Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FGCU Logo

Economic Development - ECS 4013

Use this guide to locate information on countries.

What is a Boolean operator?

Boolean operators allow users to combine search terms into one search. The most commonly used operators are AND, OR.  When you use a database's advanced search option, the AND operator is a default setting.  Review General Tips for Searching for more information.

More Databases for Economics and Finance

Start your search with one of these online resources:
  • ProQuest News & Newspaper Collection, US Major Dailies, and Nexis Uni include access to various national and international newspaper sources.  
  • ABI/Inform Collection, Business Source Ultimate, and EconLit include access to newspapers, but emphasis here is on various types of information (journal articles, reports) that may not be included in the newspaper databases.
  • Credo Reference includes encyclopedia entries that will likely describe cultural and historical aspects of the country.

Find Articles in the Library

General tips for identifying search terms

Database providers continuously strive to streamline the research process, so  don't forget to check the Help links for updates.  Consider these steps for creating a list of relevant words and terms:
 

  • Think about your information need in a sentence, question, or phrase and identify the key terms.


 What impact did the pandemic have on The Seychelles?
 

  • Think of other words that could describe your topic.  Information found in encyclopedias, for example, would be helpful.   Search the Library catalog for your topic and encyclopedias (i.e. ethics AND encyclopedias). You could also consult a thesaurus.
 
pandemic covid-19
impact effect
The Seychelles Seychelles
  • Use Boolean operators* (AND, OR) to combine synonymous terms

 

pandemic OR covid-19
AND impact OR effect
AND The Seychelles OR Seychelles

Florida Gulf Coast University Library

(239) 590-7600 | Library Webmaster