Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FGCU Logo

Computer Information Systems

use this guide to find information on computer information systems

Key Business Publications

The library subscribes to a number of business publications in electronic format which can be accessed using one of these options:

  • Search the library's catalog by the publication's title  
  • Search Journals by Title/Subject This link will direct you to the database that indexes the journal you are looking for.
  • Use the database directory to find a business database (ABI/inform Collection or Business Source Ultimate are good starting places)

The Library subscribes to these titles (and many more!) in both electronic and print (exception: The Financial Times is only available online):

Where to find current business articles

E-mail Alerts

E-mail alerts use your search terms to deliver articles or citations directly to your email inbox.  You can schedule them for daily, weekly, or monthly delivery.  Instructions to create alerts differ slightly from one database to another, but most require you to:

  • Register for an account.  Make sure to use your FGCU email address and assign a password that you will remember.
  • Create a relevant search query
  • When the results of that search are displayed, look for the Save search/alert or Share link
  • Click Create alert and follow the instructions
  • Look for a confirmation email and confirm that you actually did create the alert
  • Wait for the information to come in! Alerts can be tweaked to ensure relevant results 

Newspaper Sources for Company News

In addition to library resources, there are reputable news sites to consider.  Keep in mind that you may be able to read some of the content from these sites, but most content is restricted to subscribers.

This is where the library can help. The library subscribes to all of the titles listed below. Look for other titles in the online catalog.  Enter the title, select Journal Title from the drop down menu, click Search.

This list is representative of the many newspapers that the library has access to. You may have to search a database to find it, though. If the library does not have access to an article you need, consider submitting an interlibrary loan request.