Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FGCU Logo

International Marketing

Library resources for Marketing research

Which Database- Company and Industry Research

Identifying the best database for your search may depend on what type of information you are looking for.  The image below includes examples of where to find specific information.  Click the link below to see the full document.

Company Research in Seven Steps

**Start with these basic steps to business research **

  1. Is your company-
    • Publicly traded or privately owned?  You'll find more information on publicly-traded companies' requirements to file statements with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
    • Look for a ticker symbol (unique identifier for a stock).  Google company name, search the database Mergent Online.   See Find the Ticker.
  2. Try the following databases to locate a company profile: Business Insights: Essentials, Mergent Online,
  3. Check the company website for news and publications links, but review this information critically. The company's website is a marketing tool, typically used to showcase company accomplishments.
  4. Search library business databases for current articles, legal action, and product news. 
  5. Company financials.  Annual reports are useful, but remember, these documents are directed to shareholders and typically emphasize positive achievements.  Look for form 10-K documents and interim financial statements filed with the SEC for more objective information.  Find them on EDGAR and in library databases (Mergent Online or Business Insights: Essentials, for example).
  6. Identify company strategies, usually stated in "Item 1. Business" of the 10-K.  ​​
  7. Locate industry profiles and identify your company's competitors (IBISWorld).

 

See Where to find it in a Database, a chart indicates which databases to search for specific types of information (industry reports, articles, SWOT analysis, etc).