The books listed below are available through the library catalog to check out. The books selected were used during the preliminary research conducted by the University Archives and Special Collections for the exhibition, They Were Children: Rescue as Resistance. There are additional books within the library's catalog that can be used for Holocaust research.
Charles de Gaulle by
This book is the first to combine a comprehensive historical analysis of Charles de Gaulle and Gaullism with a selection or related documents. In a compelling narrative, Cogan examines the three major stages of de Gaulle's career; he also assesses the Gaullist movement and its legacy for France, for Europe, and for transatlantic relations.
The Nightingale by
With courage, grace, and powerful insight, bestselling author Kristin Hannah captures the epic panorama of World War II and illuminates an intimate part of history seldom seen: the women's war. The Nightingale tells the stories of two sisters, separated by years and experience, by ideals, passion and circumstance, each embarking on her own dangerous path toward survival, love, and freedom in German-occupied, war-torn France―a heartbreakingly beautiful novel that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit and the durability of women. It is a novel for everyone, a novel for a lifetime.
Heroines of Vichy France: Rescuing French Jews during the Holocaust by
This book tells the largely unknown story behind the rescue activities of several remarkable young Jewish women in Vichy France during World War II and their role in the resistance against Nazi and Vichy France deportation policies.
Few studies of Vichy France and the Holocaust have looked at the rescue of Jews by those prepared to risk everything to escort them to safety in the border regions, and even fewer have considered Jewish rescue of Jews, specifically of Jewish children by women. This work will be arguably the first book in which the experiences and efforts of a number of female rescuers―all of whom knew or knew of each other―have been brought together in a single volume, with the object of honoring their memory and showing how the value of human life was sustained through the Holocaust.
Focusing on a number of young Jewish women who defied the Nazis, this narrative highlights their courage and sacrifice in their efforts to rescue Jews in France during World War II. Additionally, it shows how these French women responded to Nazi and Vichy France policies of deportation through resistance activities. This is a story that will captivate anyone with an interest in the innate goodness of human beings that can shine even when confronted with the darkest expressions of depravity that occurred during the Holocaust.
The Holocaust by
The Holocaust: The Basics is a concise introduction to the study of this seismic event in mid twentieth-century human history. The book takes an original approach as both a narrative and thematic introduction to the topic, and provides a core foundation for readers embarking upon their own study. It examines a range of perspectives and subjects surrounding the Holocaust, including: the perpetrators of the Holocaust the victims resistance to the Holocaust liberation legacies and survivors' memories of the Holocaust. Suppported by a chronology, glossary, questions for discussion, and boxed case studies that focus the reader's thoughts and develop their appreciation of the subjects considered more broadly, The Holocaust: The Basics is the ideal introduction to this controversial and widely debated topic for both students and the more general reader.
Genocide: the Basics by
Genocide: The Basics is an engaging introduction to the study of a controversial and widely debated topic. This concise and comprehensive book explores key questions such as; how successful have efforts been in the prevention of genocide? How prevalent has genocide been throughout history? and how has the concept been defined? Real world case studies address significant issues including: The killing of indigenous peoples by colonial powers The Holocaust and the question of "uniqueness" Peacekeeping efforts in the 1990s Legal attempts to create a genocide-free world With suggestions for further reading, discussion questions at the end of each chapter and a glossary of key terms, Genocide: The Basics is the ideal starting point for students approaching the topic for the first time.
Modern Genocide by
An indispensable resource for those interested in the scourge of mass murder and genocide in the 20th and 21st centuries, this book analyzes modern and contemporary controversies and issues to help readers to understand genocide in all its complexity. This vital reference work looks at current areas of debate in genocide studies to provide insights into what a genocide is, why genocides occur, and what the consequences are once a genocide is recognized as such. It also illuminates how and why rational people can view the same set of circumstances as genocide or not, and how it might be possible in the future to alleviate or even prevent genocide. Dozens of accomplished scholars provide perceptive insights into the controversies and issues that dominate genocide discussions. The book is organized into five parts. The first considers how genocide is defined, while the second covers the pre-1945 period as it includes such controversial topics as the American Indian Wars, Australian Aborigines, Irish Potato Famine, Armenian Genocide, Ukrainian Starvation, and Holocaust. A Cold War section examines genocidal violence in Cambodia, East Timor, and Guatemala and against the Kurds; a post-Cold War period section covers Bosnia, Rwanda, Darfur, and the Rohingya in Myanmar. The final part concerns such issues as genocide prevention, humanitarian intervention, and the role of military personnel as perpetrators of genocide. Offers up-to-date coverage on controversial issues related to genocide, including the atrocities perpetrated against the Rohingya in Myanmar Includes engaging and carefully outlined essays from such well-known experts as Michael Berenbaum, Roger W. Smith, Colin Tatz, and Henry C. Theriault Presents differing perspectives on issues discussed and assists the reader in developing an informed opinion Explains what genocide is and how the concept can be abused Suggests several ways in which the risk of genocide can be minimized or averted in the future
Children of the Holocaust by
This important reference work highlights a number of disparate themes relating to the experience of children during the Holocaust, showing their vulnerability and how some heroic people sought to save their lives amid the horrors perpetrated by the Nazi regime.
The children of Izieu 6 April 1944: A crime against humanity by
On 6 April 1944, the Lyon Gestapo, commanded by Klaus Barbie, arrested forty-four children and their seven supervisors in Izieu. Forty-two of the children and five adults were gassed in Auschwitz-Birkenau extermination camp. Just one of the seven supervisors returned from the concentration camp. The crime of Izieu concerns us all. Mankind is One.
Your name is Renée : Ruth Kapp Hartz's story as a hidden child in Nazi-occupied France by
"This book recounts the experiences of a young Jewish girl in a war-torn country, and the courage of simple, ordinary people from the French countryside who risk their lives to protect her and her family. As friends and relatives fall victim to informers and the French police, the Kapp family flees one home after another, avoiding capture thanks only to the help of compassionate, non-Jewish local residents and an extremely efficient underground Resistance network. But the hardest part for the little girl is yet to come. She is abruptly separated from her parents and lives through the war hidden in a Catholic convent, where she is not allowed to see or even mention them. A paper bag containing a few pieces of candy, smuggled into Ruth's hands, is the little girl's only clue that her parents are still alive. Finally reunited in the final months of the war, the Kapps welcome the liberation of southern France as one of the few Jewish families to have survived the ordeal of the Holocaust."
The Holocaust, the French, and the Jews by
Many recent books have documented the collaboration of the French authorities with the anti-Jewish German policies of World War II. Yet about 76 percent of France's Jews survived--more than in almost any other country in Western Europe. How do we explain this phenomenon? Certainly not by looking at official French policy, for the Vichy government began preparing racial laws even before the German occupiers had decreed such laws. To provide a full answer to the question of how so many French Jews survived, Susan Zuccotti examines the response of the French people to the Holocaust. Drawing on memoirs, government documents, and personal interviews with survivors, she tells the stories of ordinary and extraordinary French men and women. Zuccotti argues that the French reaction to the Holocaust was not as reprehensible as it has been portrayed.
Rescuing the Children by
Rescuing the Children is the autobiography of an extraordinary woman, the history of a remarkable organization she worked for in World War II France, and a portrait of children in severe psychological distress. The organization was the Oeuvre de secours aux enfants (OSE, or Society for Assistance to Children), which saved thousands of Jewish children in France from deportation to Nazi extermination camps. These children were either hidden among non-Jewish families, placed in the eighteen children's homes run by the OSE, or selected to escape clandestinely to the neutral countries of Switzerland or Spain. Due to the efforts of the OSE and like-minded organizations, both Jewish and non-Jewish, about 86 percent of the Jewish children in France survived the Holocaust. One of the outstanding representatives of the OSE was Vivette Samuel. At the age of twenty-two she accepted the position of resident social worker in the camp of Rivesaltes, set up by the Vichy government to intern foreign "undesirables." Her daunting task was to obtain the interned parents' written consent that would permanently separate them from their children so that the latter would live. In a period of six months, she was thus able to liberate nearly 400 foreign-born children from the camp. Samuel brought to this job great intelligence, linguistic fluency, and a character both deeply compassionate and steely in its resolution. She applied these qualities to the other tasks she performed for the OSE outside the camp after May 1942 and repeatedly risked arrest by the Gestapo.
Genocide and Victimology by
Genocide and Victimology examines genocide in its diverse features, from different yet connected perspectives, to offer an interdisciplinary, victimological imagination of genocide. It will include in its exploration critical and cultural victimologies and criminologies of genocide, accompanied by, and recognising, the rich scholarship on genocide in the fields of religion and history, theatre studies and photography, philosophy and existentialism, post-colonialism, and ethnography and biography. Bringing together theory with empirical research and drawing on a range of case studies, such as the Treblinka extermination camp, the Bosnian and Rwandan genocides, the Sagkeeng First Nation in Manitoba, Canada, and genocidal violence in Syria and Iraq, this book engages the victimological imagination towards an interdisciplinary, cosmopolitan victimology of genocide. Bundled and intertwined, the wide yet integrated variety of perspectives on genocide gives readers a victimological kaleidoscope to discover, and for victimology hitherto, unexplored theory and methodology. This way, readers can develop their own more epistemologically, theoretically, and methodologically robust victimology of genocide--a victimology of genocide as envisioned by Nicole Rafter. The book hopes to canvas an understanding and a starting point for a diverse appreciation of genocide victimhood and survivorship from which the real post-genocidal harms and sites, post-traumatic stress disorder, courts and tribunals, and overall meaningful justice will benefit. Written in a clear and direct style, this book will appeal to students and scholars in criminology, sociology, cultural studies, philosophy, history, religious studies, English literature, and all those concerned with not repeating a history of genocide.
