University Library: Educational Leadership: Databases

Google Scholar

Google scholar is a great way to get started on your topic. If you use the Google Scholar link below, your settings in Google Scholar will be set to FGCU. You will then see if items in the result listing are available at FGCU. Articles found in Google Scholar are usually peer-reviewed.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide range of academic disciplines. When available, select "Full Text @ FGCU Library" in the results.

Finding Articles Using Online Databases

One of the most efficient ways to locate articles on topics is to use the library's subscription databases. More than 400 databases are available to FGCU affiliates from the Databases page.

Major Education Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find articles from scholarly journals in subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary resource that includes thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper titles.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Indexes education related journals and yearbooks and includes historical information on societal trends affecting education such as segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, and economic developments.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Find full-text articles on a variety of Education topics from early childhood to higher education. It includes specialized topics such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale) This link opens in a new window Contains access to academic journals, reports, and reference sources pertaining to topics in education. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Find education-related journal articles, conferences, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, directories, books, and monographs.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Access top educational publications, including literature on primary, secondary and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education. 
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Contains social sciences, humanities, health sciences, life sciences, biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering journals.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window Search over 1500 academic journals in a wide range of disciplines, including behavioral studies, business, education, humanities, psychology, engineering, environment, health care, mathematics, political science, science & technology.

Related Databases

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers healthcare, social services, education, and related areas.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Best database for areas related to communication and mass media. Subjects covered: advertising, linguistics, writing, business communication, communication theory, marketing, public relations, cross cultural communication, sign language, journalism, policy, media studies.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth reports on topics pertaining to current issues. Reports provide an overview, historical background, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a bibliography of the topic. Includes legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology from 1923 to present.
DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive commercial and residential information for users to assess business viability, analyze population trends, identify potential customers, and more. Create and download customized reports based on geography.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Offers perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and reports.
ProQuest Social Sciences Database Collection This link opens in a new window Search multiple ProQuest Social Science databases simultaneously.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts psychological literature (books, journals, articles, dissertations, etc.) from the 1800s to the present and is produced by the American Psychological Association. Scope is worldwide.
REHABDATA This link opens in a new window
A literature database on disability and rehabilitation. It covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window An extensive sociology database containing journal articles, books, and conference papers, and other sources.

Business/Management Resources

The following database(s) may also be helpful for management and administrative topics.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business database providing full-text access to scholarly journal articles, newspapers, books, conference papers, industry and company profiles, and more.
test of more info for database landing page

Educational Leadership

Google Scholar

Finding Articles Using Online Databases

Related Databases

Business/Management Resources

Florida Gulf Coast University Library