Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agribusiness

This guide is designed to provide a starting point for agribusiness researchers.

Finding Articles at FGCU Library

Where to find it? Agriculture

Identifying the best database for your search may depend on what type of information you are looking for.  The image below includes examples of where to find specific information.  Click the link below to see the full document.

General tips for identifying search terms

Database providers continuously strive to streamline the research process, so it’s worth your time to check the databases' Help links to see if any changes have been made to the search functions.  Before you even begin searching a database, consider these steps for creating a list of relevant words and terms:
 

  • What do you want to know?  Try to state your information need in a sentence, question, or phrase:

 What impact does runoff water have on the environment?

  • Identify the key terms in your initial question or sentence:

impact
runoff water
environment

  • Think of other words that could describe your topic.  This is where reading general information from encyclopedias, for example, would be helpful.   Search the Library catalog for your topic and encyclopedias (i.e. ethics AND encyclopedias). You could also consult a thesaurus.

impact effect
runoff water drainage water
environment ecosystem

  • Use Boolean operators* (AND, OR) to combine synonymous terms:

 

  impact OR effect
AND runoff water OR drainage water
AND environment OR ecosystem