University Library: EDF 6481 Foundations of Educational Research: Articles & Databases

Finding Articles Using Online Databases

One of the most efficient ways to locate articles on topics related to Education is to use the Library's subscription databases.

Major Education Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find articles from scholarly journals in subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary resource that includes thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper titles.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Find full-text articles on a variety of Education topics from early childhood to higher education. It includes specialized topics such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale) This link opens in a new window Contains access to academic journals, reports, and reference sources pertaining to topics in education. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This resource, sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, provides access to education related journal articles, conferences, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, directories, books and monographs from 1966 to present.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences This link opens in a new window Find art images (from the previous ARTstor database) and articles on life sciences, history, art, anthropology, architecture, business, economics, film, geography, language, literature, management, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, religion, sociology, statistics. Coverage starts at the beginning year of publication and includes all but the most recent years (as required by the publisher).
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Contains numerous Education journals and includes the American Educational Research Association journals -- American Educational Research Journal, Educational Researcher, Review of Educational Research, Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis, Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics and Review of Research in Education.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Search over 2400 academic journals in a wide range of disciplines and over 260 in the Education subject area.

Related Databases

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Communication and Mass Media (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Locating Journals

To see if a journal is available in print in the Library's collection, please use the Library Catalog and select Journal Title to focus your search results. Results will display both online, print and microfilm journal titles.

To determine if a particular journal issue is available online, see the E-Journals page.

For help in locating peer reviewed journals, please see the following resources:

Google Scholar

Be sure to save Florida Gulf Coast University as one of your Scholar Preferences.

Newspapers

The following resources contain full text articles (no pictures) from newspapers around the world. Many Florida newspapers are through Access World News, including the Naples Daily News. The News-Press (Fort Myers) is available through Proquest Newspapers.

Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window Search state, national and international full-text articles with diverse source types including print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes the Naples Daily News, Financial Times (London), Miami Herald and USA Today.
Education Week This link opens in a new window Education Week offers complete access to the EdWeek website and provides coverage of K-12 stories, articles, and reports from around the U.S. from 1981 to present. Includes annual reports such as Quality Counts, Technology Counts and Diplomas Counts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Contains national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, university wire sources and non-English language sources as well as company information and federal and state legal resources.
ProQuest News & Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window Search all Proquest newspapers in one place. Fort Myers News-Press, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times. Also includes Canadian and ethnic and gender focused news sources.

EDF 6481 Foundations of Educational Research

Finding Articles Using Online Databases

Related Databases

Locating Journals

Google Scholar

Newspapers

Florida Gulf Coast University Library