University Library: Journalism: Databases

Find Articles at FGCU

News Databases

As a journalism student, you will need to review existing news sources. Through the FGCU Library, you have access to an incredible range of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts and more through the following databases.

Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search state, national and international full-text articles with diverse source types including print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes the Naples Daily News, Financial Times (London), Miami Herald and USA Today.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses and covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Florida Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Selective coverage of a few Florida related sources, including newspapers, travel guides, and trade publications.
Informe Academico (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to company profiles and financials, federal and state legal resources, U.S. and international news, and more.
US Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
ProQuest News & Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Search all Proquest newspapers in one place. Fort Myers News-Press, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times. Also includes Canadian and ethnic and gender focused news sources.

Research Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database providing full-text access to scholar journal, newspapers, books, conference papers, industry profiles, more dating from 1923 to the present.
test of more info for database landing page
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper titles.
Communication and Mass Media (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Best database for areas related to communication and mass media. Subjects covered: advertising, linguistics, writing, business communication, communication theory, marketing, public relations, cross cultural communication, sign language, journalism, policy, media studies.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth reports on topics pertaining to current issues. Reports provide an overview, historical background, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a bibliography of the topic. Includes legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology from 1923 to present.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. Some content dates back to 1970.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a variety of U.S. and international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Journalism

AP Stylebook Online

Find Articles at FGCU

News Databases

Research Databases

Florida Gulf Coast University Library