University Library: Special Education: Articles & Databases

Finding Scholarly Articles

Popular vs. Scholarly Publications

Medical Resources

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive database for nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and other allied health fields.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find authoritative information on health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices and more.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, including drug abuse and alcoholism, gerontology, industrial health, nursing, pediatrics, physical fitness and hygiene, oncology, psychiatry, public health, sports and games, surgery, women?s health, etc. Also includes case studies, white papers, instructional health videos.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Contains no full-text but provides link-outs to many full articles. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Finding Articles Using Online Databases

One of the most efficient ways to locate articles on topics related to Education is to use the Library's subscription databases. These databases are selected and purchased by the Library to provide access to research and information from journals in every discipline. When connecting to these resources from off-campus, you must enter your FGCU ID (14-digit number) before you are allowed access. More than 400 databases are available to FGCU affiliates from the Databases page.

Major Education Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This resource, sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, provides access to education related journal articles, conferences, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, directories, books and monographs from 1966 to present.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Find full-text articles on a variety of Education topics from early childhood to higher education. It includes specialized topics such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary resource that includes thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper titles.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find articles from scholarly journals in subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Contains social sciences, humanities, health sciences, life sciences, biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering journals.

Related Databases

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education related literature and is international in scope.
Communication and Mass Media (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Best database for areas related to communication and mass media. Subjects covered: advertising, linguistics, writing, business communication, communication theory, marketing, public relations, cross cultural communication, sign language, journalism, policy, media studies.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth reports on topics pertaining to current issues. Reports provide an overview, historical background, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a bibliography of the topic. Includes legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology from 1923 to present.
DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive commercial and residential information for users to assess business viability, analyze population trends, identify potential customers, and more. Create and download customized reports based on geography.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Offers perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. Some content dates back to 1970.
ProQuest Social Sciences Database Collection This link opens in a new window Search all Proquest Social Science databases, or make your own selections.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts psychological literature (books, journals, articles, dissertations, etc.) from the 1800s to the present and is produced by the American Psychological Association. Scope is worldwide.
REHABDATA This link opens in a new window
A literature database on disability and rehabilitation. It covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window Access original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies & abstracts from more than 3,000 leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Cited Reference Searching allows tracking of prior research on a subject and Times Cited reveals influence of an article through links to all other articles citing the work.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Contains full text for 253 "core" coverage journals in sociology dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. Also includes most social work journals and full text for related books monographs, and conference papers.

Your Librarian

Rachel Cooke

Email Me

Contact:

FGCU Library, 2nd floor
Office #225Q
rcooke@fgcu.edu
(239) 590-7606

orcid.org/0000-0001-9379-9955

Subjects: Art & Art History, Dance, Design, Education, Faculty Resources, Music, Theatre

Newspapers

The following resources contain full text articles (no pictures) from newspapers around the world. Many Florida newspapers are through Access World News, including the Fort Myers News Press and the Naples Daily News.

Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window Search state, national and international full-text articles with diverse source types including print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes the Naples Daily News, Financial Times (London), Miami Herald and USA Today.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to company profiles and financials, federal and state legal resources, U.S. and international news, and more.
ProQuest News & Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window Search all Proquest newspapers in one place. Fort Myers News-Press, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times. Also includes Canadian and ethnic and gender focused news sources.

Help us improve! Take the LibQUAL Survey and earn a chance at a $250 Campus Bookstore gift card!

Special Education