethics.org
A nonsectarian, nonpartisan, global research and educational membership organization, whose mission is to promote ethical behavior in individuals, institutions and nations through research, public discourse and practical action.

U.S. Office of Government Ethics
http://www.usoge.gov/home.html
Exercises leadership in the executive branch to prevent conflicts of interest on the part of Goverment employees, and to resolve those conflicts of interest that do occur. In partnership with executive branch agencies and departments, OGE fosters high ethical standards for employees and strengthens the public's confidence that the Government's business is conducted with impartiality and integrity.

Codes of Ethics Online
http://ethics.iit.edu/codes/
Provides access to current and historical codes of ethics of over 800 professional societies, corporations, government, and academic institutions. Produced and maintained by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions, Illinois Institute for Technology, Chicago.

 

 

 

[back to top]