skip navigation

Florida Gulf Coast University

Website Directory  

FGCU Library Services

 

Databases that provide Persistent/Stable/Durable/Bookmark URLs to individual articles

Although we strive to keep this list up to date, it may be incomplete or inaccurate, as database vendors may change their offerings at any time, without notice.

Please Note: Putting a URL through the Off-Campus Access Link Generator will not allow non-FGCU affiliates to access online library-licensed resources. Only FGCU students, staff, and faculty with valid 14 digit ID numbers have remote access to library-licensed electronic resources.


Database Name
How to find the Persistent URL
Off-Campus Access Link Generator Required?
ACM Digital Library ACM Digital Library This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent links. Look for the DOI below the article. Ex: 10.1145/2499474.2499476 YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Alexander Street Press Alexander Street Press Click on the "Embed/Link" option below the title. It will open a box where the persistent link is displayed. Ex: http://ctiv.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.fgcu.edu/View/1778841 No
AMA AMA This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent links. Look for the DOI below the article. Ex:10.1001/jama.2013.276206 YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
ACS American Chemical Society This database uses Digital object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. Click on the article title and check the “Tools” option on the right side of the page.
Click on the “Permalink” option to open a box consisting of the persistent link and copy it. Ex: http://dx.doi.org/10.1021/es403160a
YES. Click here and paste the link or full DOI link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Digital Commons Berkeley Electronic Press Look for the persistent link at the bottom of article title page. Ex: http://scholarlycommons.law.northwestern.edu/jclc/vol96/iss3/1 YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Cambridge Cambridge This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link.  Look for the DOI below the article information.
Ex: http://dx.doi.org/10.1017/S0007114512005594  
YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
CQ CQ Researcher

Click on the article title and scroll towards the bottom of the page to view the “Document URL”.

No
CRC FORENSIC
netBASE
PublicADMIN
netBASE
Click on "permalink" button in upper right corner in the citation box and copy the persistent link. YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Ebsco EBSCO

Click on the article title and check the “Tools” option on the right side of the page.  Click on “Permalink” option to retrieve the persistent link. Alternatively, look for the link above the citation.

No
Emerald Full Ttext Emerald Full Text This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. Click on the View HTML link and look for the DOI below the title. Ex:10.1108/03068290410518274 YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online Encyclopedia Britannica Online This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. Click on the View HTML link and look for the DOI below the title. Ex:10.1108/03068290410518274 YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Films on Demand Films on Demand Scroll down to the bottom of the page and look for the persistent URL.
Ex: http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=1592&xtid=8352
YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Gale Gale

Click on the article title and check the “Tools” options on the right side of the page. Click on “Bookmark this Document” to retrieve the persistent link.
Or, scroll towards the bottom of the page to view the “Document URL.”

YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
IEEE IEEE

This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. Ex: 10.1109/MC.2012.183

YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
JSTOR JSTOR

This database refers to persistent link as “Stable URL” Click on the article title. “Stable URL” is displayed above the article, right next to the journal title image.  YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Lexis Nexis LexisNexis Click on the document title in the result list. You will see an icon bar appear in the top right corner of the page.  Click the fifth icon for the Document Link. It will open a box with the article title. Right click on this bold text and select Copy Link Location from the pop up menu. YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
MathSciNet MathSciNet This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. Click on the Article link under the title and scroll to the bottom. Ex: 10.2478/s12175-013-0126-1. YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Nature Nature Publishing Journals This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. Ex: doi:10.1093/adaptation/apt005 YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Naxos Naxos Music Library Click "Show static URL" button on left. Persistent links are shown under the track.   YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
NewsBank Newsbank Scroll to the very bottom of the article to find a persistent link. Right click on the link and copy the link location. YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
OECD OECD Surveys This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link, Click on the Survey and look for the DOI under the title.  Ex:10.1787/eco_surveys-bel-2013-en YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
OVID SP Ovid This database uses Jumpstart URLs as persistent link.  Click on the title and look for either "Email Jumpstart" or "Email PDF Jumpstart" link on the right side of the page. Clicking on these links will open up a box with the jumpstart URL.
Ex: http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE
=fulltext&AN=00000446-200401000-00001&D=ovft&PDF=y
YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Oxford Oxford Journals This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. DOI Name is displayed right under the title in the citation. Ex: 10.1093/logcom/exs003. YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Proquest Proquest

Click on the “Citation/Abstract” link in the search results page and scroll towards the bottom of the page to view the “Document URL.”

No
Sage Sage Premier This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. Click on the PDF copy of the article and look for the DOI under the title.  Ex: 10.1177/1052562912458642 YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Science Science Online This journal uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link.
Click on the article and look for DOI above the title. Ex: 10.1126/science.1240284
YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Science Direct Science Direct

This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent links. Look for the DOI above the article title. Ex: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.scispo.2012.02.008.

 YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Springer Springer Journals This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link. Click on the title and scroll down to the bottom and look for the DOI.  Ex: 10.1007/s10100-013-0310-y. YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
STAT!Ref STAT!Ref Open the book and/or chapter you want to link to. Select the "Link to Page" link in the upper right area of the page. Click the "Select All" link to copy your persistent link.  YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
WOS Web of Science This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link.
Click on the abstract title and look for DOI in the Source Section. Ex: 10.1016/j.ress.2013.04.006
YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Wiley Online Library Wiley Online Library

Persistent link is displayed in your browser's address bar.


YES. Click here and paste the link in the Article URL or Full DOI Link Generator box and click on Convert button.
Wiley Online Library Wiley / Cochrane Library This database uses Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) as persistent link.
Click on the article title and look for DOI below the Editorial group information. Ex: 10.1002/14651858.CD009382
YES.  Click here and paste the DOI Name in the DOI Name Link Generator box and click on Convert button.