Linking to Library Articles - Persistent Links Information
Article Link Generator
Converts persistent links to enable access outside the campus network
(FGCU ID required)
List of Databases that provide persistent URLs
Instructions on how to find ready-made persistent links in specific databases.
1. Make sure there is a stable or persistent URL for the article you have found. Check the List of databases that provide persistent URLs for the database that contains your article. If your database is included in the list, you may copy and share the persistent link provided in the article record. If you want more information on how to check the list of databases and locate the persistent link in the article record, view this short video.
2. Determine whether the persistent link you found will work from outside the FGCU network (off-campus). A simple way to determine if the link will work, check for the term “ezproxy” in the URL. Does the URL or link that you found have the word "ezproxy" somewhere in it?
If yes, the link will work outside the campus network and is ready to be copied, saved or shared.
Click on "Copy Durable URL"
3. The converted URL now is your persistent link and can be copied, saved, or shared for later use.
1. Why can't I just copy the address from the address bar to save a link to an article?
Web addresses, or URLs (Uniform Resource Locator) that appear in the address bar of your web browser may contain session-based or search-based information that causes the URL to not work later. This is especially true of the URLs that appear when searching a database. This is why many online databases provide a separate perisistent or stable link in each record for an article.
2. What is a persistent Link?
A persistent link is a URL that will remain stable over time and allows a user to access the linked document later. View a brief tutorial.
3. How do I find persistent links in online databases?
Some research databases include a persistent or durable link in the article record. Please note that the terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another. View the List of Databases that provide persistent URLs for detailed information on how to locate persistent links or view this brief tutorial for a visual introduction.
4. How do I know if a persistent link will work from outside the FGCU campus network?
In order for a link to an article to work from outside the FGCU campus network, it must contain special coding that will allow FGCU users to access the article using their FGCU ID number. Follow these steps to determine if your persistent link will work off campus.
Does the URL or link that you found have the word "ezproxy" somewhere in it?
If yes, the link is ready to be saved or shared.
If no, the link will need to be put into the Article Link Generator before you save or share it.
5. What is the Article Link Generator?
The Article Link Generator is a tool that will add coding to a persistent link found in a database that will allow it to be used from outside the FGCU campus network if it is not already embedded in the URL.
Putting a URL through the Article Link Generator will not allow non-FGCU affiliates to access online library-licensed resources. Only FGCU students, staff, and faculty with valid 14 digit ID numbers have remote access to library-licensed electronic resources.
6. How do I use the Article Link Generator?
Copy the durable link from a database and paste it into the top box of the Article Link Generator.
Click Convert URL. The resultant URL should appear in the bottom box.
7. How can I use a persistent link?
Once you have found a stable URL and put it through the Article Link Generator (if necessary) , you can paste the URL into ANGEL or other documents.
8. How do I make persistent links to e-books?
You can use the Permalink feature in the FGCU Library Catalog to create permanent links to e-books.
|General Introduction to Persistent Links (5:10)
| How to find persistent links in online databases (5:18)
|How to make durable links work outside the library (3:48)|