University Library: Student Teaching and Internships: A Resource Guide: Lesson Plans & Web Resources

Lesson Plans on the Web

Featured Resource: Share My Lesson

Find resources and lesson plans from teachers for teachers. Locate English and Math lesson plans that incorporate common core standards by grade level.

ADL Curriculum Connections: Anti-Bias Lesson Plans and Resources for K-12 Education
Best of History Web Sites: Lesson Plans
BioEdOnline: Biology Teacher Resources from the Baylor College of Medicine
BrainPOP - Animated Educational Site for Kids Contains lots of free multimedia sources for teachers including games, quizzes and movies and site is organized by subject area.
Digital Video Library terrific resource of over 1000 videos created by The Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics for math and science educators
Discovery Channel School Contains lesson plans written by teachers for teachers.
EdSitement sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities. Offers lessons plans in the following subject areas: Art & Culture, Foreign Languages, History & Social Studies & Literature & Language Arts.
Education World -- Lesson Planning Center
Encyclopedia of Life is the collaborative effort of professionals and scientists worldwide to create "a web page for every species" and is highly recommended for undergraduate and graduate students as well as researchers and scholars.
K-12 Tech Tools
Lesson Plans Page
Library of Congress Site for Teachers
Media Construction of Presidential Campaigns from Ithaca College and Project Look Sharp. Contains teaching guides, resource lists and historic media documents
National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science Uses case studies and problem based learning exercises in the teaching of science. Good for all levels -- high school as well as for faculty development.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics: Lessons & Resources
National Geographic
Terrific site that includes lesson plans and media that is organized by subject and grade level
New York Times Learning Network highlights resources for parents, students and teachers and is designed for grades 3-12.
PBS TeacherSource gives multimedia resources for the classroom by topic area and grade level.
ReadWriteThink
contains lesson plans and classroom resources from K-high school
TeacherTube
more...less...
Teacher videos and lesson plan video library
TedEd Lessons Worth Sharing Find lessons that have used You Tube videos or add to the database by creating your own.

Google Searching Tips

The following resources will help you become a better Google searcher.

Google Inside Search: Tips and Tricks

Power Searching Quick Guide

Web Resources

The following web sites have been carefully selected for providing reliable information. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources.

Florida Department of Education
provides resources for students, parents, and educators in the state of Florida. Get news and updates on education legislation and statistics.
Florida Teacher/School Administrator Resources
Contains links to relevant Florida Statutes, Code of Ethics -- Education Profession, Florida Educator Accomplished Practices and resources for ed leadership.
Funding for Florida School Districts 2018-2019
National Education Association
contains resources for parents and professionals as well as information on current issues in education.
U.S. Dept. of Education
gives resources for students, teachers, parents, and administrators. Find information on financial aid, policy, programs, grants, and more.
U.S. Department of Education- Research and Statistics
gives statistical information from various research organizations and is a great resource for education researchers.
For Teachers (Library of Congress)
brings primary sources into the classroom. Contains digital collections, American Memory Timeline, lesson plans and more.
Google in Education
** Find Google search training videos, lesson plans, resources, and tools for students and teachers . Go to https://www.google.com/edu/index.html to find learning community groups and more.
LD Online
is the "world's leading website on learning disabilities and ADHD".
Smithsonian Education: Educators' Section
is a terrific resource for all ages and contains a resource library as well as lesson plans
Teach-nology
Terrific resource for teachers. Contains lesson plans, worksheets, rubrics, teaching tips, webquests, teacher tools and more. Great place to start.

Professional Organizations

Many of these professional resources were taken from: Wong, H. and R. Wong. (2004) How to be an effective teacher: The First Days of School. Mountain View, CA: Harry K. Wong Publications. p.14

Help us improve! Take the LibQUAL Survey and earn a chance at a $250 Campus Bookstore gift card!

Student Teaching and Internships: A Resource Guide

Lesson Plans on the Web

Google Searching Tips

Web Resources

Professional Organizations

Florida Gulf Coast University Library