University Library: Research Methods in Healthcare: IHS 4504: Evidence Based Tools

What are Evidence Based Tools?

Evidence based tools summarize the latest evidence on a multitude of healthcare issues. They may also provide summaries and links to national and professional guidelines, and to quality research studies that are considered the evidence for best practices.

See also the Evidence-based Practice Library Guide.

Evidence Based Tools: start here for most medical topics

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) contract with AHRQ to provide evidence reports and technology assessments, by reviewing “all relevant scientific literature on clinical, behavioral, and organization and financing topics.”

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
NOTE: In Cochrane Library, select "Trials" on menu bar.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Maintained by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), a comprehensive database of over 2400 up-to-date evidence based practice guidelines by many professional organizations and agencies.
National Registry of Evidence-based Practices and Programs. (NREPP)
NREPP is "a searchable database of interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental and substance use disorders. SAMHSA has developed this resource to help people, agencies, and organizations implement programs and practices in their communities."

PEDro This link opens in a new window
A searchable database produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP). It includes bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.

Help us improve! Take the LibQUAL Survey and earn a chance at a $250 Campus Bookstore gift card!

Research Methods in Healthcare: IHS 4504

What are Evidence Based Tools?

Evidence Based Tools: start here for most medical topics

Florida Gulf Coast University Library