Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Strategy

This guides will help you identify business sources covering strategy, company information, and more.

Where to find it?

Identifying the best database for your search may depend on what type of information you are looking for.  The image below includes examples of where to find specific information.  Click the link below to see the full document.

Company Research in Seven Steps II

­Step 1: Identify/Profile a Company

Is the company is publicly-owned (does the company trade stock on an exchange like NASDAQ or NYSE?) or privately-held? Try a Google search.
Look for stock price and stock exchange information?  If  you don't see it, look for language that describes a privately held privately-held organization. 

Check the databases for company profiles. They typically describe current business activities, the company's history, financial information, number of employees, principle executives, products, and services, brands, and key competitor

Search several of these sources to get the most complete picture of your  company. 
Where to find company profiles:

Library Sources - databases
ABI/Inform Complete
Business Insights: Essentials
Business Source Ultimate
Hoovers Company Records
Mergent Online
S&P NetAdvantage

*Company profiles for privately-owned companies may be more challenging to locate but try Business Source Ultimate.  Its MarketLine company profiles include some of the more readily available information on privately-held companies.   Also, Check Hoover’s Company Records (may be listed as Business Market Research Collection).  The most useful information here may be the company description and the list of competitors.

Step 2: Search for Current News and in-depth Articles

What do third parties say about your company?  Check the databases for articles, reports, and financial documents. Articles published in leading business magazines and trade journals often provide insight into a company's operations, strategy and competitors.

Where to look for articles:

Library Resources
ABI/Inform Complete
Business Source Ultimate

These Internet sites are devoted to business news and will also provide access to a lot of free content:
Bloomberg
CNNMoney
MarketWatch
Yahoo! Finance 
Google Business News

Step 3: Visit the Company's Web Site
What does the company say about itself?  Check the company website, specifically the About section; Investor Relations; Corporate Responsibility; Corporate or Investor Relations.   

Step 4: Examine the Company's Financials and Market Performance
Public companies issue annual reports to shareholders and are required to regularly file financial reports including income statements, balance sheets, and cash flow statements with the Securities and Exchange Commission (also known as Edgar).  Library sources for financial information include options for downloading it into a spreadsheets for analysis.

Where to find financial information:

Library Resources
Mergent Online
S&P NetAdvantage

Internet Sources
EDGAR (SEC)
Yahoo Finance

Step 5: Locate a Company's Business Strategy

U.S. Public Companies usually state business strategies in  PART I, Item 1. Business of Form 10-K (or annual report) filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The business overview in the 10-K includes a discussion of the company's strategy, products and services, operations, marketing, distribution, international business, suppliers and government regulation.

Where to find 10-Ks:
Library Resource
Mergent Online

Internet Sources
EDGAR
Yahoo! Finance

Step 6: Locate Investment Research Reports
Financial institutions (banks, investment firms)  produce research reports, written by analysts, that discuss a company's health, future plans, and much more, for public companies. 

Where to find Analysts’ Reports:
Business Insights: Essentials (search for the company; under Company Information, look for Investment Reports)
Nexis Uni (under Guided Search, select Company Info, enter the company; under ...and show me, click the dropdown to select Analyst Report)

Step 7: Survey the Industry and Competition
Companies are affected by industry conditions. Industry reports can help to identify the top competitors as well. 

Library Resources
IBISWorld  
ABI/Inform Collection (search for your industry AND "first research for industry reports) 
Business Source Ultimate (search for industryname AND marketline industry report AND united states).  Limiting to the U.S. will filter out other country reports.  Of course, you can limit your search by any country).