Determining what databases to search is an important part of the evidence synthesis process. FGCU librarians are well informed about the databases we have access to and which will be the right fit for your project. The sources will depend on your research question and the disciplines in which relevant research may be conducted. Below is some guidance for choosing databases in a number of research areas. Check the library's database portal for a full list of available sources across all disciplines.
Librarians can also help with designing complex search strategies using the specialized syntax of individual databases. Consult with a librarian if you have questions.
Note that these databases largely focus on the published, peer-reviewed literature. For guidance and resources for searching other types of information (i.e., gray literature), see the next tab in this guide.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Search across all subscribed WOS products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results.
A comprehensive business database providing full-text access to scholarly journal articles, newspapers, books, conference papers, industry and company profiles, and more.
An extensive sociology database containing journal articles, books, and conference papers, and other sources.
This database covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, dissertations, conference papers, and more.
Find education-related journal articles, conferences, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, directories, books, and monographs.
