Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Management

Library resources for management research

Find Articles in the Library - a short tutorial

Which database - Management

Identifying the best database for your search may depend on what type of information you are looking for.  The image below includes examples of where to find specific information.  Click the link below to see the full document.

Start here for articles

Try one of these databases if you are searching for articles on your business topic.

General tips for identifying search terms

Database providers continuously strive to streamline the research process, so it’s worth your time to check the databases' Help links to see if any changes have been made to the search functions.  Before you even begin searching a database, consider these steps for creating a list of relevant words and terms:

  • What do you want to know?  Try to state your information need in a sentence, question, or phrase:

 What impact does advertising have on children’s diets?

  • Identify the key terms in your initial question or sentence:

advertising

children's

impact 

diets

  • Think of other words that could describe your topic.  This is where reading general information from encyclopedias, for example, would be helpful.   Search the Library catalog for your topic and encyclopedias (i.e. ethics AND encyclopedias). You could also consult a thesaurus.

advertising marketing promotion
childrens adolescents youth
impact effect influence
diets food choices eating habits

  • Use Boolean operators* (AND, OR) to combine synonymous terms:
  advertising OR marketing OR promotion
AND childrens OR adolescents OR youth
AND impact OR effect OR influence
AND diets OR food choices OR  eating habits

 

*What is a Boolean operator?  The most common Boolean operators are AND & OR. The use of operators allows researchers to combine several search terms into one search. Identify several words and terms that can be used in different combinations to get to relevant results. Keep in mind, it is not necessary or even advisable to enter all of the terms you brainstorm into one search. In the above example:  each column of terms could be a separate search.