Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FGCU Logo

Advertising

Find business resources related to advertising

What if I Can't Access the Article?

If you find a promising citation but can't access the article, don't despair!  The Library may be able to borrow the article (free!) for you via Interlibrary Loan.

Set up your account. First-time users are advised to contact 239-590-7610 or email libill@fgcu.edu. Once your account is registered, you can submit requests immediately.

Questions? See the help page or use the contact information above.

Internet Advertising Sites

This list represents some large, partially free, advertising and marketing websites.  Users may have to register to access some content; some content is members only.  The library may subscribe to a title, so be sure to check the online catalog for full-text access.  Researchers may also discover additional ideas for assignments here.

Where to find it?

Where to look for company information?

  • Search the library's business databases for current and historical company information.  For more general information (news or journal articles), try ABI/Inform Collection or Business Source Ultimate.
  • The websites of publicly traded companies include history, annual reports, financials, press releases, and other information about the company's activities.  Keep in mind, however, that the company website is also a marketing tool and exists to present the company in the most positive light.
  • News outlets including, but not limited to, CNN, Wall Street Journal, The New York Times.  Although you may be able to access some free content directly from the publication website, the good stuff is only available to subscribers, so your best bet is to use the Library's databases. 

Find Articles Using Library Databases - a short tutorial

Tips for identifying search terms

Database providers strive to make the research process more efficient, so  take a few minutes to check the database Help links.  Before you begin your database search, consider these steps:
 

  • What are you looking for?  Try to state your information need in a sentence, question, or phrase, then identify the key words or terms:

 What is the impact of advertising that targets children?
 

  • Think of other words that could describe your topic.  Check encyclopedias to get some background information.  For example, synonyms for etiquette include protocols, climate, or customs.  Search the Library catalog for your topic and encyclopedias (i.e. ethics AND encyclopedias).  Check a thesaurus.

impact effect influence
advertising marketing promotion
targets directed focus
children adolescents youth

Now, you've got a good number of keywords to use--in many different combinations--to improve your chances of finding the most relevant sources for your project.

  • Use Boolean operators* (AND, OR) to combine synonymous terms:

 

  impact OR effect OR influence
AND advertising OR marketing OR promotion
AND   targets OR directed OR focus
AND children OR adolescents OR youth

It isn't necessary, or even advisable, to use every word/phrase in one search.  This example maps out the process used to compile a list of terms that describe a topic and the ways those terms might be combined.

*What is a Boolean operator?  The most common Boolean operators are AND & OR. The use of  these operators allows researchers to combine several terms into one search. Identify synonyms for your original search terms that can be used in different combinations to get to relevant results. Keep in mind, it is not necessary, or even advisable, to enter all of the terms you brainstorm into one search. In the above example:  each column of terms could be a separate search.