Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Spa Management

Use this guide to locate print and electronic resources on spa and salon management

Find Articles in the Library - a short tutorial

Research Current Company Developments

  • Search the library's business databases for current and historical company information.  
  • The company website includes history, SWOT analyses, annual reports, press releases, and other information about the company's activities.  Keep in mind, however, that the company website is also a marketing tool and presents the company in a very positive light. 
  • News outlets, including CNN, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and others. Although some content may only be available to subscribers, though, so for full-text access, your best bet is to use the Library's databases. 

These suggested databases are starting points and very good sources for most of your research needs:

Tips for identifying search terms

Database providers continuously strive to streamline the research process, so  don't forget to check the Help links.  Consider these steps for creating a list of relevant words and terms:

  • Try to state your information need in a sentence, question, or phrase and identify the key terms:

 What impact does advertising have on childrens' diets?

  • Think of other words that describe your topic.  Information found in encyclopedias, for example, would be helpful.   Search the Library catalog for your topic and encyclopedias (i.e. ethics AND encyclopedias). You could also consult a thesaurus.

advertising marketing
childrens adolescents
impact effect
diets food choices

  • Use Boolean operators* (AND, OR) to combine synonymous terms:

 

  advertising OR marketing
AND childrens OR adolescents
AND impact OR effect
AND diets OR food choices