Library Services

Learning Goals Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

 

Research Guide for Goal 8: Technological Literacy


Subject Headings

Art and technology Technology – Aesthetics
Cellular Telephones Technology—Acronyms
Communication and culture Technology--Dictionaries
Communications Technology--Economic aspects
Computers and civilization Technology--trends
Computers and college students Technology—Popular Works
Computers—Design and construction Technology--Standards
Cyberspace – Social aspects Technology and civilization
Internet Technology and ethics
Internet addiction Technology and law
Internet--censorship Technology and music
Internet and teenagers Technology and religion
Technology Technology and youth

 

[back to top]

 

 

Reference Materials

Mehdi Khosrow-Pour (c2005). Encyclopedia of information science and technology. Hershey, PA: Idea Group Reference.
REF Z1006 .E566

(c2005). McGraw-Hill concise encyclopedia of science & technology. New York: McGraw-Hill.
REF Q121 .M29

Ann Kovalchick and Kara Dawson (c2004). Education and technology : an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-CLIO.
REF LB1028.3 .E17

Bunch, Bryan H (c.2004). The history of science and technology : a browser's guide to the great discoveries, inventions, and the people who made them, from the dawn of time to today. Boston: Houghton Mifflin.
REF Q125 .B945

Vojin G. Oklobdzija (c2002). The computer engineering handbook. Boca Raton: Press.
REF TK7885 .C645

Heimo H. Adelsberger, Betty Collis, Jan M. Pawlowski (c2002). Handbook of information technologies for education and training. New York: Springer.
REF LB1028.3 .H353

Ejub Kajan (c2002). Information technology encyclopedia and acronyms. Berlin: Springer.
REF T58.5 .K33

Phoha, Vir V (c2002). Internet security dictionary. New York: Springer.
REF TK5105.59 .P56

Williamson, Mark (2001). The Cambridge dictionary of space technology. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.
REF TL788 .W54

hawke, Constance S (c2001). Computer and Internet use on campus campus : a legal guide to issues of intellectual property, free speech, and privacy. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
REF KF390.5.C6 H39

Schulz, Jerome A (2001). Information technology in local government : a practical guide for managers. Washington, D.C: International City/County Management Association.
REF JS100 .S38

Wienbroer, Diana Roberts (c2001). Rules of thumb for online research. Boston: McGraw Hill.
REF QA76.55 .W54

Erb, Uwe (c2001). Scientific and technical acronyms, symbols, and abbreviations. New York: Wiley-Interscience.
REF Q179 .E64

(2000). The cutting edge : an encyclopedia of advanced technologies. New York: Oxford University Press.
REF T9 .C96

 

[back to top]

 

 

 

Online Databases

ACM Digital Library
Full-text access to all ACM journals, magazines, and Special Interest Group conference proceedings. A wide range of computer- and information-science topics are covered.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
This database features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. High quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1983.

Computer & Information Systems Abstracts
This database provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications around the world. Provides international coverage with the monitoring of the latest developments in an increasingly sophisticated technology. Indexes over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Technology Research Database: Provides a single mega-file of all the unique records available through its 3 components: the CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
Provides full-text access to 17 Computer Society magazines and transactions, and over 500 selected conference proceedings, from 1988 to the present.

Science Direct
The Elsevier Science Journals Database is the electronic full text version of approximately 650 of Elsevier's traditional research journals. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.

General Science Full Text
Designed specifically for students and non-specialists, This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information.High quality indexing as far back as 1984.

INSPEC
The largest English language file of bibliographic information and abstracts on the world's output of published works in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing, and information technology. Covers scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Includes some books, reports, and dissertations.

Kluwer Journals Online
Full text of 600+ of Kluwer's research journals (most since 1997) covering a wide range of scientific disciplines, including mathematics, information science, economics, and business.

[back to top]

Journals

Bank technology news.
ISSN (1060-3506)
Journal of digital imaging.
ISSN (0897-1889)
Bulletin of the American Society for Information Science and Technology Computer technology review.
ISSN (0278-9647)
Journal of the Association for Computing Machinery.
ISSN (0004-5411)
Computer technology review.
ISSN (0278-9647)
Law enforcement technology.
ISSN (0747-3680)
Computing.
ISSN (0010-485X)
Music education technology.
ISSN (1550-9400)
Digital imaging techniques.
ISSN (1557-2811)
Scientific computing.
ISSN (1524-2560)
Digital video magazine.
ISSN (1075-251X)
Security technology & design.
ISSN (1069-1804)
Educational technology research and development.
ISSN (1042-1629)

Technology and culture.
ISSN (0040-165X)

Ethics and information technology.
ISSN (1388-1957)
Technology review.
ISSN (1099-274X)
Health management technology.
ISSN (1074-4770)
Theory of computing systems.
ISSN (1432-4350)
Issues in science and technology.
ISSN (0748-5492)
 

 

[back to top]

 

 

Web Resources

Computing.Net
http://www.computing.net/
Founded in February of 1996, Computing.Net was built on the idea that no one technical support expert knows as much about solutions to problems as does the entire population of IT professionals. By using a forum based message system, Computing.Net allows its users to ask, in essence, hundreds of technical support experts about their problem. Computing.Net, however, is not only about forums, the site combines several services that enable users to receive the technical support for his or her computer related problem.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
http://www.acm.org/
Founded in 1947, ACM is a major force in advancing the skills of information technology professionals and students worldwide. Today, our 80,000 members and the public turn to ACM for the industry's leading Portal to Computing Literature, authoritative publications and pioneering conferences, providing leadership for the 21st century.

Microsoft.com
http://www.microsoft.com/mscorp/default.mspx
Web site of the Microsoft Corporation offers a plethora of information about the company and helpful updates and training for Microsoft programs, products and the future of computing technology around the world. They state their mission as working to “help people and businesses throughout the world realize their full potential…Everything we do reflects this mission and the values that make it possible.

How Stuff Works.com
http://www.howstuffworks.com/
Their motto is “learn how everything works.” A consumer guide offering reviews of all sorts of products, from electronics and automobiles, to food, biology and the latest consumer gadgets. Provides info on how things work, from cell phones & computers to caffeine and the latest science discoveries.

Geek.com
http://www.geek.com/
The Online Technology Resource for Geeks! Geek.com was created to fill a gaping hole on the 'Net--a place that Geeks could call home, and where those who aspire to be Geeks can get their feet wet! Get ready to enjoy the Online Technology Resource for Geeks--written by Geeks for Geeks. The site offers product prices, reviews, training resources and job info in technology including computing, electronics and gaming and more.

Webopedia
http://webopedia.internet.com/
Webopedia is a free online dictionary for words, phrases and abbreviations that are related to computer and Internet technology. Webopedia provides easy-to-understand definitions in plain language, avoiding the use of heavy jargon when possible so that the site is accessible to users with a wide range of computer knowledge.

c-net.com
http://www.cnet.com/2001-1_1-0.html?tag=navtab
Our mission at CNET is simple: CNET.com shows you the possibilities--and the excitement--of how technology can enhance and enrich your life. We provide you with the information, tools, and advice to help you decide what to buy. Once you do, we help you get the most out of your technology Tests and reviews thousands of products each year--anything based on digital technology.

Apple Computers Inc.
http://www.apple.com/
Official site of Apple Computers , with technical and consumer information on their major products and software including Mackintosh computers and iPods. And iTunes.

 

[back to top]