Americans for the Arts
Central clearinghouse for arts advocacy. Research, Art Education, news, a national arts policy database, publications, events, and more. Americans for the Arts, Washington, D.C. and New York, N.Y.
Center for Arts and Culture
An independent think tank focused on the arts and public policy. Research, contact information for experts in the field, data and statistics, and more. Center for Arts and Culture, Washington, D.C.
National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage
News, events, links, digital resources, policies, projects, publications and more from this non-profit organization focused on fostering an artistic and cultural presence on the World Wide Web. National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage, Washington, D.C.
National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
News, event calendars, contact information and more from state and local arts agencies nationwide. National Assembly of State Arts Agencies, Washington, D.C.
National Endowment for the Arts
Gateway to art and art-education-related news, information, research, and resources gathered by the N.E.A. U.S. National Endowment for the Arts, Washington, D.C.
Grants & Funding
The Foundation Center Online
News, research, and more, including an online form to ask grant-related questions, from arguably the most important resource in grant writing available. The Foundation Center, N.Y.
Directory and links to a wide range of grant-giving agencies. Northern California Community Foundation, Inc., Menlo Park, Calif.
Find and apply for thousands of federal grants.
American Federation of Musicians
News, information and support for the professional musician, including advice for job-seekers, conference information, and more. Links to local chapters, including those in Jacksonville, South Florida, Central Florida, Pensacola, and Tampa Bay. American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada, AFL-CIO, New York, N.Y.
American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)
Advocacy and support for songwriters and composers. Licensing issues, news, and legislative updates related to the rights of music composers and publishers. ASCAP, New York, N.Y.
National Association of Schools of Music (NASM)
NASM, founded in 1924, is an organization of schools, conservatories, colleges and universities with approximately 636 accredited institutional members. It establishes national standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees and other credentials.
Daily digest of news stories related to the arts. Stories are hyperlinked to the original source. ArtsJournal.com, Inc.
variety of online job listings in the arts. Western States Arts Federation, Denver, Colo
International Journal of Research in Choral Singing
Open access of full text articles. This is the scientific research journal of the American Choral Directors Association. Features an artice by FGCU professor Trent Brown.
Southern Arts Federation
Programs and services, job listings and more, in support of the arts in the South. Southern Arts Federation, Atlanta, Ga.
Comprehensive gateway to worldwide arts information in virtually every medium and venue--including Theater, Dance, Music, the Visual Arts, and more. Also includes links to job information, advocacy for the arts, arts administration resources, funding, resources for teachers, and more. Colorado Council on the Arts and the College of Arts and Media, University of Colorado, Denver.
Virtual Library Museums Pages
Comprehensive gateway to virtual museums of every kind—art, film, computer, historical, and others—grouped by country. Searchable. The WWW Virtual Library
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Online access to digital exhibits prepared from the vast holdings of the Library of Congress. Film clips from the silent era, Edison sound recordings, early animation, historical movie posters, scripts, music, daguerreotypes, vaudeville memorabilia, and more. Click on “Collection Finder” to browse the exhibits, or search the collection using key words. Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
Digital Librarian: Audio, Video, Multimedia
List of links to audio, video, and multimedia related resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y.
Digital Librarian: Lyrics, Sheet Music, Librettos & Scores
List of links to music-related resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y.
Librarians Index to the Internet
Searchable gateway to arts-related internet resources. Search the subtopics for Arts and Humanities. California State Librarian, Library of California, Sacramento, Calif.
Top 25 web sites for music education
"Here are 25 Web sites that represent some of the best music education resources online."
Over 100 programmed channels of music in virtually every genre. Listen through the Windows Media Player or through RealPlayer, both free downloads. NetRadio Corporation, Minneapolis, Minn.
Pandora is streaming internet music that aims to introduce you to new music that you will like based on music you already like. Enter the name of one of your favorite songs or artists into Pandora and the system will quickly scan its entire world of analyzed music, almost a century of popular recordings - new and old, well known and completely obscure - to find songs with interesting musical similarities to your choice.
Download the free player and listen to radio from all over the world. These are traditional, local broadcast stations that are streaming over the internet in addition to broadcasting within their areas. Tune in to jazz and blues from New Orleans, world pop hits from Helsinki or Hong Kong, or classical and folk music from Latvia. Thousands of stations. RealNetworks, Inc., Seattle, Wash.
Streaming audio from hundreds of programmed channels in a variety of genres from all over the world. Nullsoft, Inc., AOL Time Warner, Inc., New York, N.Y.
"The award-winning music service that’s taken Europe by storm has now come to U.S. shores. Millions of tracks ready to play instantly, on your computer and your phone."
(239) 590-7600 | Library Webmaster