Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FGCU Logo

Business Analytics

Library resources and credible Internet sites for Business research

Library Resources

Search the business databases for the following information.
Mergent Online for data:

  • financials - balance sheets, income statements
  • stock prices
  • competitors
  • annuals
  • industry reports
  • company profiles

Business Insights: Essentials for:

  • company reports
  • SWOT analysis
  • market share

ABI/Inform Collection or Business Source Ultimate for:

  • news, articles
  • industry reports

Where to Find It?

Try one of these databases if you are searching for articles on your business topic.

Finding Articles at FGCU Library

General tips for identifying search terms

Database providers continuously strive to streamline the research process, so it’s worth your time to check the databases' Help links to see if any changes have been made to the search functions.  Before you even begin searching a database, consider these steps for creating a list of relevant words and terms:

 

  • Try to state your information need in a sentence, question, or phrase and identify the key terms:

                What impact does advertising have on children’s diets?

 

  • Think of other words that could describe your topic.  General information from encyclopedias, for example, would be helpful.   Search the Library catalog for your topic and encyclopedias (i.e. ethics AND encyclopedias). You could also consult a thesaurus.

 

advertising marketing
childrens adolescents
impact effect
diets food choices

 

  • Use Boolean operators* (AND, OR) to combine synonymous terms:

 

  advertising OR marketing
AND childrens OR adolescents
AND impact OR effect
AND diets OR food choices

Find the Ticker

Company Research in Seven Steps

**Start with these basic steps to business research **

  1. Is your company-
    • Publicly traded or privately owned?  You'll find more information on publicly-traded companies' requirements to file statements with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
    • Look for a ticker symbol (unique identifier for a stock).  Google company name, search the database Mergent Online.   See Find the Ticker.
  2. Try the following databases to locate a company profile: Business Insights: Essentials, Mergent Online,
  3. Check the company website for news and publications links, but review this information critically. The company's website is a marketing tool, typically used to showcase company accomplishments.
  4. Search library business databases for current articles, legal action, and product news. 
  5. Company financials.  Annual reports are useful, but remember, these documents are directed to shareholders and typically emphasize positive achievements.  Look for form 10-K documents and interim financial statements filed with the SEC for more objective information.  Find them on EDGAR and in library databases (Mergent Online or Business Insights: Essentials, for example).
  6. Identify company strategies, usually stated in "Item 1. Business" of the 10-K.  ​​
  7. Locate industry profiles and identify your company's competitors (IBISWorld).

 

See Where to find it in a Database, a chart indicates which databases to search for specific types of information (industry reports, articles, SWOT analysis, etc).