University Library: Resort & Hospitality Strategic Management: Find Articles

Where to Find It?

Where to Find It in a Database
Where to find it in a database is a guide that identifies additional sources for business-specific information, including country and company profiles, financials, more. Note: several databases may provide similar information. Consider checking multiple sources to get as complete a picture of your topic as possible.

Try these databases for news on your company or industry, from magazines, newspapers, blogs, and trade publications.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database providing full-text access to scholar journal, newspapers, books, conference papers, industry profiles, more dating from 1923 to the present.
test of more info for database landing page
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all areas of business, national and international, and includes full text articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, market research and country reports, news videos, and detailed company profiles.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers both historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industry.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.

Sources that include Florida publications

Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Limit search to Florida publications, including newspapers, blogs, newswires, broadcast transcripts, more.
Florida Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Selective coverage of a few Florida related sources, including newspapers, travel guides, and trade publications.
ProQuest News & Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Search all Proquest newspapers in one place. Fort Myers News-Press, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times. Also includes Canadian and ethnic and gender focused news sources.

Off-campus Access

How to Access Resources from off campus

You can access library resources from off campus using your 14-digit EagleID. Check out the link above for the details.

Find Articles in the Library - a short tutorial

Tips for identifying and using search terms

Consider these steps before you begin searching the databases:

1. Try to state your information need in a sentence, question, or phrase, then identify the key words or phrases:

Discuss the impact of the hospitality industry on the local economy.

2. Brainstorm additional words and phrases that describe your topic:

hospitality	tourism
impact	influence
economy

**Encyclopedias can help familiarize you with your topic. Search the Library catalog for your topic and encyclopedias (hospitality AND encyclopedias). Also, try consulting a thesaurus.

3. Boolean operators (AND, OR) make it easier to combine synonymous terms:

	hospitality	OR	tourism
AND	impact	OR	influence
AND	economy

General Tips for Identifying Search Terms
You may also download this page in PDF format.

Help us improve! Take the LibQUAL Survey and earn a chance at a $250 Campus Bookstore gift card!

Resort & Hospitality Strategic Management

What is a Boolean Operator?

I Can't Access the Article

Where to Find It?

Off-campus Access

Find Articles in the Library - a short tutorial

Tips for identifying and using search terms

Florida Gulf Coast University Library