Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives & Special Collections

Visit "Giving to the Library" to make a donation.

Be sure to specify the "University Archives and Special Collections" as the designation. 

Your gift allows us to continue to provide access to rare and unique collections documenting the cultural and environmental history of Southwest Florida, museum-quality exhibitions, and educational programming.

Poster for The Black Experience in Lee County

University Archives and Special Collections Exhibitions

The Black Experience in Lee County

In the face of challenges, the Black community in Fort Myers remained resolute, becoming an example of resilience for all citizens who call Southwest Florida home. The institutional pillars featured in the exhibition continue to amplify community voices and experiences through stories of success. In partnership with the Lee County Black History Society, multi-generational resident and local historian, Jarrett Eady, and many residents who brought the history to life, the Florida Gulf Coast University Archives and Special Collections are humbled to present the 2022 Spring exhibition: The Black Experience in Lee County.

Calling All FGCU Alumni!

University Archives and Alumni

As the official source of institutional memory, the Florida Gulf Coast University Archives regularly collects materials related to our students, culture, and alumni. The University Archives houses over 200 linear feet of documents, photographs, memorabilia, and publications related to the history of Florida Gulf Coast University. 

Highlights from our Collections

Special Collections Highlight: The Racial and Social Justice Collection. 

The Racial and Social Justice Collection covers various racial and social justice movements that span from the late 1800s to present-day issues. In 2020, the University Archives and Special Collections began actively collecting materials for this collection to be included in the 2020/2021 academic year digital exhibition, Fight for the Ballot: Voting Rights in the 20th Century. 

The collection is available to view either on DigitalFGCU or on the FGCU Finding Aid. 

Recording of the virtual event, "Reflections on Integration."


Please watch FGCU's Archives and Special Collections virtual event “Reflections on Healthcare” via Zoom.
Moderated by Jarrett Eady and Jim Nathan, a panel reflects on the history of midwifery, Jones Walker Hospital, and issues regarding access to healthcare. The event is in conjunction with the exhibition, The Black Experience in Lee County, which runs through April 28th, 2022.  You can visit the show Monday through Friday from 9 am-5 pm on the third floor of FGCU's Bradshaw Library, room LIB322.  


 

Welcome to the University Archives  and Special Collections

The University Archives is the official repository of records for Florida Gulf Coast University and serves as its institutional memory. The Special Collections curates a collection of rare and unique materials documenting the cultural and environmental history of Southwest Florida. Our team works to expand and preserve our collections, develop scholarly resources, and provide global access to the collections through DigitalFGCU.

Our Commitments:

  • Develop archival collections that are equitably representative of all communities residing within Southwest Florida in hopes of spurring crucial conversations and scholarship while contributing to the historical record. 

  • Collect critical resources pertaining to the environmental ecology of Southwest Florida.

  • Foster partnerships through fundraising and donor engagement in an effort to expand access to unique and rare primary resources. 

  • Deliver diverse and inclusive educational programming to FGCU and the Southwest Florida community.