Library Services

Learning Goals Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

 

Research Guide for Goal 10: Personal Growth and Development

 

Online Databases

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
"Provides full text for nearly 1,700 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. This database is updated on a daily basis.” In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 2,794 journals. More than 1,880 journals are peer reviewed. Indexing from 1984, full-text of many sources from 1990 forward.

African-American Biographical Database
Brings together in one resource the biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source. Contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more--both the famous and the everyday person. Their stories are pivotal to an understanding of the Black American experience over the last two centuries.

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Highly recommended comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Subjects include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation, and socialism - theory and practice.

Biography Res Ctr w/Marquis Whos Who
Provides "biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world."

CollegeSource: College catalogs on the web
Offers full text of college catalogs as well as a search engine to all degree-granting colleges and universities.

Contemporary Womens Issues
Provides full text access to global information on women. Journals,newsletters, research reports from non- profit groups, governmentand international agencies, along with fact sheets are easily accessedthrough CWI. Information on women in over 150 countries iscompiled in a single collection bringing together such disciplines associology, psychology, health, education and human rights.

Ethnic Newswatch Complete
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. Free text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search.

Handbook of Latin American Studies ( Library of Congress - free)
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings published worldwide. Over 60% of records contain evaluative annotations by more than 130 contributing subject specialists.

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.

History Resource Center: US
The History Resource Center: U.S. is an integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day. It combines more than 1,000 primary documents with the broad background and overview coverage found in more than a dozen reference sources from the Gale Group, including standards such as Scribner's Dictionary of American History and Dictionary of American Biography. Complete full-text coverage of approximately 65 periodicals, as well as access to the citations for history journals from ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index

InfoTrac OneFile
Includes full-text articles from over 4,900 journals. Indexes total of over 8,500 titles; 2,500+ are refereed. Covers virtually all academic disciplines. From 1980 forward; updated daily.

Informe! (Revistas en Espanol)
Current news and events, business information, major health and popular issues found in Spanish-language and bilingual magazines and newspapers.

Music Literature Abstracts (RILM)
Offers an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages, including original language titles; title translations in English; full bibliographic information; abstracts in English; and author, journal, and subject indexes.

netLibrary
netLibrary offers reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books (e-books).

NewsBank Info Web
Online full-text business information, from domestic and international newspapers, and world maps.

Philosopher Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and more than 550 journals in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields, from 1940 to the present. Areas covered include ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Physical Education Index
CSA, found under Subject Area= Social Sciences.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
Nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields, all in full text.

ProQuest Religion
This database is an excellent source of religious news and commentary, details on doctrines and philosophies, and reports on religious history and related archeology. Also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions.

Proquest Research Library
Search full-text articles from over 1800 newspapers and periodicals on a wide range of topics including the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences.

What Do I Read Next?
What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award-winning titles. The user-friendly software includes custom, in-depth search options by title, author, subject, genre, locale and more.

Wilson Omni File
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,750 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,500.

[back to top]

Electronic Journals

Career development quarterly.
(0889-4019)
Psychology & health.
(0887-0446)
Human development.
(0018-716X)
Quality of life research.
(0962-9343)
Human nature (Hawthorne, N.Y.).
(1045-6767)
Religion and American culture.
(1052-1151)
Identities (Yverdon, Switzerland).
(1070-289X)
Sociology of religion.
(1069-4404)
Interdisciplinary humanities.
(1056-6139)
Spiritual life (Washington).
(0038-7630)
Journal of personal and interpersonal loss.
(1081-1443)
Stress and health.
(1532-3005)
Kiplinger's personal finance.
(1528-9729)
Vibrant Life.
(0749-3509)
Personality and individual differences.
(0191-8869)
 

 

 

[back to top]

 

 

 

Web Resources

Angermgmt.com
http://www.angermgmt.com/
Angermgmt.com's goal is to make information on anger management available online and thus, provide millions of people suffering from anger related disorders to better understand and cope with Anger. Along with free tips on anger management the site offers fee-based services such as home study courses, telephone counseling and audio tapes and books.

One Life
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/onelife/index.shtml
Website from the BBC (British Broadcasting Company) providing information and coping strategies for dealing with major concerns of daily life.. There are pages covering personal, health, work, travel, finance and legal issues confronting both young and old.

Study Guides and Strategies
http://www.studygs.net/
This web site is authored, developed and maintained by Joe Landsberger as an educational public service in the interest of helping learners worldwide. Translations have been collaboratively developed across institutional and national boundaries. Site provides study guides for students on the topics of time management, decision making, group learning, preparing for class, study habits, project management, note-taking, and more.

FGCU Prevention and Wellness Services – Click-In Clinic
http://studentservices.fgcu.edu/Wellness/clinic.html
This is a 24/7, all-access resource page designed for FGCU students. Resources for information and study covering wide variety of topics including: stress management, health and nutrition, eating disorders, sexually transmitted diseases and alcohol and drug abuse.

FGCU Center for Academic Achievement
http://studentservices.fgcu.edu/learning/
The mission of the Center for Academic Achievement (CAA) is to enhance students' academic growth within the University's learning environment. The basic CAA objective is to assist students in reaching their academic goals, and assist them in becoming independent and confident learners., Site provides information of access to supplemental instruction, tutoring, and seminars on test-taking s and developing study skills.

FGCU Campus Recreation
http://studentservices.fgcu.edu/CR/
Campus Recreation provides social interaction, cooperative team work, spiritual awareness, intellectual stimulation, personal development and just plain fun. Their mission is to promote a healthy lifestyle and improve the quality of life for all campus members including the students, faculty, staff, and their families.

FGCU Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS)
http://studentservices.fgcu.edu/counseling/who_we_are_3.htm
Provides quality counseling, therapy, consultation and instruction services to the university community. Office is staffed by professional counselors and therapists and licensed psychologists. Services are based on acceptance, understanding, respect and care.

Meditation Station
http://www.meditationsociety.com/index.html
Presented by the Meditation Society of America, the site is dedicated to sharing the joys and benefits of meditation with all seekers everywhere. One of the chief tenets of the Society is that all techniques of all traditions should be available to whoever wishes to know and use them. Defines meditation and its benefits and introduces the many techniques for relaxing the mind and body.

President’s Council on Physical Fitness and Sports - U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
http://www.fitness.gov/
The health, physical activity, fitness and sports information website of the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports. You can find out about the Council and its work, view publications, and link to the resources of other government agencies as well as to health and fitness organizations.

 

[back to top]